221 Reviews

Followed the recipe exactly, too salty for my taste! I would decrease the salt to 1/2 tsp. next time. Just an ok cookie to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammabobbie January 27, 2009

My husband loved these cookies! I like my cookies soft so these were ok for me, but the flavor was great. I would have given it 5 stars but the frosting was horrible, I'm not sure if it tasted to strong of vanilla extract or what, but i threw it away and used Sugar Cookie Icing and it was great. I hadn't realized until after but most of the pics with frosting on here are #64015 frosting they have the same pics. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! January 04, 2009

really bangin sugar cookie recipe. i added milk and more sugar to the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thestickyskunk January 03, 2009

These cookies were absolutely delicious! I didn't frost them but instead rolled half into balls, then sprinkled with sugar before baking. The other half I rolled out and used cookie cutters. Both batches were scrumptious! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PiNeApPleTwiSt December 30, 2008

The cookies were mediocre until I added the frosting, ended up throwing them out because my family wouldn't eat them, it was a little embarrassing at our Christmas party and I made the recipe without alteration or substitution. Don't think I'll be trying them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferElizabeth December 26, 2008

Very good cookie, but difficult to roll. That said, I followed someone else's direction made balls and flattened them, sprinkled with sugar and they were very good. Next time, I'll refrigerate overnight so that I can roll them. I kept them in the icebox and they did become increasingly easier to work with. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva December 25, 2008

I made just the cookies (not the frosting). These were really yummy and easy. I forgot to add the dry ingredients a little at a time so I had trouble incorporated it, but they turned out well anyway. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okinok December 24, 2008

These are absolutely a no fail perfect sugar cookie. I've had cookies at a bakery that were not this good. I used these to make Stained Glass Cookies. The only thing I had trouble with was the thickness. 1/4" was too thick and the design in the middle lost definition. 1/8" was just right. Thanks for the Awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fionnros December 23, 2008

These cookies are delicious- just the right balance of sugary and buttery. I agree with other reviewers that the cookies do come out better if you roll them thicker, and keep the dough very cold. However, it's important to note that if you do roll them thicker, the recipe makes 25-27 cookies instead of 42. Also, the frosting needs a considerable amount of powdered sugar to be the right consistency (a bit more than the recipe suggests). This one is a keeper !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtoto December 20, 2008

Very good cookies; made as a "cookie card" for my nephew...because why get an 8 yr old a card? They were good but a little bit dry. I rolled more out later and found that they're better if rolled thick and cooked only until set. They worked for what I wanted, but I wanted a fluffier texture; but these were a good butter sugar cookie. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsBritt December 05, 2008
Granny's Sugar Cookies