169 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and very easy to make. It was the first time i cook or eat banana pie and all the family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesa de fresa January 03, 2014

This was my first time making pie and it turned out amazing. Was such a hit I've already been asked to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dopeyswood December 09, 2013

I've always wanted to make a Banana Cream Pie so I broke one of my own rules.....I made a dessert for the 'first time' (before testing it on my family first - lol) to bring to Thanksgiving dinner and am I ever glad I choose this one. With so many 5* reviews I knew it had to be fantastic..and it was. It was so delicious and creamy smooth, and so easy to put together. Because I was bringing it somewhere I didn't want the cream to weep so I topped it with my recipe for 'stabilized' whipped cream, #340006. Thank you so much for sharing your Granny's recipe.

Edited to say: I just now realized I never added a star rating. 5-stars for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi July 30, 2011

My family loved this! Yaaaaay! *I used Keebler's Graham cracker ready-crust. As for the bananas, I used the ones on the riper end but still firm--so the pie tastes more banana-ish.* All in all, GREAT Recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arashijing November 21, 2008

Absolutely delicious! Even my son, the super-picky non-sweet eater, liked this one! The only regret I have is that I'm out of bananas and can't make it again until I've made a trip to the grocery store! I'll admit that I used a cookie crust instead of a regular crust because I had some shortbread cookies I wanted to use before they went completely stale. However, I don't think it took anything away from the recipe and I'll look forward to following the recipe to a "T" very soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaM-M September 07, 2006

Made this for a work luncheon last week, then again for Easter. Got rave reviews. Did even have a sliver to bring home. Will definitely keep this one. Very easy, but Yummy!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhgolden April 16, 2004

Well it seems that my cooking partner in crime posted her review before I could post mine. Yes I told her that she MUST make this pie!It deserves more than five stars for sure. My DH was very happy with this pie. Happy Hubby means no griping!:):):)All kidding aside this is a wonderful pie which is restaurant quality all the way. Thank you so much! PeggyLynn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn March 31, 2004

I have never eaten banana cream pie before, let alone made it but I found this really easy and delicious. I made it with a friend who I am teaching to cook and he also found it really easy. I loved the taste and texture of the 'cream' layer. I used a graham cracker pie crust which added some additional flavour. Thanks for another winner NurseDi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl January 19, 2004

This is wonderful stuff. Wow, I can't believe I made this pie and it turned out so well. My family is pretty amazed, too. Believe me folks, if I can make this pie, anybody can. Banana cream pie has been a favorite since I was a tot. I usually buy one from a local diner when I get a craving. Now I can make them myself and the taste is even better. The cream filling was luscious and dreamy. Not all that hard to make, just have to stir a lot. I used real whipped cream and it was heaven. Thank-you for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithB25 August 27, 2003

Awesome recipe, definitely better with homemade whipped cream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
triangels July 31, 2003
Granny's Banana Cream Pie