26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!!!!! I had some turkey kielbasa on hand and decided to make a main dish meal instead of an appetizer. I followed all the directions to a T. I wasn't sure if my wife would like it but she was very impressed. So much so she asked me to make it again tonight and serve it over rice. Tonight I served it with tater tots and homemade coleslaw. Thank you!!! We will have this again!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James Craig June 20, 2002

I make this all the time for gatherings, using pre-made meatballs. Just brown the meatballs in the oven and add to the crockpot. Trust me, there will be none left.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaR May 13, 2002

I reviewed this even though I didnt make it back when I was a "newbie" and didnt know better..removing my stars..but this is still a good recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 February 21, 2005

My 12 year old daughter made these and they were just great.....I used regular hot dogs and just cut them up but next time we are going to buy the bite size dogs....Thanks for sharing this recipe :) Easy, Good, Fast !

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W July 14, 2002

My sister-in-law makes this with kielbasa in a crock pot and brings it to cookouts and family functions and it goes fast. We'll have to try it with hot dogs. You could probably use the cocktail weiners instead of full sized hot dogs cut up.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nell Majeran May 07, 2002

I loved this. My wife and I went to a party and wanted to bring this so we made a lot of the sauce (6 cans worth of chili sauce and 1 jar of jelly). We put in hot dogs and homemade meatballs to have a little variety and everyone loved it. This is easy and good and has a little sweet twang to it. Yum!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg December 09, 2002

I make this all the time with homemade meatballs, and they go soo fast when I bring them to a party. Someone always asks for the recipe.....I have also seen them made with ketchup & grape jelly for the sauce, so if you don't have Chili sauce you can still so it!! Yum!! Oh.....and they also freeze really well, my nephew doesn't like meat but he LOVES THESE.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anneliese8 February 27, 2003

Serve this with a side of insulin. How did this win an award?? I followed the instructions to the letter and wound up with a crock of sickeningly sweet hot dog bites. Even my dogs refused to taste them until I washed off the gloopy chili/grape concoction. ewwwwww....

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamir January 20, 2003

Quick and easy. A good dish to let the little chefs make and let them feel like they are really contributing. I tried them with the grape jelly and also did a batch with apricot jelly. Both turned out very well. I used beef franks this time but think I'll try chicken franks the next time both to reduce the fat contribution and to keep the meat taste from trying to compete with the flavor of the sauce. A good dish.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young July 07, 2003
Grape Dogs