Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    217 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 217

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2008

      The cookies were mediocre until I added the frosting, ended up throwing them out because my family wouldn't eat them, it was a little embarrassing at our Christmas party and I made the recipe without alteration or substitution. Don't think I'll be trying them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Very good cookie, but difficult to roll. That said, I followed someone else's direction made balls and flattened them, sprinkled with sugar and they were very good. Next time, I'll refrigerate overnight so that I can roll them. I kept them in the icebox and they did become increasingly easier to work with. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I made just the cookies (not the frosting). These were really yummy and easy. I forgot to add the dry ingredients a little at a time so I had trouble incorporated it, but they turned out well anyway. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      These are absolutely a no fail perfect sugar cookie. I've had cookies at a bakery that were not this good. I used these to make Stained Glass Cookies. The only thing I had trouble with was the thickness. 1/4" was too thick and the design in the middle lost definition. 1/8" was just right. Thanks for the Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These cookies are delicious- just the right balance of sugary and buttery. I agree with other reviewers that the cookies do come out better if you roll them thicker, and keep the dough very cold. However, it's important to note that if you do roll them thicker, the recipe makes 25-27 cookies instead of 42. Also, the frosting needs a considerable amount of powdered sugar to be the right consistency (a bit more than the recipe suggests). This one is a keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Very good cookies; made as a "cookie card" for my nephew...because why get an 8 yr old a card? They were good but a little bit dry. I rolled more out later and found that they're better if rolled thick and cooked only until set. They worked for what I wanted, but I wanted a fluffier texture; but these were a good butter sugar cookie. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Absolutely the BEST sugar cookies I have ever made! These will definitely always be part of the Christmas Season, especially since becoming a "Granny" myself for the first time this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      These were good cookies for the mosr part. They were really dry, though. We rolled out some thick ones that were a little more moist, but the thin ones were pretty much like crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Wonderful cookies! Thank you for posting the recipe! :) I posted pics of some of our creations. Enjoy (^_^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      OH MY GOSH!!! These cookies are the best cookies I have ever had! I can't stop eating them!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. We will be using this for the cookies me make for Santa for sure maybe then he will bring us something extra special ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I'm not a cookie maker but I had these Halloween cookie cutters so I had to try and make some. To my surprise, these came out really nice. The texture is just right - not too crunchy, not too soft (but this is very personal of course). I made one change to the recipe: I replaced the "1 teaspoon cream of tartar' by '2 teaspoons baking powder' since we don't have cream of tartar in Belgium AFAIK. The frosting was easy to make (added a little bit of milk as suggested by one of the other reviewers since I didn't add as much vanilla). I have people ask me for the recipe now :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Yummy! Made for Halloween and they were gone before I knew it. I'll have to double the recipe next time since they were so good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Great sugar cookie recipe. I had no problems with sticky dough. They rolled out easily and baked up perfectly. I used cookie cutters with imprints, next time I will just use the shape cutters as I think those are easier to decorate. My cookies looked as if a 3 year old decorated them. The dough and frosting were easy to make and made soft cookies. I would use this recipe again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      While they came out great, I didn't really like the flavor or texture of them. I guess I was looking for more of a chewy cookie. They were still good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I used slightly less flour for an even softer cookie and they turned out delish! The frosting was also fabulous, although I had to add about a T. of milk for the right consistancy! Perfect cookies! The whole family loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Ok. I like love the flavor of these cookies. They are nice and buttery. But, I personally like my sugar cookies to be crispy and these are soft and cakey. I followed the recipe exactly without any changes so the next time, I will tweak it to see if I can make them on the crispy side. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I LOVE this recipe and have made it at least a dozen times but thought I would update my review to add that I usually ice these cookies with Sugar Cookie Icing because the frosting dries hard and then the cookies can be stacked for easy transporting. Thanks for this great recipe! I have also used this recipe and as the base for fruit pizza Heather's Fruit Pizza Quick and Simple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I dont think I've ever made a sugar cookie recipe twice. Im always disappointed with each new recipe I try because the results are always the same: tasteless cardboard cookies. However, I have FINALLY found a winner. These cookies were excellent!! I frosted mine and after sitting for a few hours they were perfectly soft and very flavorful. I had to modify the frosting quite a bit (3T of butter was not enough to make all that powdered sugar into frosting) but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and LOVED the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      We love these especially with #64015 to ice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I really enjoyed these cookies and so did everyone else who ate them. Everyone said that these were the best sugar cookies they ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    43%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 77.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites