Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granola Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granola

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2011

      I made this to go along with Christmas baskets and used cranberries instead of raisins for more of a holiday feel. This was received very well. Great with almond milk poured over top! Thanks for a great granola recipe without a bunch of crazy ingredients!! UPDATE: I have made this again and used applesauce instead of the oil and it really worked. Couldn't tell a difference and it was a bit healthier. Also, used raisins this time and subbed walnuts for cashews & it was absolutley enjoyable!! Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Wow!!! Delicious! I varied the nuts (walnuts, almonds and sunflower seeds), used corn syrup since we were out of honey, added some vanilla & cinnamon and only stirred once (I was afraid it would break up too much?). It is so light and crunchy. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Terrific! With a busy weekend of sooccer tournament games ahead, I thought I'd make this for some quick, healthy breakfasts. I used pecans instead of almonds and cashews and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I also added some chopped, dried mango and the finished granola is delicious! I will definitely make this again; the flavor and crunch are perfect. I'm looking forward to eating this tomorrow morning. This recipe is a keeper; it will be interesting to try again with different dried fruit variations!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      Perfect granola! I only had unsweetened coconut, so added an extra two Tbs brown sugar. Only had to stir it twice. LOVE this! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Absolutely fabulous!! Yummmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      This was my Christmas giveaway this year---I think I made about 15 gallons of it! And the compliments are pouring in---absolutely everyone loves it, and it makes a nice change from the surfeit of cookies and cakes, while at the same time counting as a "sweet" treat! Like other reviewers, I played around with the fruit---mixed the raisins with dried cranberries and cherries. I also added vanilla and almond extracts, which really made the flavor pop. My husband, a huge cereal fan, also gives this five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      Very, very good. Definitely a keeper! I omitted the cashews (only because I didn't have them) and the raisins. I thought each individual could add the raisins as they liked. My kids won't eat them in cereal so I couldn't add to the whole batch. I added Craisins instead to mine. Next time I will try one less Tbs of sugar as I thought this was every so slightly too sweet for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      This stuff is great! Love it with milk as a cereal or by the handful as a snack by itself or over bananas or yogurt. If your family isn't into "healthy" eating, try them on this one. Sometimes it doesn't last 3 days at my house and my husband can't stand anything healthy! Portion size is probably correct if using it as a cereal. Need to cut it in 3rds if using as a topping or in small handfuls. Works well with a variety of dried fruits and/or nuts (I've tried cranberries, blueberries, cherries, and pecans).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      I tried substituting applesauce for the oil and it was too dry. It could be a little sweeter.I will try a little demara sugar instead of brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet - it has become a standard for me. LOVE this recipe. I do change it up a bit as I don't like granola with fruit (subtract the raisins) and I prefer a simple "almond joy" feel to the granola so also subtract the cashews. I usually put in at least 3T of chia seeds and either 3T of flax seeds or ground flaxseed meal to add to the nutrition as well. I don't like maple syrup so I've made it with both agave nectar and honey in place of the maple syrup and either way is marvelous.

      Infinitely adaptable recipe - it's truly GOOD EATS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This is a GREAT granola recipe! 6 cups wasn't enough for the 3 of us, I couldn't stop eating it (I almost ruined my appetite for dinner :-)). My toddler and my husband loved it, hubby said it was the best granola he ever tasted! I have to make a special trip to the store just to get more ingredients (oatmeal, the only thing I can't substitute! :-)).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Theresa My Sister made this a Christmas gift for the family! Beautifully labeled and delish! Alton sure knows his stuff! I enjoyed over yogurt with a banana and topped with honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I made this with dried cranberries instead of the raisins and pecans instead of the cashews and it it delicious. This could be easily changed up with different additions. I made this in just one pan instead of two, and it got a little brown--maybe because I used just on pan, or maybe because I let time get away from me. Either way, it was delicious and I'll be making it again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yum! I doubled the almonds (used sliced) and omitted the cashews. I substituted honey and dried cranberries for the maple syrup and raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I find this an excellent recipe to use as a base for my granola. While I hate maple syrup, I have used corn syrup and brown rice syrup as substitutes and both turn out wonderfully. I typically add vanilla extract (1 - 2 teaspoons) and leave out the salt. I also dislike coconut and raisins, so I substitute other dried fruit (typically cherries) for both. I usually prefer 2 cups of cashews rather than the almond cashew mix. As you can see, I use it as a base and I love it as such! The best part of making something yourself is that you can adjust the ingredients to suit your tastes and preferences and this lends itself wonderfully to that. This base has good flavor, not overpowering, and the granola has good crunch and small to no clusters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I substitute pecans for the cashews as well. This recipe is sensational! My entire family loves it! My kids gobble it up as soon as I make it. The eat it plain or in yogurt, on ice cream, they eat it as cereal...This truly is a great recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I used honey instead of maple syrup. The taste was wonderful and it browned beautifully. Perfect, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Our favorite breakfast is fresh berries, yogurt and granola. I have been looking for a great granola recipe and I finally found it. This is great granola! The first time I made it, my cashews were lightly salted and it made the granola too salty. Now I substitute pecans for the cashews and the flavor is great. I also use half raisins and half dried cranberries. I ran out of maple syrup so I used local honey and my husband thinks it is the best ever. Thanks for posting a great granola recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      OH! WOW! I've made granola since I went off to college; my mom makes granola, and her mom made granola. I like and use and adapt our family recipe. I've never been happy with other granola recipes (too much sugar, too fussy, not as easy). So while I thought I'd give Alton Brown a shot, I had low expectations that this recipe would be better than the venerable tradition. You may laugh now. This was GREAT! FABULOUS! It's crispy, crunchy, and delicious! I could snack on it all day long! I even followed this recipe (unusual for me) almost to the letter (except I don't like cashews so I left them out). For the last 15 minute run, I switched my oven to convection which I think gave the granola an extra punch to crunchy. My granola forms clusters, and I thought the maple syrup was a little scant, but I gave Alton the benefit of the doubt, and I'm so glad I did! I like the smaller (to no) clusters, I like the extra crunchy, and I can't believe I've found a recipe I like better than our family's vintage recipe. Roll with the times; this is my new standard for granola. (Might try to tweak the sugar and syrup downward, but not at the expense of the "Oh Yum!" factor. Might work sunflower seeds, possibly sesame seeds - flax seeds or flax seed meal - wheat germ, from my recipe in too.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I made this to top vanilla yogurt and it turned out just great. It's nice and crunchy and has a perfect mild flavor. Heeding my suggestion, my husband took some to work as a snack with the vanilla yogurt. He later sent me a rave review (on his own accord... NEVER happens) and told me I have to give it 5 stars! I'm sure I'll be making it again, it was extremely easy. Oh and the only changes I made were to use whole pecans instead of cashews (didn't have any of those) and only used one sheet pan. It cooked just fine that way. I didn't put raisins in mine, but if I were to eat this as a cereal I'd probably throw some in. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breakfast Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granola

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 693.5
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    44%
    Total Fat 34.3 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 478.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 45.9 g
    183%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes