170 Reviews

I made this as a surprise for my husband. This pie tasted so great. Rich and creamy filling. Very easy and I topped with Cool Whip because I didn't have time to whip any cream. I am sure that would make it even better. Outstanding :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust September 12, 2002

YUM!!! I was a little worried because I messed up and had the order of things got messed up. I ended up having to do the second cook time WITH the vanilla, bananas and butter. The bananas kind of cooked away into it. I was mainly worried it wouldn't set up and just be a puddle of pie when I served it. But I went with it, poured it into a graham cracker crust and stuck it in the fridge. went back a couple hours later and it set up nicely!! It was so delicious! Perfect with whipped cream. Yay, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyluvs2cook March 16, 2016

This pie was very good but I thought the pudding mix was a little to thick. It didn`t mix with the sliced banana`s very well. Maybe if you pour some of the pudding mix into the pie shell first before you add the sliced banana`s then pour the rest over the banana`s. It held up well in the frig for a couple of days. Very taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan C. February 14, 2015

Great recipe! I used gram cracker crust, an extra banana and a little more vanilla and the pie was fantastic. I am confident that when made as written the pie would be just as good. I made it for a dinner party and got rave reviews. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita December 26, 2014

This pie filling is amazing! As someone who had never made a cream pie from scratch before, I was a bit hesitant to give this a try, but I found the recipe to be very easy to follow. The suggestions given by mamadelogan were very helpful. Thanks for posting your tips. My stepson is a very discriminating banana cream pie consumer, and he loved it. I also recently served this pie filling at a party, and everyone raved about it. This recipe is definitely a keeper, and we will be making it frequently at our house. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yaelanchoo December 18, 2014

I made this pie tonight and it was the BEST!! I topped it with chocolate whipped cream and it was one of my family's favorite desserts ever! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MajorMuncheez December 03, 2014

This is a follow up after tasting the entire pie. My family thought this was fantastic! I wouldn't change anything about this recipe and I will surely be making this again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!<br/><br/>Although I haven't tasted the entire completed recipe I am very pleased with the simplicity of having a homemade pie recipe at my fingertips. The directions were very clear and it only took about 10 minutes from start to finish to have this pie in the refrigerator setting for Thanksgiving tomorrow! My children and I tasted what was remaining in the pan once I finished filling the pie crust and it was AWESOME! My children were all disappointed that they would have to wait to taste the entire pie until after Thanksgiving dinner. The only change that I made was by using a graham cracker crust in place of a regular pie crust only because I couldn't quite recall the recipe when shopping. I will return to review once we have tasted the completed pie to add any additional remarks or changes that I would make in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcia~H December 01, 2014

i am going to try to make this this weekend :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velma M. November 10, 2014

Delicious! The custard was perfection and so simple to make. I used a premade graham crust to make life easy. But it was delicious anyway and I will make again. Great easy go to dessert. I always have these items on hand!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mish1nyc August 04, 2014

I made this by following the exact recipe and it came out amazing! The only difference is I coated the bottom of the pie shell with nutella and put banana pieces over that (only needed two bananas), and then poured the vanilla filling over it. Although it was a bit on the sweet side, my family could not stop raving about it! Thank you for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginashas25 June 12, 2014
Granny's Banana Cream Pie