46 Reviews

I made this to go along with Christmas baskets and used cranberries instead of raisins for more of a holiday feel. This was received very well. Great with almond milk poured over top! Thanks for a great granola recipe without a bunch of crazy ingredients!! UPDATE: I have made this again and used applesauce instead of the oil and it really worked. Couldn't tell a difference and it was a bit healthier. Also, used raisins this time and subbed walnuts for cashews & it was absolutley enjoyable!! Thanks again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious January 31, 2011

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet - it has become a standard for me. LOVE this recipe. I do change it up a bit as I don't like granola with fruit (subtract the raisins) and I prefer a simple "almond joy" feel to the granola so also subtract the cashews. I usually put in at least 3T of chia seeds and either 3T of flax seeds or ground flaxseed meal to add to the nutrition as well. I don't like maple syrup so I've made it with both agave nectar and honey in place of the maple syrup and either way is marvelous.<br/><br/>******************* Infinitely adaptable recipe - it's truly GOOD EATS! ***************************** Added to this review YEARS LATER (it's still our very favorite granola) Weird tip for amazing cookies: Use 1 cup of this granola (again, I make it plus chia/flax and minus cashews and raisins) to replace 1 cup of flour in your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe for a light and crispy change of pace.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop January 03, 2015

Wow!!! Delicious! I varied the nuts (walnuts, almonds and sunflower seeds), used corn syrup since we were out of honey, added some vanilla & cinnamon and only stirred once (I was afraid it would break up too much?). It is so light and crunchy. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls October 02, 2010

Terrific! With a busy weekend of sooccer tournament games ahead, I thought I'd make this for some quick, healthy breakfasts. I used pecans instead of almonds and cashews and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I also added some chopped, dried mango and the finished granola is delicious! I will definitely make this again; the flavor and crunch are perfect. I'm looking forward to eating this tomorrow morning. This recipe is a keeper; it will be interesting to try again with different dried fruit variations!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geneveive October 01, 2010

Perfect granola! I only had unsweetened coconut, so added an extra two Tbs brown sugar. Only had to stir it twice. LOVE this! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz June 27, 2014

Absolutely fabulous!! Yummmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmae January 24, 2013

This was my Christmas giveaway this year---I think I made about 15 gallons of it! And the compliments are pouring in---absolutely everyone loves it, and it makes a nice change from the surfeit of cookies and cakes, while at the same time counting as a "sweet" treat! Like other reviewers, I played around with the fruit---mixed the raisins with dried cranberries and cherries. I also added vanilla and almond extracts, which really made the flavor pop. My husband, a huge cereal fan, also gives this five stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante December 18, 2012

Very, very good. Definitely a keeper! I omitted the cashews (only because I didn't have them) and the raisins. I thought each individual could add the raisins as they liked. My kids won't eat them in cereal so I couldn't add to the whole batch. I added Craisins instead to mine. Next time I will try one less Tbs of sugar as I thought this was every so slightly too sweet for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zee June 07, 2012

This stuff is great! Love it with milk as a cereal or by the handful as a snack by itself or over bananas or yogurt. If your family isn't into "healthy" eating, try them on this one. Sometimes it doesn't last 3 days at my house and my husband can't stand anything healthy! Portion size is probably correct if using it as a cereal. Need to cut it in 3rds if using as a topping or in small handfuls. Works well with a variety of dried fruits and/or nuts (I've tried cranberries, blueberries, cherries, and pecans).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RDKERVET January 11, 2012

I tried substituting applesauce for the oil and it was too dry. It could be a little sweeter.I will try a little demara sugar instead of brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodQuestor July 24, 2011
Granola