13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought these were really good. I had some low-fat granola from Aldi that I wasn't eating because it was like gnawing on a cinnamon stick. Turns out it made great cookies. I wouldn't use special or homemade granola for this, though, unless it was in danger of going stale otherwise. As other reviews have said, they do pretty much taste like dressed-up oatmeal cookies. But for those of us who hate to let food go to waste, magically turning so-so granola into a yummy dressed-up oatmeal cookies was a real win! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Porter January 24, 2011

Paula, your recipe really came in handy. I was out of white sugar, but did have granola on hand, and found your recipe. These were so fast to mix up and they baked up great. The texture was hearty and tasting like an oatmeal cookie (chock full of crunchy bits). Also, my teen daughter liked these and she normally doesn't like oatmeal cookies. Thanks for posting.
Roxygirl

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado December 24, 2010

I tried a new granola, but the family didn't really like it, so I was looking for a way to use it up, and this was perfect! I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose, and used butter instead of shortening. I also finished up some choc. chips - about a 1/3 cup, and threw in some pecans. The granola had pumpkin seeds in it, so the resulting crunch was delish! Next time I might cut the sugar - they were pretty sweet, but really a yummy recipe! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marion Librarian November 27, 2010

Great easy cookie! I had some leftover granola that no one would eat so I used that. i used butter not shortening, but that was my only change. I will say I think the flavor of your cookie with be determined by the quality of your granola. I used a good homemade kind, not store bought. It worked really well for us! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darling76 November 02, 2010

Great tasting cookies. I used granola cereal that we didn't like and had around the house for some time.It made a wonderful cookies. I made them as directed, replacing shortening with margarine. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka March 11, 2007

These make nice ships biscuits for those bad weather situations, when no one can bear even thinking of cooking, but some energy is needed. Or for those night watches out at sea, when it's so comforting to have something to dip into your hot cup of coffe. Very filling and tasty. I used some unsweetened musli mix and the cookies did not turn out very sweet, but that is for the mix I was using and I would add some sugar accordingly, next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 01, 2006

Oh yummy. These are so easy to through together. I also made mine bigger. Used an ice cream scooper. Used just regular granola, but will try your recipe next time. Very good. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 20, 2006

What a wonderful recipe! the entire family loved these cookies! We are Vegans so I made a few changes to the ingredients while keeping the recipe intact: I replaced the shortening with Earth Spread - The eggs with Egg Re-placers - The milk with Almond milk - and, because I did not have any flour on hand, I used rice flour! What a fabulous recipe that is versatile for Vegans! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellalucysmom August 01, 2013

Maybe it was because I made my own granola to put in these, but to me, they turned out basically just like oatmeal cookies, which are okay, but I was expecting something different or I would have just made oatmeal cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire June 10, 2009

Substituted margarine for the shortening. Worked great. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ November 22, 2008
Granola Breakfast Cookies