42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe but not for kids with nut allergies. CocoNUT is potentially fatal for kids with tree nuts allergies. One of my girls has a peanut and all tree nut allergy which includes coconut. This simple misunderstanding among others is the very reason she will be homeschooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vernessaneu January 04, 2010

I made these tonight for my daughter's kindergarten class. I originally saved the recipe because it's nut free and I have a peanut allergy. It is wonderful though because it is also egg and milk free! Doesn't get much better than that. I was hoping they would be a little less crunchy but they are still a hit with the kids . . . and adults! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille October 28, 2009

Good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JODIMA April 09, 2009

I'm sorry kzmom, but I have had nothing but trouble with this recipe. Some batches turn out, others don't. I've tried different brands of ingredients, different mixes, I even went so far as to add an egg to help bind, and still find that they are dry and crumbly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamamoe April 05, 2009

Great texture and an easy mix & match recipe. I'll be having more fun with this recipe in the future THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakerbf820 March 08, 2009

Excellent recipe! I too have difficulty forking out so much $$ for six granola bars. I made these with flax seeds and besan flour (no wheat for me) and my kids loved it! This weekend we're trying it with craisins and chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syd and Mom January 17, 2009

I went grocery shopping last night and could not bring myself to pay $3.49 for 6 little granola bars. So, today I made your recipe and I have to say these bars are really good, and very easy to make. Added cinnamon, raisins and chocolate chips. I can't wait to try nuts or dried fruit. I wrapped the bars in waxed paper so the kids can take them to school. Thx kzmom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 28, 2008

At first I cut this recipe in half.... made it with Graham flour instead of regular flour and left out the coconut - added mini chocolate chips! They were fabulous, my daughter (who DOES NOT eat granola bars) loved them so much we had to make 2 more batches so she could bring some to school for snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patchymama April 02, 2008

These were really good. I made them with dried cranberrys, raisins and flax seeds. Mine didn't hold together like a granola bar does so I'll have to figure out what I did wrong but it was still really good. My 2 year old loves them also which I like since their pretty healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahgilb February 25, 2008

Amazingly easy treat that I can feed my toddler and not feel guilty about the processing!! I made these for a Valentine's party and one little boy can't have dairy or soy so they were an excellent alternative. I subbed olive oil (b/c veg. oil has soy) and did like another reviewer said and used brown sugar as the sugar and added cinnamon. Just like a certain name brand granola bar I loved as a kid!! I added raisins and pecans and cut them out with a heart shaped cookie cutter. THANKS kzmom for a recipe I'll use for the next 18+ years!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof2leos February 13, 2008
Granola Bars