Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Banana Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    167 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 167

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2010

      My son wanted a pie and picked banana cream pie. My daughter and I found this recipe, I've never made banana cream pie before and it was AMAZING!!! I used graham cracker crust and whipped up some fresh whip cream. My husband even ate a piece and he doesn't even eat dessert. He also loved it. I was the star of the night! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      5 * * * * * stars! This is now one of my very favorite desserts! I have never made a banana cream pie from scratch before. For the crust I made Graham Cracker-Oatmeal Crust I didn't have any whole milk, just skim so I used 2 C skim minus 4 TBS and added 4 TBS heavy whipping cream. The pie set up so nice. I did experiment a little and made it into a banana coconut cream pie: when I heated the milk mixture I added 1/3 c sweetened coconut. It took me about 13-15 min on step 2. On step 6 I added about 1 1/2-2 tsp creme de banana liqueur. Topped it off with coolwhip and toasted coconut. My husband loves you ratherbeswimmin', you have the best recipes! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      All I can say is yummmmm! This is the best banana cream pie I've ever had. thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I'm sorry...but this was not anything that I expected. I made homeade pie crust, so luckily people liked that....but what a waste of time and bananas. The filling never set, and there was too much for one pie. You need at least 2 twelve inch pies for how much the filling makes. The filling was really sweet, which I guess is ok since it's supposed to be a cream pie. I followed the directions exactly, and I don't know what I did wrong. I guess it might be because I used 2% milk, but they should have told us to use whole milk instead of just "milk". Now I have a soupy mess to try and get rid of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      THEE bestest PIE ever. I've made it about 5 times, and it's pure comfort grandma food at its best. I wasn't a banana cream pie fan, but I am now. I made it because my youngest son said he always wanted to try one, and I trust ratherbeswimmin recipes. Like another reviewer said, I now constantly assess how many bananas are in the house, judging wether or not there's enough to make a pie should i want to! I'm happier when there's at least 3 bananas around. :O) I also mix the bananas in with the cream mixture, within 5 minutes of adding butter/vanilla stage or it doesnt mix as well. Fabulous banana cream pie...this is a definite blue ribbon winner. Thank you! .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      What can I say but, WOW!!!! AMAZING!!! Thats all I could get out of DH. He's not much of a dessert fan, with exception of a good banana pudding. He ask me if I could find a good recipe for Banana Cream Pie on Zaar. (my favorite place to be) I found this recipe and wanted to try. Alot of great reviews on this one. The list of ingredients was perfect. I did everything to the tee, with the exception of instead of 2 cups of milk I used 1/2 cup milk and 1 1/2 cups half and half. (needed to use to clear out fridge) I used deep dish 9" pie shell. Also used butter. Oh, and added about 2 tsp vanilla, mostly by accident, but it sure didn't hurt anything. I sliced 1 banana and layered on the bottom. The other two I sliced and mixed in with the cream mixture, and poured into crust. I loved how rich and creamy it was. DH said "this was the best Pie anything that he has ever had. And 10 stars! We loved it! Also, the directions were right on, and easy to follow. Thank you ratherbeswimmin' for an AMAZING dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I loved how thick the cream was! I used the suggestion of another reviewer and mixed the bananas with the cream before putting it in the crust. I also used pwd. milk in place of the milk (6 Tbsp. pwd milk, 2 cups water). I took another reviewers suggestion and made a vanilla wafer crust...my husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe...it's our new favorite for banana cream pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      The cream took a bit longer to heat than I would like but it was worth the wait. I will say i will not put this in a ordinary shell again though, I think I would prefer it in a Vanilla Wafter crust. I will continue to make this. BTW: I took one commenter idea and mixed the Bananas with he cream before filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      very good and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      The cream part of this pie is AMAZING! I added some strawberries as well as the banana and the pie was gone in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This was very good! My new boyfriend has always loved Banana Cream Pie, he always asked for it for his birthday. lol Because he likes a big banana taste, I added some sliced bananas to the top of the pie before I added the Cool Whip. He LOVED it! Thanks so much for sharing ratherbeswimmin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This is definitely a new favorite find for us!! Creamy, easy to put together & so delicious :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Very good, incredibly easy. What more could you ask for in a pie? Mine only required 2 bananas in order to cover the pie shell, and the filling only filled it about 3/4 of the way. If you top generously with whipped cream though this isn't an issue. Thanks ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This is a wonderful creamy pie -- and the filling is very easy to make. I did increase the milk to 2 1/2 cups and it was perfect. The finished pie sliced so perfectly -- unlike some other cream pies I've made that fell apart when cut and served. I can see that this would make an excellent coconut cream pie as well!!!! UPDATE: I can't count the number of times I/ve made this pie -- it is PERFECT every time. I also wanted to mention that I always use Splenda in place of the sugar -- so far no one has noticed the difference!!!!! This a great dessert for my diabetic hubby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      What a great pie! I used 1 cup of sugar since my family likes things a little sweeter. I have to watch the temperature on our stove since it runs hot. You've got to watch and stir the pudding or it will burn on the bottom even with a heavy pan. The flavor is great and everyone who has tasted it loves it. I normally give away some portion of my desserts; my wife won't let this one out of the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      My family thought this was great. I don't really like banana cream much, but still would give it four stars. I rated it as a five because everyone else in my family loved it. This was the first cream pie I have made and the instructions were really easy to follow. I beat my egg yolks with a hand mixer until they were pretty pale because that is what I have done when I made custards in the past. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to do this or not or if it made any difference in the recipe. Make sure you heat the milk, flour, and sugar slowly. I was getting a little ADHD while I was making it so I turned it up and left it alone for a little while. Oops! The sugar burnt and I had to start over. It turned out great the second time, though. My pie crust was a little shallow so I only put about 1 1/2 bananas in. I think next time I make it, I would cut the sugar back a little, it seemed a little bit too sweet to me, but everyone else thought it was fine. Thanks much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Yum! Easy and delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Simple, quick and tasty. Ended up with more crust then I needed so I came here looking for a pie recipe to use up the lonly crust. Came across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. Results were rewarding with ingredients readily available on hand. Will make it again but I will mix the bananas into the filling as we all thought there wasn't enough of it on the bottom of the pie. Also sprinkled some sweetened coconut of the pie before it cooled. Kids loved it and each had two pieces AFTER dinner. Will definitively make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      My husband has been asking for a banana cream pie like his Grandmother used to make, so I picked this one. Very good! The flavor and texture was right on. The only problem I had was, the custard just sat on top of the bananas. Next time (and there will be a next time!), I'll fold the bananas into the custard mixture, then pour into the pie shell. Maybe I'll add just a touch more milk, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Delish! Only problem I had was burning on the bottom of the pan - but it tasted great and was easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.8
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    39%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 104.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 331.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 32.3 g
    129%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes