Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Great Gardenburgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Great Gardenburgers

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2010

      this was the first veggie burger recipe i tried and they were delicious! even my very picky brothers though they were good :) we used everything the recipe calls for plus some ground cumin, garlic salt and a little bit of Worcestershire sauce to taste. served on toasted buns with lettuce and tomato and mozzarella cheese melted on top of the patty! yum! cant wait to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      My daughter is a vegetarian so I am always looking for great veggie recipes and this is definitely a keeper. The burgers are very tasty. We chilled the burgers before frying and they held their shape and didn't break apart. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Though I liked the taste of these pretty well, my family found them a bit bland and the texture a little too soft. I ended up making a couple changes others might find helpful: i added about 3/4 c. of whole oats to firm up the texture a bit. i also added some bbq sauce and some worchestershire sauce but not so much as to end up with the same texture issue. after my changes i tried baking a patty in the oven on 375. i flipped it a couple times and had a pretty nice result--crispy on the outside and not too crumbly. overall, this is a good starting point for a homemade veg. burger. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      What great Burgers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This is a pretty good recipe. It was a lot of work for eight burgers. I have four left in the freezer to see how they handle after being frozen for a couple weeks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      WONDERFUL!! This is the first time I have made veggie burgers without them disintegrating into mush. I used 1 cup of finely diced courgettes/zuchinni instead of the frozen veg. I made a double batch to freeze some. Even my 2 yo loves these!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Easy and delicious and freezer friendly - all of my favorite things. I made a batch of these, cooked them, and froze them (separately on a cookie sheet first, then in a large ziploc bag once frozen). I just pulled one out of the freezer tonight and heated from frozen over low-med heat in the frying pan, and I was really impressed, even without adding the cheese, or peas/carrots. These seem very versatile as a nice base to experiment with different veggies or spices, so I will definitely be making these again once this batch is gone. Thank you for sharing such a simple and yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Excellent! A little crumbly but very very good. I froze my leftovers and when I warmed them up they stayed intact very well for another sandwich. Thanks for the awesome recipe. I never thought to make my own veggie burgers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      Really easy to make and very tasty. I added a few herbs I had; sage, parsley and thyme. It took a bit of mashing but with persistance I got them into 8 nice patties without having to add any egg. As I don't like peas and carrots I put in a small tin of sweetcorn. The colour probably wasn't as nice as with some green and orange but I really enjoyed them. I'm looking forward to the rest which are currently in the freezer. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I was going to post this recipe, and found that it's already here. This recipe is from the show "Cooking Thin" with Kathleen Daelemans. The recipe is pretty much word for word from the foodnetwork.com website. It's from her episode of Cooking Thin titled "Go Mom Go, Part 2". I thought she should get credit for it. The only differences are that there are no mushrooms in her original recipe, and she states just to put the onions in the saucepan with the stock, bring to boil, then add the bulgur, etc, and turn off the heat. And to just coat the pan with cooking spray when cooking the burgers. So she avoids the oil. Anyway, Kathleen is great and this is a great recipe. I made them up through step 9, then flash froze them individually on a cookie sheet, then wrapped and stored them in the freezer. I took them out when needed the night before to thaw, and heated them in the pan from step 10. This is a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      Another fabulous recipe, which I’m SO pleased to have found. After reading through the recipe and the reviews, I was really confident that this was going to be worth doubling, so I made double the quantity specified in the recipe, and have been able to put quite a few serves into the freezer. Like Toni, I used a lot less oil because I used a non-stick pan. I included three middle rashers of bacon (all fat removed), chopped, which I cooked with the onions and mushrooms, so my version was no longer vegetarian. Bacon always adds so much flavour and I decided to use it and to omit the cheese. Instead of the optional peas and carrots, I added diced red pepper, which I also cooked with the onions, mushrooms and bacon. My pan was really full, and of course my cooking times were a bit longer. While mixing and mashing, I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added some cumin and some liquid smoke. Then, with bulgar as an ingredient, I suddenly thought ‘tabbouleh’, so I added some finely chopped parsley. Sharon’s instructions were really clear, and these burgers were truly sensational: everyone loved them! Having several more serves in the freezer, these will make for some great lunches with salad greens. Thank you, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      These were really good. I could not get them to stick together at first though, and I was terribly dissapointed because the taste was so good. I ended up adding 2 eggs to the mix which worked well and then cooked them on a griddle. I realized what my problem was, though. I had really hard chickpeas and I did not crush them well at all (because I couldn't get them to crush!). So remember to crush your chickpeas, or add an egg! Thanks Sharon. Really tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      Great is right! My burgers were made with crimini mushrooms and homemede vegetable stock. For seasonings, I used 2 teaspoons of chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. Found that I needed almost no oil to cook burgers by getting my non-stick skillet very high and quickly searing the patty. Topped my burger with salsa and reduced fat cheddar, no bun. Freezing half the batch in ready to go packs for a quick meal on late nights.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      This is such an easy and delicious recipe that is so much more affordable than the pre-made veggie patties. I also appreciate not having to worry about the sodium and fillers. I added a splash of liquid smoke and a touch of BBQ sauce to one batch and topped the burgers with dill pickles and coleslaw. Outstanding! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      I've been looking forward to making this recipe ever since I came across it, and I wasn't disappointed! Very healthy, jam-packed with nutrition, and very filling. I got eight good-sized burgers out of this recipe and I served them on hamburger buns with tomato, lettuce and pickle. I used the optional peas and carrots, which I'd really recommend because of the added colour (they look more like "garden" burgers!). I didn't use the grated cheese, nor the taco seasoning (I threw in some other spices instead: chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dry mustard and seasoned salt). The burgers were somewhat mushy and crumbly, which didn't bother me because that's the case with every homemade veggie burger I've tried. Very good recipe, highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I also have to throw my vote behind Great Gardenburgers. It was very delcious. This was the first veggie burger I've tried to make, and I have to say it worked. I made it basically as directed but a) left out mushrooms (as I'm not a mushroom fan), b) didn't use cheese, c) used a veggie mix of corn, carrots and red bell peppers, and d) didn't use taco seasoning, but just kind of threw in whatever sounded good in terms of spices --if I recall, it was garlic powder, cumin, ground coriander seeds, salt, pepper and lemon juice (I highly recommend the lemon or lime juice -- it adds such a great kick to any southwest inspired dish, which is what I was going for here). Served on a toasted bun brushed with olive oil, garnished with red onion, tomato, and ketchup (although of course you could use whatever you like on a burger). I ended up with 6 plump burgers, rather than 8. The family thoroughly enjoyed it, and I love how healthy (and in my view, easy) these are. I am seriously addicted to veggie burgers now and will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Great Gardenburgers

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.7
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    32%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites