Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-218 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2004

      Nurse Di I always trust your judgement. When my kids mentioned last year that they didn't actually like to eat our standard Christmas sugar cookies, but just liked to decorate them, I thought I'd look for a recipe that actually tasted good too - I should have known I'd wind up with one of your recipes! Granny's sugar cookies are the best, and our new standard sugar cookie recipe! FYI, I only made half the dough recipe, but had to double the frosting recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      This is a great recipe. I tried many others and this has a nice balance of sweetness, not to bready, not to crunchy. I also added a Tablespoon of cinnamon, yum. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      AWESOME COOKIES.....I will make them again probably this week. I can't keep the kids out of them. I love the buttery taste. I didn't even froste them they was good without it....Must give them a try.OUTSTANDING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      I found that the dough was still sticky and unmanageable..and had to resort to using another recipe. My suggestion is to elaborate on the use of "chill" as in "chill in the freezer for 30 min." or "chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      I liked these cookies a lot but I found that they didn't taste as good if you rolled them out for a thicker cookie. The most delicious ones were the ones that I rolled very, very thin. Who would have thought that the thickness would affect the taste. I'll use this recipe again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      These were the best sugar cookies I have ever made! I had to substitute 1/2 of the sugar for powdered sugar, because I ran out, but they still turned out great. The dough was easy to work with. The cookies were moist and delicious. This is definately a recipe to keep! Thanks, NurseDi. I have used many of your great recipes on this site--you must be a fantastic cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      Excellent recipe! I made these yesterday, following the recipe as posted, and it is an easy, delicious recipe. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      Husband said " you didnt make these! Where are the ones you made?" he he - well these are the ones I made! Very good, didnt use the Frosting ( it was too much for my family ), but drizzled chocolate in a zig zag fashion, I diped the other half of this biscuit batch in melted chocolate, covering only half the biscuit. Very nice all the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      These cookies are amazing!!! I have never made homemade sugar cookies that are so soft! I really love how managable the dough was. It wasn't tough or heavy. After making the first batch I sent my hubby to the store to get more butter so that I can start a second! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      These cookies were awesome. I made these with my daughter and her friend. The dough was very forgiving and it let me roll it out again and again without getting too stiff. The girls had fun cutting the cookies out and decorating them with lots of colored sugar and decorations, so unfortunately I did not get a chance to make the frosting. On that note - I must say this dough was incredible. The cookies almost didn't get cooked! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      Stop searching..this is the one!! After countless sugar cookie setbacks I found this one-i will search no longer! These cookies are amazing!So light and buttery, not crispy, just...perfect. I cook mine for only 7:45 (my oven is crazy..literally) and I add 1 tbsp of warm milk to the frosting recipe. Yum.Yum.Yum.Delicioso!I would not rec. For rolling (unless you freeze for about 1/2 hr.)b/c the dough is too soft. I roll dough into little balls and press down w/a meas. Cup. Perfect circles every time! I can't keep these in the house and now people not only compliment me on my cookies, they actually eat them too!! A million thanks every time I bake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      My grandkids and I made these sugar cookies for Valentine's day. They turned out wonderful and we had fun. Like others have said, the dough was easy to work with. We used different heart shapes and decorated them in all different colors, adding sprinkles and such. The cookies had a delicious buttery flavor. Thank-you for a nice homemade cookie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Great cookies! I made these with my little girl for Valentines Day. They were easy to make, the dough came out great and was very easy to work with. We cut out heart shapes and I baked for 9-10 mins.and may even do 8-9 mins. next time. We had a great time decorating these, I divided the icing and we coloured one bowl light pink and one light purple. We used sprinkles,red & pink smarties,red coloured sugar and those little silver balls. Lots of pretty looking cookies! We took some to her little friends at her storytime at the library and one of the mothers called me for the recipe later on! Thanks Nurse Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      These cookies are wonderful. Everyone thought they couldn't have tasted better. A nice buttery flavor. I added a few drops of vanilla extract to the frosting and let it thickin up a bit, before topping the cookies. Thank you for this simple yet great recipe!!!I will be making these again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      We wanted to make sure to let you know that we've dubbed this the "best frosted cookie recipe ever." The frosting was sooooooooooo gooooood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Just like Evans89, I had none left to frost. They're very light and easy to make. Thanks for a permanent addition to my cookie list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      My 8 year old and I made these today to put on a plate for Santa tonight. They are very good. She sprinkled them with colored sugar and we baked them for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. I am sure Santa will approve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I made these for Thanksgiving. They were so soft! My husband even liked them, and he usually only likes Chocolate Chip cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    43%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 77.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites