46 Reviews

This is a GREAT granola recipe! 6 cups wasn't enough for the 3 of us, I couldn't stop eating it (I almost ruined my appetite for dinner :-)). My toddler and my husband loved it, hubby said it was the best granola he ever tasted! I have to make a special trip to the store just to get more ingredients (oatmeal, the only thing I can't substitute! :-)).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkeller28 May 12, 2011

Theresa My Sister made this a Christmas gift for the family! Beautifully labeled and delish! Alton sure knows his stuff! I enjoyed over yogurt with a banana and topped with honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 31, 2010

I made this with dried cranberries instead of the raisins and pecans instead of the cashews and it it delicious. This could be easily changed up with different additions. I made this in just one pan instead of two, and it got a little brown--maybe because I used just on pan, or maybe because I let time get away from me. Either way, it was delicious and I'll be making it again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two July 27, 2010

Yum! I doubled the almonds (used sliced) and omitted the cashews. I substituted honey and dried cranberries for the maple syrup and raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2FrenchCats June 21, 2010

I find this an excellent recipe to use as a base for my granola. While I hate maple syrup, I have used corn syrup and brown rice syrup as substitutes and both turn out wonderfully. I typically add vanilla extract (1 - 2 teaspoons) and leave out the salt. I also dislike coconut and raisins, so I substitute other dried fruit (typically cherries) for both. I usually prefer 2 cups of cashews rather than the almond cashew mix. As you can see, I use it as a base and I love it as such! The best part of making something yourself is that you can adjust the ingredients to suit your tastes and preferences and this lends itself wonderfully to that. This base has good flavor, not overpowering, and the granola has good crunch and small to no clusters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vyrianna November 12, 2009

I substitute pecans for the cashews as well. This recipe is sensational! My entire family loves it! My kids gobble it up as soon as I make it. The eat it plain or in yogurt, on ice cream, they eat it as cereal...This truly is a great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdelvr October 20, 2009

I used honey instead of maple syrup. The taste was wonderful and it browned beautifully. Perfect, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsweetie June 24, 2009

Our favorite breakfast is fresh berries, yogurt and granola. I have been looking for a great granola recipe and I finally found it. This is great granola! The first time I made it, my cashews were lightly salted and it made the granola too salty. Now I substitute pecans for the cashews and the flavor is great. I also use half raisins and half dried cranberries. I ran out of maple syrup so I used local honey and my husband thinks it is the best ever. Thanks for posting a great granola recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momsthecook June 09, 2009

OH! WOW! I've made granola since I went off to college; my mom makes granola, and her mom made granola. I like and use and adapt our family recipe. I've never been happy with other granola recipes (too much sugar, too fussy, not as easy). So while I thought I'd give Alton Brown a shot, I had low expectations that this recipe would be better than the venerable tradition. You may laugh now. This was GREAT! FABULOUS! It's crispy, crunchy, and delicious! I could snack on it all day long! I even followed this recipe (unusual for me) almost to the letter (except I don't like cashews so I left them out). For the last 15 minute run, I switched my oven to convection which I think gave the granola an extra punch to crunchy. My granola forms clusters, and I thought the maple syrup was a little scant, but I gave Alton the benefit of the doubt, and I'm so glad I did! I like the smaller (to no) clusters, I like the extra crunchy, and I can't believe I've found a recipe I like better than our family's vintage recipe. Roll with the times; this is my new standard for granola. (Might try to tweak the sugar and syrup downward, but not at the expense of the "Oh Yum!" factor. Might work sunflower seeds, possibly sesame seeds - flax seeds or flax seed meal - wheat germ, from my recipe in too.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope May 25, 2009

I made this to top vanilla yogurt and it turned out just great. It's nice and crunchy and has a perfect mild flavor. Heeding my suggestion, my husband took some to work as a snack with the vanilla yogurt. He later sent me a rave review (on his own accord... NEVER happens) and told me I have to give it 5 stars! I'm sure I'll be making it again, it was extremely easy. Oh and the only changes I made were to use whole pecans instead of cashews (didn't have any of those) and only used one sheet pan. It cooked just fine that way. I didn't put raisins in mine, but if I were to eat this as a cereal I'd probably throw some in. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo May 22, 2009
Granola