223 Reviews

Made these for a party and they turned out great. I will say that rolling them thinner makes them turn out more like a sugar cookie. I rolled Christmas stars a little too thick and they baked up looking more like flowers. So keep them as thin as you can get away with. The dough itself was easy to work with and the recipe was straight forward. I chilled mine for 40 minutes in a round ball and that was perfect. Too much longer and it gets to hard and brittle. After I baked them I left them out, uncovered overnight and the next day they were crisp on the edges and soft in the middle. They weren't overly sweet, which made them perfect for frosting. If you roll them too thick, they do have more of a biscuit quality. So keep them thin, people! ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shewinked November 23, 2014

made these for a friend who loves sugar cookies and she really liked them. I followed the recipe exactly until I noticed I only had a little bit of vanilla left. So i used half vanilla half almond and it still came out great. She enjoyed the almondy flavor, Frosting was yummy too with the almondy flavor except I could not get it to stiffen completely, so I had to store them with care so they wouldn't get all sticky everywhere. But they were great and will defintely be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjg July 30, 2014

To avoid drying out the dough with too much flower, try parchment or wax paper instead of flowering the dough top and bottom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jim_cooks December 21, 2013

This is my go to recipe for sugar cookies. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds April 03, 2013

The texture of these cookies was perfect but mine spread so much that they lost their shape a bit and joined with other cookies! The taste was a bit off to me, not like other sugar cookies I have eaten. Sorry for the negative review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC December 22, 2012

Excellent recipe -- will be making this my go to. I rolled the dough a bit thicker to get a chewy cookie and baked for one less minute. Used 1/2 salted and 1/2 unsalted butter. Forgot about dark vanilla making the frosting brown (didn't make various colors of frosting). Make sure you use clear vanilla; you can find it at Michaels in the baking aisle. Got rave reviews on these! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristin DeRamus December 15, 2012

Every cookie turned out perfectly; great recipe! No way is this a quick project as the recipe led me to believe; it took all afternoon to get to the final decorated results. But it was well worth it! Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen in MD December 08, 2012

I hadn't baked sugar cookies for almost a decade! I went online because I wasn't satisfied with the recipe I had used before. After perusing many different recipes and decided to use this one. Super easy to roll out, easily used with cookie cutters, and fast to put together with the short refridgeration time! The cookies were a hit! I made cookies for a friends party and everyone was raving about how this was a great mix between a butter cookie and a sugar cookie! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! My only issue was adjusting the baking time a bit so the cookies didn't get too brown.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lottie2u December 28, 2011

THANKS for THE go to recipe for sugar cookies! Nuff said! added a touch of almond extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 27, 2011

These cookies were delicious and easy. I'm not a baker, per se, but I wanted some decorative cookies for the holidays. Since I don't even own cookie cutters, I did what another reviewer did and rolled small balls of the dough, then rolled them in sugar and flattened to about 1/4" thick rounds. For the icing, I just mixed a little milk in with the powdered sugar, added 1/4 tsp of almond extract, frosted the cookies and topped with sprinkles.Couldn't be easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 December 22, 2011
Granny's Sugar Cookies