Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Banana Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    163 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 163

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      I made this as a surprise for my husband. This pie tasted so great. Rich and creamy filling. Very easy and I topped with Cool Whip because I didn't have time to whip any cream. I am sure that would make it even better. Outstanding :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2014

      I made this by following the exact recipe and it came out amazing! The only difference is I coated the bottom of the pie shell with nutella and put banana pieces over that (only needed two bananas), and then poured the vanilla filling over it. Although it was a bit on the sweet side, my family could not stop raving about it! Thank you for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      I was looking for a fun, simple dessert to make using what I had on hand and this recipe popped up. It came together so quick, the the filling was creamy and delicious, a great way to top off a meal. I'm looking forward to making it again using a graham cracker crust. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Thank you for this recipe. I have made this manyyyy times and each time, it's perfect. It's such an easy-to-follow recipe and quite delicious! Thank you so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      This pie filling is amazing! As someone who had never made a cream pie from scratch before, I was a bit hesitant to give this a try, but I found the recipe to be very easy to follow. The suggestions given by mamadelogan were very helpful. Thanks for posting your tips. : ) My stepson is a very discriminating banana cream pie consumer, and he loved it. This recipe is definitely a keeper, and we will definitely be making it frequently at our house. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Really good. I wish I would have read the reviews thoroughly first because one of the reviewers said to mix the bananas into the custard and I think I would have done that. That would have been the only change I would have made. Otherwise, excellento!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      I cant vouch for results, since I couldn't eat it, but my mom said the plain custard was great, but became too sweet once with bananas. We did use very ripe bananas though. My dad said "5 stars!" but he is easy to please ;)<br/><br/>For the milk, I used 1 cup of half and half, and 1 cup of 1% milk. A suggestion was to use full cream next time to it richer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      I really liked this recipe. Was simple, used less ingredients than some of the others I was looking at and was very very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I just made this pie and it turned out great, I followed the recipe exactly. I used 2% milk because that was all I had but it worked. Now I'm waiting on my whipped topping to get here lol. I also used very ripe banana's and my homemade vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      YUM! So easy and so delicious you almost don't need the pastry! One of the best banana cream pies I have eaten and I've worked my way through a few!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      This is very easy to make and it tastes great! My four-year-old and I had a blast making this banana creme pie and will definitely be using this recipe again in the future. As some others did, we used a graham cracker crust. I think we might be trying with a deep dish next time, and I would definitely recommend a tub of Cool Whip instead of a canned alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I'll be adding this pie to our Thanksgiving & Christmas meals from now on! It received rave reviews from everyone; it's very creamy & delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This was my first time making banana cream pie and it turned out wonderful. The directions are nearly fool-proof and the finished product was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      I've made many banana cream pies in my life and I have to admit this one was the best I have ever had. I think the sugar makes the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      Delicious and easy as pie!!! Really!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I've made this recipe twice now, I love how simple it is and how tasty it is! The second time I decided to leave out the bananas so I could save the leftover and not have the banana's turn brown on me. I also decided to add a thin layer of caramel between the base and the cream to make it more like a banoffee pie. The results were fantastic! I served with freshly whipped cream and some sliced banana. This is a recipe I will use over and over again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

    • on January 04, 2012

      I made it today,and Although i havn't had a full slice yet,from what i did have it was very good! The only problem i had,and it may have been my fault was the filling was a little runny. But like i said,it may have been me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Delicious! This pie was so easy to make with items that I almost always have on hand. My husband and son could hardly wait to dig in. It reminds me of banana pudding in a pie shell! Great for the summer months, but we made this on New Year's Eve, when I realized that I didn't have a desert for our dinner. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This has a nice flavor and texture but we'll have to make some tweaks for the next time. Maybe it's just us or because I doubled the filling but I stood at the stove for at least 30 minutes waiting on the cream mix to thicken up. Even still it was a little runny when we cut the pie so next time I'll either reduce the milk or increase the flour. I think I'll also mash a banana into the cream mix or add some banana extract. Also, I have a very sweet tooth but this was even a little too sweet for me so next time I'll reduce the sugar by a third. I topped ours with whipped topping and toasted coconut. Our company enjoyed it and we'll make it again with some adjustments. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 417.5
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    35%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 104.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 295.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites