Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    167 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 167

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2010

      I'm not vegetarian but have been trying to cut down on meat consumption; I've found that all the vegetarian chilis I've tried taste like they're lacking something. Not this one. I think it's the zucchini, which I shredded for this recipe, which gives the chili more body...or maybe it's all the different kinds of beans which give it enough depth of flavor. Whatever the secret, THANK YOU Sharon123 for posting this amazing recipe that provides a whole lot of delicious, healthy, comfort food for not a lot of $$$- and easy ingredients that are generally kept on-hand to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is a nice, hearty, filling, and satisfying bowl of veggie chili. There is a detectable sweetness, that sort of threw me, but I attribute it to the baked beans. It wasn't unpleasant, just different. For those who like an all-out savory chili, you could sub a can of spicy chili beans instead. Thanks, S123.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      This is super good. I would make it even if I go back to eating meat. It makes great enchiladas. Just roll in a tortilla with cheddar and enchilada sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Very nice flavor. A couple of changes, but nothing much.

      More garlic, cumin (that is my personal preference) and more heat I used a jalapeno and serrano because I had them in my garden (FL), and just because I knew the guys I was serving like it hot. It didn't change much and the recipe is great as is. Those were just personal changes. I added 1 more can of beans to stretch it even further, (hungry guys).

      Garnished with white cheddar, tortilla chips and sour cream with scallions.
      Very very nice recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Thanks! This was suprisingly GOOD! I will make this again.It was easy and filling.I did'nt have time to cook it in the crock pot.I made it on the stove and it turned out fine.I just cooked the veggies a little longer and proceeded from there.I used the 14&1/2 ounce can of tomato puree and also added a 14&1/2 ounce can diced tomatos.I plan on freezing some and taking some to work for lunch too!I agree it would be great over some brown rice,but I served it plain with some grated cheddar cheese and really enjoyed it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Made this the other day, then kept out enough for 2 of us before freezing the rest of it for another time or two ~ Just the kind of thing to have on hand when my vegetarian son & DIL are over for a meal! I expect to be making another whole batch just for freezing ~ Gotta be prepared for the next few cold months! Thanks, much, for another great keeper! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      My husband does not like beans. He always complains when I serve him beans of any kind. So I made this chili and served him a small serving in a room without good lighting. Guess what?? He liked it and this recipe is nothing but beans. Everyone else liked it too this one is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      YUM! First let me say we are NOT vegetarians. I made this because we go meatless once a week. I used just regular black beans, and swapped out the baked beans for chili beans cause I had this in my pantry. I kept everything else from the recipe the same. I liked the sound of it originally, so I doubled the recipe right off the bat. It wouldn't fit in my crockpot, so I cooked it on the stove. My husband liked the chickpeas in the recipe for a nice change, but I loved the spice. As a matter of fact, I have pulled some of the frozen leftovers out of the freezer, and they are dinner for tonight: at the request of hubby! I will definitely make this again on meatless evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I've made this three times now, each batch getting a little better. One of the things that helped was I chopped the zucchini too small the first time. It was much better with a coarser chop.

      The base recipe is a bit too much for a 3 qt. Crock. I doubled the recipe is its almost perfect for a 7 qt. (I used 3 jalapenos and the heat was just right)

      Also... I'd like to see the person that could prep this in 15 minutes. It takes at least 5 minutes just to open the cans. Still this is a great recipe. I even had a meat lover tell me this was the best chili he ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Wow! First time I've ever ha a vegetarian chili that left me totally satisfied! Fantastic recipe! Flollowed it exactly. Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Absolutely FANTASTIC! I am not a vegetarian but my wife is trying to be. Very impressed. We will reccomend this to all of our friends - meat lovers or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      My family loved this recipe! I thought it was great for a number of reasons, 1st--I almost always have the required ingredients (and if not, it think it would be great with substitutions), 2nd--it goes together very quickly, and finally--it tastes delicious. I was tempted to change the amounts of some of the spices as recommended by other reviewers, but decided to make it exactly as written. I couldn't be more pleased. This makes a huge amount so we will have plenty to take to work or to freeze for later. This recipe has it all--it's healthy, delicous, cheap and easy to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This is my go-to soup when I don't have soup left overs in the fridge. I cook it over night and wake up to veggie chili to put in my lunch. And what a treat! I don't like a lot of heat so I put no jalapenos in it. ANd I routinely use a can of black beans, not black bean soup. I use the spices as described. And I usually add frozen corn rather than canned corn. You are well fed when this is in your fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      My girlfriend and I think this chili is the BEST EVER!!. We had six people over one night and we almost finnished off a double batch. I change it a little, I like to add hamburger and one chipotle pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Fantastic! A hit with a crew of guys putting in a cement floor. I used frozen instead of canned corn, and some fancy chipotle chili powder for about 1/2 of the chili powder. By far my favorite chili recipe, and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made this exactly as written and it was fabulous. I fed mine and 3 other families. Everyone loved it. I served it over brown rice with cheese, sour cream and corn chips. Yum. It made just enough to serve our party of 19, with no leftovers. I will make again and my need to purchase a larger crockpot so I can double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I didn't get to try this chili, but my husband enjoyed it and said it should have 4 stars. He had it in an onion bread bowl with cheese on top. The next day we ate it with fritos. Made for VegNSwap 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      This was really good and so filling that no one missed the meat. We had it with corn bread and even the meat eaters went back for seconds. Thanks Sharon for posting this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      This was a really good, really easy chili that had the advantage of making use of our crockpot (so there was less stress finding enough flames when it was time to have everything ready to serve). Our only problem was using a can of mexican kidney beans that had its own spicing so we had to use a fire extinguisher on some of the kids' tongues but it was still really good and all the leftovers were eaten up very quickly despite the extra spice. We made it without zuchini, or at least I hope we made it without zuchini because otherwise I accidentally ate zuchini and somehow survived it. Very nice, very easy dish. We're going to try it with cheese and noodles next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Delicious, easy and satisfying, the baked beans were a nice touch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.7
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    76%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1114.8 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites