Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    219 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 219

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2007

      These are outstanding & thanks to pastuerized eggs I could taste the batter & it was heaven! Made cream cheese frosting with Christmas sprinkles for them as well. A very yummy sugar cookie!!!Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      cookie-tastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

    • on December 20, 2007

      I made these last night. I followed exactly but had the same problems as some others. The dough was really hard to roll out and very sticky. I tried to add more flour but could only add so much more before the cookies would taste like pure flour. I ended up just dropping them on the cookie sheet. However these are very tasty. These are perfect for just plain sugar cookies that you don't want to cut into shapes. Some people said the dough was easy to work with. Others said it was sticky. SO I'm wondering if a difference in elevation would cause this to be hard to work with?? In which case I don't know how you could fix that. It was a very tasty cookie though. As someone stated the dough tasted almost like ice cream. Thanks for the recipe!! EDIT 12/19/07 to add Today I tried this again. I dropped the cookies. Then flattened dough with the back of a glass. The cookies turned out perfect! They were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      These delicious, tender sugar cookies are just the vanilla sugar cookie recipe I've been looking for! The dough is firm and cuts out nicely (keep chilled for best effect). The cookies puffed out slightly during cooking, but still retained their shapes fairly well. I used Penzey's double-strength vanilla, so these were extremely vanilla-y. I sprinkled the first batch with colored sugar so we could eat them right away instead of waiting unil they were frosted. They were tender, yet crisp and light. Thanks so much for posting, ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I made these cookies, and used another recipe for the frosting. While the cookies are absolutely delicious, they did turn out a little thin for my taste. I think next time I'll add a little more flour and roll them a bit thicker. Other than that, a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      These were ok. I made sugar cookies last year with a cream cheese recipe. I couldn't find it so I tried these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This recipes makes some really good sugar cookies, however, the frosting is missing the milk measurement (mentioned in directions but not ingrediants). I tried to make the frosting and added a bit of milk without measuring and it just didn't work. Love the cookies, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      These are a great and easy cookie to make. I did just as directed and the cookies came out amazing. THanks for a great addition to my cookie lineup! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Pretty good, but not sensational in my opinion. After refrigerating the dough for several hours, I still needed a LOT of flour when rolling out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I've made these several times now and I have to say, these are my favorite cookies! They take a little bit of time, but they are well worth it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      What a good recipe! The dough was very easy to work with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Excellent sugar cookies! Had to make 1.5 x the amt of icing to cover the cookies from the recipe. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

    • on November 18, 2007

      Pillowy-soft and flavorful! This is now my only sugar cookie recipe I'll ever use. Thanks for posting, ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      i particularly like the fact that this recipe makes enough cookies to fill a medium sized tin can. the cookie was very good and easy to make.was asked to make cookies for an adult fantasia show , so I found a dog bone cookie cutter and shaped the cookie into the male anatomy) and a heart shaped one,cutting the pointy tip and with a chop stick pressed down the curves to make nipples..very imaginative ...wouldn't u say.every one had a blast and wanted the recipe for the cookies. thanks for this great recipe olga

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      The raw dough was awesome..Once the cookies were cooked they didn't taste nearly as well as I was hoping they were not stiff like cookies should be they were very bread like. Maybe I did something wrong but I thought I followed the recipie to a T. I did not however make the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Great basic sugar cookie recipe with a good flavor and either soft or crisp texture depending on thickness and baking time. These puffed up enough that they didn't work too well with the designed cookie cutters that leave an imprint but they worked great with traditional cookie cutters. Will definitely make again. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Made these for easter with my daughter. LOVED this recipe. Took me ages to cut out all the shapes and re-roll the dough but it was worth it. The frosting was just right too. Will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This recipe has changed my mind about sugar cookies. I'm normally not a sugar cookie fan, but I tried this recipe because I wanted a cookie recipe that the kids could help make and decorate. Not only is this a fun recipe, but the cookies turn out absolutely delicious--and this is from someone who normally finds the taste and texture of sugar cookies to not be worth the fat and calories. These are worth it! This has been such a hit at our house, it has almost become a Sunday ritual. (I should note that we only make half a batch at a time.) I divide the dough into 3 or 4 small bowls and mix in some food coloring to each before refrigerating the dough. The kids love using the dough like play-dough to create all kinds of silly cookies. This recipe has been great fun for us, and I anticipate using for many years to come. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    43%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 77.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites