Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      my favorite go-to recipe for sugar cookies - if you roll them thicker (more than 1/4"), you'll get soft, tender cookies and if you roll them thinner, they'll be crispy. they are delicious both ways. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      I made these cookies to take to my women's bible study meeting. The dough came together well. Rolled out very easily and I used different Christmas cookie cutter shapes. Piped with colored frosting. They looked beautiful and tasted like a delicate butter cookie. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2003

      These sugar cookies are the best ever in the whole wide world!!! I was surprised at how easy to make they were. I didn't make the frosting, just rolled the dough in little balls then rolled them in sugar and baked. Turned out great. Very soft and buttery. I know I ate at least half of them by myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      These are some of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. I made a batch for Valentines Day and read the recipe wrong only using 2 tsp of vanilla, STILL fantastic.. they were gone so fast. Hubby took some to work and he was sent out on a job for a couple hours, when he came back they were gone so I had to make him more to console him, Sugar cookies are his favorite and the LOVES these. Thanks for a great recipe. This one is going into my book of keepers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      Best sugar cookie recipe I've ever come across. The dough is easy to work with, and it bakes up really well. This will be my new "go to" sugar cookie recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      These cookies are yummy and delicious, so far the best sugar cookie recipe ever. I like how the dough is so easy to roll out and doesnt stick. We used christmas cookie cutters to cut out shapes. For the frosting I added some milk to it, making it easier for us to frost the cookies. Definitely will use this recipe again, holiday or not, it is still very yummy. Thanks for the recipe! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      These are great tasting sugar cookies. They are easy to roll and work with. They have a softer texture than your traditional super crisp sugar cookie which I like however I guess that also depends on how thick you roll them and cooking time. Anyways, they are great! They make cute christmas cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      These were good- but not as good as I expected. The dough was very easy to work with but mine ended up tasting kind of bland- not as tasty as some sugar cookie recipes- I followed the recipe exactly so I am going to look at other recipes and see what the difference was- Some of mine were thicker and those were really biscuity- the thin ones were better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This is a great sugar cookie recipe. The dough is very easy to roll out and work with. These are tasty and stay soft for days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I made these last week. I wanted to make flags as we were going to a fireworks show with a big group. I was going to do cut outs the day before but ran out of time. I ended up doing a slice and bake. I just chilled the dough in a rectangle shape then sliced. I used my own recipe for the frosting, Frosting for Cookies, Muffins and Danish. I will be making these again for the 4th.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      This recipe is just excellent. The dough is very easy to roll out and the cookies are very light and buttery. You might as well delete the recipe for the frosting, though. They were all gone before I got a chance to frost them. This is definitely the recipe I'll use for all of those upcoming holiday parties at my children's school and other activities.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      i made these for a valentine's day party at school. i made big hearts with cookie cutters and cheated and frosted with white readymade frosting tinted pink with sprinkles on top. the third graders loved them. (so did i!) thanks for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      We really had a good time making these cookies for Santa. With 2 sets of little hands it took hours instead of minutes but NOT because of the recipe! They are easy to make and buttery to boot. The frosting was good and easy to work with. I am not a baker so if I can do it anyone can. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      I love these cookies! They are alot like the sugar cookies my Grandma makes. I used a glaze with almond extract in it, I almost ate the entire batch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      These are probably the best sugar cookies I've made so this recipe is a keeper! I ran out of butter so I used 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of margarine. Still turned out okay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      I made a batch of these for my bridge group. I used all my different leaf shaped cookie cutters and made the glaze different fall colors. They turned out so beautiful and melted in your mouth. I had a lot of fun making them and my friends were amazed at how beautiful and delicious they were. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      made these for a friend who loves sugar cookies and she really liked them. I followed the recipe exactly until I noticed I only had a little bit of vanilla left. So i used half vanilla half almond and it still came out great. She enjoyed the almondy flavor, Frosting was yummy too with the almondy flavor except I could not get it to stiffen completely, so I had to store them with care so they wouldn't get all sticky everywhere. But they were great and will defintely be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      To avoid drying out the dough with too much flower, try parchment or wax paper instead of flowering the dough top and bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      This is my go to recipe for sugar cookies. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      The texture of these cookies was perfect but mine spread so much that they lost their shape a bit and joined with other cookies! The taste was a bit off to me, not like other sugar cookies I have eaten. Sorry for the negative review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    43%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 77.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites