223 Reviews

These cookies are delicious- just the right balance of sugary and buttery. I agree with other reviewers that the cookies do come out better if you roll them thicker, and keep the dough very cold. However, it's important to note that if you do roll them thicker, the recipe makes 25-27 cookies instead of 42. Also, the frosting needs a considerable amount of powdered sugar to be the right consistency (a bit more than the recipe suggests). This one is a keeper !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtoto December 20, 2008

Very good cookies; made as a "cookie card" for my nephew...because why get an 8 yr old a card? They were good but a little bit dry. I rolled more out later and found that they're better if rolled thick and cooked only until set. They worked for what I wanted, but I wanted a fluffier texture; but these were a good butter sugar cookie. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsBritt December 05, 2008

Absolutely the BEST sugar cookies I have ever made! These will definitely always be part of the Christmas Season, especially since becoming a "Granny" myself for the first time this year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clintonsangel December 03, 2008

These were good cookies for the mosr part. They were really dry, though. We rolled out some thick ones that were a little more moist, but the thin ones were pretty much like crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern November 30, 2008

Wonderful cookies! Thank you for posting the recipe! :) I posted pics of some of our creations. Enjoy (^_^)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie1094 November 20, 2008

OH MY GOSH!!! These cookies are the best cookies I have ever had! I can't stop eating them!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. We will be using this for the cookies me make for Santa for sure maybe then he will bring us something extra special ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mnheartbreaker November 10, 2008

I'm not a cookie maker but I had these Halloween cookie cutters so I had to try and make some. To my surprise, these came out really nice. The texture is just right - not too crunchy, not too soft (but this is very personal of course). I made one change to the recipe: I replaced the "1 teaspoon cream of tartar' by '2 teaspoons baking powder' since we don't have cream of tartar in Belgium AFAIK. The frosting was easy to make (added a little bit of milk as suggested by one of the other reviewers since I didn't add as much vanilla). I have people ask me for the recipe now :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martine in Tremelo November 02, 2008

Yummy! Made for Halloween and they were gone before I knew it. I'll have to double the recipe next time since they were so good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Hoylman November 01, 2008

Great sugar cookie recipe. I had no problems with sticky dough. They rolled out easily and baked up perfectly. I used cookie cutters with imprints, next time I will just use the shape cutters as I think those are easier to decorate. My cookies looked as if a 3 year old decorated them. The dough and frosting were easy to make and made soft cookies. I would use this recipe again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 October 27, 2008

While they came out great, I didn't really like the flavor or texture of them. I guess I was looking for more of a chewy cookie. They were still good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linkinparkrks October 21, 2008
Granny's Sugar Cookies