Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      I'm so glad I finaly found this recipe. I have been looking for a great snack bar for my allergic kids to snack on after school. I like mine with brown sugar. For the flour we use a blend of mostly oats and a little bit of quinoa, hemps seeds, salba seeds and sometimes flax seeds or pumpkin seeds that I put in the blender to make two cups of flour. I also will put about 1/2 cup of raisins in the blender to get them in small sticky pieces. I find that when I keep the raisins whole they plump up and my kids find them gewy. When they are shopped up the kids don't notice them. Next time I will try to shop up some dates as well. We do like to add 1/4 cup of mini Enjoy life chocolate chips as well. Sometimes I add the zest of one orange for a change. I LOVE this recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      This is the best granola bar recipe I've tried by far! However, I had to change one thing to solve the crumbling problem - I add some unsweetened applesauce until it holds together. Other than that it is absolutely perfect, lends to thousand variations and my kids love it. This is standard in our Mishloah Manot for Purim and everyone raves about it! Thanks kzmom!

      PS: More details about my changes can be found at http://leftoverrecipes.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/shock-and-granola/

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Great granola bars. My previous recipe was "Playgroup" bars on another site, but the texture of these is less cakey and more crunchy without being rock hard. I used agave nectar instead of the honey and coconut oil instead of the veg oil, then added in dried cherries and choc chips. Great flavor, can't wait to play with other mix-in combos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Great recipe! I adapted it to a tropical version, gave you credit, and posted it. Should be up in a day or two. Couldn't get it to recognize some of my ingredients, but most of it is included in the nutritional analysis. Bless you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I made these without the coconut (due to an allergy). They turned out great! They've definitely got that strong honey flavor to them, but that's what makes them so delicious. Also, they weren't hard, they weren't falling into pieces when picked up out of the pan, and they weren't sticky. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Yum! These are delish. I made them with coconut and pecans. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      These are great chewy granola bars. Probably the tastiest recipe I have found to make at home. We have a peanut allergy in our home and it can be very difficult to find granola bars that do not have peanuts or peanut flour in them. This fits the bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      These were delicious! Okay, here were my changes: I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup sunflower seeds instead of the coconut, and brown sugar instead of white. I also only used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I think next time I will cut back the oil even more, as the applesauce worked great. Also added some raisins. Used a 9x13 pan, and cooked at 350 for 15 minutes. They were thick and chewy, and held together great. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I've been making these granola bars every couple of weeks for about two months now. I felt it was time I reviewed it :-).
      My husband and I really love these. The recipe makes a great "base" to add on to. Here are my alterations: coconut oil instead of regular oil, whole wheat flour instead of white flour (sometimes I'll add flax seed meal too), I sometimes omit the coconut flakes depending on whether we have them on hand or not (I think they're good with or without); fillers: dark chocolate chips and chopped almonds.
      I have also been playing around with the cooking times, trying to get the softness right. The longer you bake them, the crunchier they get.
      Thank you for sharing this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I adjusted to add more protein and reduce fat. They ended up chewier than other reviews. Changes: replaced oil with plain, non fat Greek yogurt . Replaced flour with: 1 1/2 c white whole wheat plus 1/2 c. Wheat germ. Added one egg. Fillers: 1c. Dried cherries, 1 c. Semi sweet chocolate chips. Eliminated coconut. Cooked at 350 for 12-14 min. Puffy, not brown. We have tree nut and peanut allergies, so we are looking for high protein and nutritious bars to stick in our pockets for skiing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      These tasted yummy. I was careful to mix with my hand the ingredients. After cooling for a hour they were still crumbly but by letting them sit overnight uncovered they stuck together much better. I can't wait to try other combos by using this as a base recipe. Thanks for the easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      We love these! Mix with hands very well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      What a fun recipe! I made 1/2 with the coconut, mixed dried berries, and pecans and 1/2 with sunflower seeds (in place of coconut) and chocolate chunks. I used the (organic) molasses recipe and also used some cinnamon applesauce (about 2 tbspns total) to help hold it together. They taste better than store bought and are dairy free unlike name brand chewy bars. (My daughter has a milk protein allergy.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Great recipe! To address reviews that reported crumbling problems, mine did not. They cut into nice bars, with a little crumbling at the cut. Be sure to mix it well by hand, as the recipe states, and to press firmly into the pan. I did follow someone's advice to reduce the temp to 350, and was glad I did. I used organic brown sugar, and reduced the honey to 1/4 cup, and added 1/4 cup molasses. They were plenty sweet. Also added 1/2 cup pecans, and 1 cup chocolate chips. I made these because we were out of breakfast granola bars, and I live in a remote area. Now that I've made these, I probably won't be able to bring myself to buy them anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I tried this recipe for the first time! I used 1 cup of honey and 1/4 molasses because I used larger oats and felt needed more of a binding agent and wanted a softer bar. They were delicious and didn't last a week in my house. Bravo! I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      These had a nice flavor, but sadly I could not give it a higher rating due to the problems encountered when following the recipe. The baking time & temperature were way off. (my oven temp is set correctly). I even turned the temp. down to 350 degrees and the bars were done in about 12 minutes. Also the texture was too crumbly to hold together well as a bar, so we ended up using it as loose granola. Thanks, but I don't think I'll be trying this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      These bars are excellent! We love them! I've added all sorts of things and at the moment a dozen or better of my Facebook friends are coming over this way checking it out. Thanks for an awesome recipe to help keep my husband happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      These are great, and even though I forgot about them and left them until they turned brown - they still taste fantastic. I can't wait to try again and add different things and bake them correctly so they are softer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      YUMMY is all my kids have to say about this one! I love the texture: not to hard and not too soft. We made a double batch, and added raisins, chocolate chips, and sunflower seeds and my littlest day care child helped mix by hand. We had a LOT of fun, these baked up quickly, and they're GREAT!

      The only complaint I had is that 375° was too hot. It might be my oven or the temp may be too much, but mine were done at about 10 minutes, and the bottom corner of one pan's bars were slightly burned. Next time I'll lower the temp a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Super easy. I was so afraid of them being too crumbly that I added a little extra corn syrup and a tiny but more veg oil. But they still are falling apart...maybe they weren't completely cool when I cut them. They are thick, soft and very good. I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Bar Cookie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.8
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    42%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 93.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites