Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grape Jelly Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grape Jelly Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2001

      This sauce works great with little smokies and is quick and easy to make the morning of a "feed" day at work. Just put it all in a crock pot and plug it in. By lunch, it's a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      LOTS of compliments when I made this sauce for a party and used it with cocktail sausages. I also added dried minced onion to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2001

      As a professional chef, when I read recipes I usually can visualize the taste from the list of ingredients. This one, however, had me stumped. The recipe is dead easy and the results were surprisingly good. I would recommend this for a buffet at a party(with toothpicks for that 60's kitch feel). One adaptation I suggest is to increase the worcestershire and add cayenne or tabasco to taste, simmer the sauce without the meatballs, and barbecue some ribs using this as the barbecue sauce. Yum! Pass the cole slaw, please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      I was kind of skeptical when I saw this recipe, but I needed an easy recipe for a party of 30+ people. I bought a 6 lb. bag of pre-made meatballs from Costco, cooked the sauce a little over the stove top and poured it over the meatballs in my crockpot. Cooked on low for 6 hours and it was perfect! Got lots of compliments from my guests! Thank you so much for such a tasty and simple recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      I love this for parties, but also have come to serve it as a dinner over rice. However, I put my meatballs into the crockpot raw and let them cook in the sauce for several hours, it give the meatballs a much better taste (beware of this method if you are not using a very lean meat or you will have to much excess grease). I nix the worcestershire sauce and add a dash of lemon juice and hot sauce...PERFECT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Instead of the chili sauce. Make meatballs and cook, then add equal parts of grape jelly and Picante sauce. Let the meatballs simmer in the sauce, the longer they sit in the sauce the better they are! Freezes well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Wonderfully simple to make and they disappear with requests for more! TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I just recently made the sauce for my own homemade meatballs and my husband couldn't get enough of it. Thanx for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I disagree with members saying make them with store bought meatballs unless your in a hurry. This recipe is much better, the meatballs are tender and your guests will see you took the time to make homemade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      There is a recipe for this type of meatball & sauce dish on the back of the Heinz Chili Sauce bottle, the meatballs are baked & the sauce poured over the top after baking. Seems they are alot easier to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      The first thing I have to say about this recipe is that it is much easier to purchase frozen meatballs than to make them yourself. I didn't follow the instructions 100% and made the meatballs of 2 pounds of Hamburger, 2 eggs and a package of onion soup mix, which made for an enhanced sweet and salty flavor. Although I didn't care for the sauce myself, my friends loved them. So, for a convenient tasty party food it worked out just fine. I'll do it again but I'm going to enhance the chili flavor either by adding chili powder or increasing the amount of chili sauce. Overall, a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      Pass on the potatoes..dont use Worcestershire sauce in the sauce. Make it simple.. just buy the pre-made meatballs "Armour" I think is the name brand I use. all you need to do is put the 5 pound bag of meatballs in a pot, pour 2 jars of chilli sauce and one 32 oz of grape jelly simmer for an hour then your ready for a party or get together of up to 25 people. All under 15 bucks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      I didn't make the meatballs but did the sauce & loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      I have to admit, the first time I saw the chili sauce and grape jelly combination, I was a little skeptical of how the sauce would taste. However, to my surprise, it was fantastic! This sauce has so many possibilities but lends itself perfectly to meatballs. I will be making this again and again. Who would've thought such a strange combination would be so tasty? Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      These went very fast! Very good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      Loved this. I used store bought meatballs and a package of little smokies. They were a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      When i make these i use a jar of salza works great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2001

      My father made a variation of this recipe. He simply boiled the meatballs in the chili sauce/grape jelly mixture. The meatballs consisted of salt abd beef...period. I thought I could make them better, and richer. So, I made my meatballs (sometimes making them like normal meatballs, with breadcrumbs, etc., and sometimes just seasoning the beef, and rolling it into balls), and baked them uncovered in the oven. I drain whatever oil is there, if any, cover with the pre-made sauce (simmered while the meatballs bake), and bake for another 30 minutes or so, to bake the sauce on. One other variation of mine, is lemon pepper added to the meatballs, and to the sauce. If I am out, I will just use lemon juice. The lemon pepper (or juice) adds a great taste to them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grape Jelly Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (1582 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 22.2
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    30%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 30.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites