220 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These baked up beautifully and were enjoyed by all. I used about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract in the frosting and my granddaughter helped by adding colored sprinkles. The dough was chilled for about 2 hours and was very manageable with only a small dusting of flour of the work surface.The frosting set nicely. What such good fun and delicious cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 19, 2009

Oh my word! These are absolutely yummy! The icing is delicious. I ended up making a white icing without the vanilla (it made the icing a light tan color). I put a few different colors in bags and cut the corners off to pipe the colors on. Too much fun! Thanks for this delicious recipe. This will be a tradition from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealRacMT December 16, 2009

These are great cookies! Awesome vanilla flavor. I used a different icing recipe but otherwise made as directed. I did have to add quite a bit of flour to keep the dough from sticking to everything, but once I did it rolled out nicely. lThanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick December 14, 2009

Why did you have to post this recipe? Because I can't stop eating these cookies! They are so buttery, soft, and yet have that melt in your mouth texture. When ever I make this I only had two eggs left in my fridge and dropped one of them. So in place of the 2nd egg I used 2oz of applesauce and they still came out delicious! I will be making these again before Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NapalmFairy December 14, 2009

Haven't tried it yet, but looks delicious! I'm baking them for my friends for the holidays, and I was just wondering if the icing recipe here hardens a little so it won't mess up if i put the cookies in little bags?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peacelovemusic29 December 12, 2009

These came out great! I only made half of the recipe, because we wouldn't know what to do with 84 cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potato715 December 11, 2009

I was snowed in yesterday and made these. I followed the cookie recipe exactly and they are truly melt in your mouth cookies! I decided to make a cream cheese frosting, so used your recipe but added 3 oz. cream cheese and upped the powdered sugar to 2 cups. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin kell December 10, 2009

These turned out great! I took the previous member's review and added only 1/2 tsp. of salt. The cream of tartar adds enough flavor. The dough was easy to use (refridgerated overnite) and the cookies were very tasty. I have tried several recipes for sugar cookies and this is the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smarshall December 09, 2009

We do like these thick, so I add a 1/2 t. of salt or they're sorta too salty. Other than that - WOW!!!! Wally World charges $3.00 for 10 of these - these are SO much cheaper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apostolic December 07, 2009
Granny's Sugar Cookies