23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I reviewed this I did not understand how to write a review...this was my first. These are better than the ones in the store...very chewy and full of the good stuff. They are easy to make and they keep well. Thank you jb4!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D June 04, 2003

I've made these twice now- the first time I thought they were way too sweet, more like a cookie type bar. The kids loved them though, and they are pretty healthy, a lot more healthy than most cookies. The second time, I cut the brown sugar back to 1/4 cup. I also used whole wheat pastry four, dried blueberries, and cut the oil to 1/2 cup, subbing plain applesauce. These came out perfect for me, and I don't think anyone else noticed. OH- I also added a couple tbs of ground flax seed. Yummy AND healthy! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalija October 18, 2009

These are great! I made some modifications, not as a criticism, but because I didn't have some of the ingredients. I mention this so you won't be afraid to try these if you've got a reasonable substitution. I subbed flax seed for the wheat germ and dried blueberries for the raisins. I also cut mine before they got too cool and got 12 very nice bars. I'll make them next with almonds! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia May 25, 2009

OOOHH absolutely love them! i replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and it tasted awesome. i like the chewy texture and all the good stuff inside. its much better than those store-bought bars and you can play always play around with a variety of ingredients. one bar gives you sufficient amt of energy! this is a sure keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syazzzoo! March 29, 2007

These are great! I've tried using dried fruit bits instead of just raisins and also various nuts instead of just walnuts. I've also added coconut to the mixture but I think it dried it out too much so they became a little more crumbly. And make sure to let them cool completely before cutting, that is very important.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev February 18, 2007

Very tasty. I was digging for a oat bar recipe that didn't have applesauce which my usual does, and came across this. Followed recipe as is, there are a bit sweet for my taste, by DS ate 2 right out of the pan. Great basic recipe, will make again, maybe taking out some of the brown sugar and adding more fruits. Have to try adding some peanut butter too! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 February 01, 2011

WOW! These granola bars were chewy and delicious. For a healthy version they stayed together wonderfully and tasted delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheeseLover! November 03, 2009

I like them and my 2 year old loves them. I used almonds and almond extract (i was out of vanilla). Big healthy hit for my picky eater.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michjohns January 30, 2009

Delicious and very filling. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara M. July 26, 2008

We loved these. I changed them up a bit. I used half wheat germ and half corn bran because that's what I had. I also skipped the raisins. During the last part of baking, I put about a fourth a cup of chocolate chips on top. When I got them out, I spread the chocolate over the top. They tasted like cookies, but better for you. We ate them for desserts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruby May 23, 2008
Granola Bars