221 Reviews

We do like these thick, so I add a 1/2 t. of salt or they're sorta too salty. Other than that - WOW!!!! Wally World charges $3.00 for 10 of these - these are SO much cheaper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apostolic December 07, 2009

Very Tasty! The dough was very easy to work with. I took a tip from another member and popped the frosted ones into the freezer and then stacked them up,.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMontana December 05, 2009

These are quick and very easy. Delicious taste with just the right amount of sugar. Will use this recipe again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef toone December 03, 2009

This cookie dough was super easy to make. I tripled the recipe and mixed the dough before bed then stuck in a plastic ice cream gallon container with lid. Got up next morning and rolled out on floured surface with ease--just rolled the ball in flour before rolling out as well and rolled the rolling pin over floured surface so it could be coated with flour for minimal sticking too. After decorating with icing I put cookies back on baking sheets and slid into the freezer so frosting could harden. That helped me be able to stack multiple cookies on top of each other without getting messy and sticking to one another. Took to church activity--cookies & frosting were absolutely fine! Hope these tips help others!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_heyrara November 05, 2009

Great recipe! It was easy too!! I was out of cream of tarter and subbed it with 1tsp baking powder and it worked great! My 4-year old and 16 year old had fun making Halloween cookies today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyjoy #2 October 25, 2009

These were great. I did forget to add the vanilla to the cookies, but they were still perfect. I used pumpkin shaped cookie cutters, and frosted them orange, with sprinkles. Made the mistake of stacking them after iced, as it was the only way I really had to store them, and now they're one giant thick as heck, cookie. Also, I do not have a Kitchen Aid mixer, and the dough was too thick for my feeble hand mixer, I ended up having to mix them by hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meg. October 05, 2009

THESE ARE THE MOST DELICIOUS SUGAR COOKIES!!! But this is not a "miracle" sugar cookie recipe! It says to chill the dough for 30 mins, but that is only if you want "blob cookies". You really should chill them for 2 hr or at the very least 90 mins. I also UPPED THE VANILLIA TO 2.5 TBLSPOONS ((A MUST FOR THICK COOKIES!! It really gives them some extra omphh!)) And i also rolled the dough out in powdered sugar instead of flour. Flour can make the cookies "tough" where as the powdered sugar works just as well & the sugar melts into the cookies and the xtra sweetness makes them heavenly!!! Great recipe 4.5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBritt October 02, 2009

These are the best sugar cookies ever. I agree with the person that the thinner they are the better they taste. I used shapes to cut out the cookies and needed quite a bit of flour to keep them from sticking. Also, I left the batter in the refrigerator and only took out enough at a time to roll each pan. This kept the batter from getting too soft to work with. 10 minutes was a little too long for cooking. It was more like 8 minutes cooking time. They are so buttery, easy to decorate and delicious. My family loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_ways June 12, 2009

Loved the flavor of this cookie. I was a little hesitate of the 2 T. vanilla but it tasted great. This is my new sugar cookie recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MLSuchan May 11, 2009
Granny's Sugar Cookies