42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These tasted yummy. I was careful to mix with my hand the ingredients. After cooling for a hour they were still crumbly but by letting them sit overnight uncovered they stuck together much better. I can't wait to try other combos by using this as a base recipe. Thanks for the easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ct in ut September 18, 2011

We love these! Mix with hands very well. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina August 18, 2011

What a fun recipe! I made 1/2 with the coconut, mixed dried berries, and pecans and 1/2 with sunflower seeds (in place of coconut) and chocolate chunks. I used the (organic) molasses recipe and also used some cinnamon applesauce (about 2 tbspns total) to help hold it together. They taste better than store bought and are dairy free unlike name brand chewy bars. (My daughter has a milk protein allergy.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 girls' mommy August 04, 2011

Great recipe! To address reviews that reported crumbling problems, mine did not. They cut into nice bars, with a little crumbling at the cut. Be sure to mix it well by hand, as the recipe states, and to press firmly into the pan. I did follow someone's advice to reduce the temp to 350, and was glad I did. I used organic brown sugar, and reduced the honey to 1/4 cup, and added 1/4 cup molasses. They were plenty sweet. Also added 1/2 cup pecans, and 1 cup chocolate chips. I made these because we were out of breakfast granola bars, and I live in a remote area. Now that I've made these, I probably won't be able to bring myself to buy them anymore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melody Kay August 04, 2011

I tried this recipe for the first time! I used 1 cup of honey and 1/4 molasses because I used larger oats and felt needed more of a binding agent and wanted a softer bar. They were delicious and didn't last a week in my house. Bravo! I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori.Anne May 22, 2011

These had a nice flavor, but sadly I could not give it a higher rating due to the problems encountered when following the recipe. The baking time & temperature were way off. (my oven temp is set correctly). I even turned the temp. down to 350 degrees and the bars were done in about 12 minutes. Also the texture was too crumbly to hold together well as a bar, so we ended up using it as loose granola. Thanks, but I don't think I'll be trying this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 March 10, 2011

These bars are excellent! We love them! I've added all sorts of things and at the moment a dozen or better of my Facebook friends are coming over this way checking it out. Thanks for an awesome recipe to help keep my husband happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleystone7 February 03, 2011

These are great, and even though I forgot about them and left them until they turned brown - they still taste fantastic. I can't wait to try again and add different things and bake them correctly so they are softer. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindyFlugelman December 13, 2010

YUMMY is all my kids have to say about this one! I love the texture: not to hard and not too soft. We made a double batch, and added raisins, chocolate chips, and sunflower seeds and my littlest day care child helped mix by hand. We had a LOT of fun, these baked up quickly, and they're GREAT!

The only complaint I had is that 375° was too hot. It might be my oven or the temp may be too much, but mine were done at about 10 minutes, and the bottom corner of one pan's bars were slightly burned. Next time I'll lower the temp a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhondalynne July 26, 2010

Super easy. I was so afraid of them being too crumbly that I added a little extra corn syrup and a tiny but more veg oil. But they still are falling apart...maybe they weren't completely cool when I cut them. They are thick, soft and very good. I will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisdecam February 26, 2010
Granola Bars