27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were excellent! I made them for my son and he loves them! One thing I did learn from a different recipe (that came to light while making these) is that letting the batter sit for about ten minutes while your pan heats up... its almost crucial when you have a soupier batter. I also did it a little different, I sifted all the dry stuff together and then i mixed all the wet stuff together in another bowl and poured that in while stirring. This caused a soupier mixture but after 10-15 minutes of cooking 1-3 pancakes at a time the batter started to thicken just from sitting out. And the pancakes were much fluffier after that (the first few came out almost flat). So now i have tweaked the recipe and these are perfect and delicious! I disagree with the only negative comment on the page, i tried one of these without any toppings and they were bland-ish. But when served with syrup as most people eat pancakes the flavor was delicious and you can taste the butter and flavor in the pancakes when accompanied by delicious syrup. These are GREAT! Thank you, from your famlies recipes to mine :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litmana April 22, 2014

I think I followed recipe to the letter but I don't understand all the great reviews. The only thing I did different was use lowfat milk and let the batter sit for 10 minutes. I couldn't finish them. They looked ok but the taste was a little bland. I prefer Aunt Jemina. They were just ok for me.

I made them a second time just to make sure I didn't to anything wrong. I stand by my review. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 August 13, 2012

Simple, straightforward recipe for great pancakes. No frills & no exotic ingredients. I did as one reviewer suggested and started out with just 1 C of milk. I ended up using about 1 1/4 C for the perfect batter. I really think sifting the dry ingredients together is the secret to this fantastic recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prana Princess August 08, 2010

The best pancakes ever. And very simple, too (which is important to me, because I'm lazy). I used cream (10% fat) instead of butter and milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evza11 May 03, 2010

These are just like the ones my dad has always made. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen July 03, 2009

Excellent recipe! My picky eaters love this. The only suggestion is start w/1 cup of milk and see how the batter looks to you. Other than that, you can't go wrong w/these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akmyers December 30, 2008

very tasty and simple. I might cut the salt just a little as I found mine a bit on the salty side but otherwise this was a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geez70 August 16, 2008

Oh! These are soooooo good. I've been craving pancakes for quite some time and, today, decided to indulge. These satisfied my craving for sure! BTW - I actually had to add more milk to make the batter pourable. I used full fat organic milk. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejmatl July 06, 2008

Update: I've make these fairly often now, and each time I make them I always use a different amount of milk sometimes less sometimes more to get the right consistence. And sometimes the 1 1/2c. is perfect. So I just adjust accordingly. Still yummy every time though. So VERY VERY good....I've never been able to make a good pancake (I end up with stonecakes) and I finally suceeded. My 3 year old was eating his and called from the table "Mommy these are really good". I hadn't yet tried them but he was right they really were good. I did follow TGirl,RN advice about using less milk I only used 1c. of milk and they were the perfect consistancy, for me anyway. Will totally make these again. Thanks so much for such an easy and tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camzmom March 20, 2008

Sooo good! I didn't use the vanilla because I prefer it a little less sweet, and they came out just perfect. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrookenBee November 14, 2007
Granny's Pancakes