Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Great Chicken Marinade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Great Chicken Marinade

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2001

      This is just what I was looking for! My family raved about the flavor and thought the vinegar was such a compliment to the chicken. I baked it in the oven on a cookie sheet as my grill was disabled, and it was great. I marinated the chicken pieces overnight. I sprinkled it with paprika for color. The cook said she preferred it with garlic which I included and I'm sure I will continue to use the garlic. I questioned the need for an egg, but used it exactly as the recipe called for. It was really wonderful and we will probably use this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I cut the recipe in half and marinated 2 whole boneless breasts. I ended up marinating for 2 days accidentally. I sauteed them in some butter. I think it was very flavorful however I think it will be better next time when I only marinate the 1 day. I'll add garlic too as suggested by author. Great marinade recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      I thought the egg was a very strange concept, but I used it anyway. I still can't claim to understand it. However, after marinating for nearly 48 hours, the flavor did permeate the meat, not just the skin (a common complaint that my husband always has about chicken). I had to broil because I was out of grill gas, but it still turned out great. The first couple of bites seemed a bit too salty, but as I ate, I changed my mind. I did decide to use the garlic. I will probably be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I used chicken tenderloin, so i cut the marinade time to 4 hours. I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful and tender this made the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Hi, I tried this without the egg because I thought that was just strange, so maybe that was the thing that made the difference, but mine came out really vinegar-y, salty, and just not good. The flavor was way too strong. Instead of complementing the chicken, it completely dominated. I followed the instructions otherwise and only marinated the chicken for a few hours. The only thing that rescued the meat and made it edible AT ALL was the addition of sugar at the last minute to try and cancel out the vinegar taste. This appealed to me because I had all the ingredients on hand, but I will definitely not make this again. Sorry to give your grandfather's recipe a bad review, though. Thanks for sharing. And again maybe it was my bad for not using the egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I have made this recipe and used Kosher salt, crushed garlic and Montreal Chicken seasoning. I also placed a plate oh top to submerge the chicken in the marinade. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

    • on July 07, 2008

      I can't believe I came across this site and recipe; Grace Simpson was my dear mother-in-law who sparked my interest in cooking over 40 years ago! We also use this recipe and have shared it with our sons and their families. We like the added garlic but we also add lots of cayenne pepper or hot sauce. Gracie (Nanny) had many, many recipes which we all treasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This has been in my family for a very long time.I was going to post it myself till I found it. I do not use this for a marinade I use it to baste my chicken with.If you are short for time you should try it.I use this baste with chicken quarters.Any chicken with skin yummy! I also add Italian seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This makes the best chicken. Very flavorful and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I grew up in Western NY and this is an all around chicken barbeque served everywhere up there!! The only difference is we don't usually use the egg and the poultry seasoning is 3 tbls. Garlic is an option not usually used but can be. I live in the South now, and I call it my Yankee Chicken Barbeque and EVERYONE loves it!! Also I marinate at least 24 hrs. and then remove from fridge and leave at room temperature while the grill is getting ready. Best if you use charcoal also!! Very good! Use this recipe all summer long!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Great Chicken Marinade

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.7
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    94%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1753.6 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites