Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny's Banana Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    167 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 167

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      Wonderful!!! This pie filling will stand up to any I have ever tasted! Very easy to follow directions. I used bananas that were pretty ripe, so I only used two of them. The filling is very creamy, great homemade taste. I made whipped cream using heavy cream. It was fantastic!! This goes into my keepers file! Thanks NurseDi!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      The second top rated banana cream pie recipe is almost exactly the same but the amount of milk in the other recipe calls for 3 cups of milk were this recipe calls for 2. I have made both recipe and find that using 2 cups of milk instead of 3 taste and firms up better.This recipe is basic yet so delicate. If you don't cook the cream long enough its a soupy mess but if you cook it too long the cream is to stiff. This is were one has to use your cooking intuition but for those that are not there yet I found that cooking the mixture over medium heat stirring constantly for 9-10 minutes then proceeding with step 3 made a perfect filling. I hope this helps. Oh and of course whole milk works best (its a cream pie). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Can I make my review for more than 5 stars? Yummy. This was an amazing pie and I don't usually eat nor make banana cream pie. I always go for the chocolate ones first. :-) But the suggestion from Peggy Lynn (very heavily, I might add) was made for me to try it and boy am I glad that I did. The only changes that I made and it is only because of personal preference was to use half and half instead of milk, use a deep dish pie crust, double the recipe and make it in layers. Banana layer, cream layer, banana layer and finally cream layer. Then of course the whipped cream. (Can't forget the whipped cream) Oh my goodness. How rich and creamy this was. My husband couldn't wait to try it and it was still warm in the center but he didn't care and I must say that it didn't matter to me either. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe. It is one that I will make many many times. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I've made this pie a couple of times now. It goes together nicely, however I found the mixture a little too thick to just pour over the bananas. I didn't want gaps between the bananas so I mixed them in to custard and then poured mixture into pie crust. Nice Pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      This is my husband's favorite pie and since it was Father's Day, I made it for him. He was very surprised and delighted. The cream filling was as good as any I have tried. I even whipped real cream for the topping. The directions were easy to follow and I wouldn't change anything. This one goes down in our top 10 favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      I have been using this same recipe since I started making banana cream pie forever ago! I always top mine with sweetened whipped cream. It is also delicious to use a baked graham cracker crust instead of the pie crust. So nice to see people love this as much as my family does. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Tastes great, thickened up better than other recipes I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This pie is excellent! So creamy and delicious. It just takes minutes to make. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      Wow! This was wonderful! I haven't made a cream pie in years, but when I found out Banana cream was my uncle's favorite and they were coming to town for Thanksgiving, I decided that i'd be making one for dessert. A couple weeks or so before the holiday I, my husband and our son went out for breakfast. We ended up bringing home a Marie Callendar's Banana Cream pie to test out and compare to this recipe. Well, forget it! This recipe blew it right out of the water! Not only was it easy (with the exception of an hour of constant stirring; i just pulled up a chair), but you just can't beat the fresh, homemade taste. Everyone raved about it! Thank you for this bananariffic keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      YUMMMMMMMY. This is so fantastic. Nothing better than made from scatch banana cream pie. The pudding mix versions can't hold a candle to this. So very creamy and luscious. I topped with real whipped cream. Heavenly. Thanks for a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Delicious and very easy to make. It was the first time i cook or eat banana pie and all the family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      This was my first time making pie and it turned out amazing. Was such a hit I've already been asked to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      I've always wanted to make a Banana Cream Pie so I broke one of my own rules.....I made a dessert for the 'first time' (before testing it on my family first - lol) to bring to Thanksgiving dinner and am I ever glad I choose this one. With so many 5* reviews I knew it had to be fantastic..and it was. It was so delicious and creamy smooth, and so easy to put together. Because I was bringing it somewhere I didn't want the cream to weep so I topped it with my recipe for 'stabilized' whipped cream, #340006. Thank you so much for sharing your Granny's recipe.

      Edited to say: I just now realized I never added a star rating. 5-stars for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      My family loved this! Yaaaaay! *I used Keebler's Graham cracker ready-crust. As for the bananas, I used the ones on the riper end but still firm--so the pie tastes more banana-ish.* All in all, GREAT Recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! Even my son, the super-picky non-sweet eater, liked this one! The only regret I have is that I'm out of bananas and can't make it again until I've made a trip to the grocery store! I'll admit that I used a cookie crust instead of a regular crust because I had some shortbread cookies I wanted to use before they went completely stale. However, I don't think it took anything away from the recipe and I'll look forward to following the recipe to a "T" very soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      Made this for a work luncheon last week, then again for Easter. Got rave reviews. Did even have a sliver to bring home. Will definitely keep this one. Very easy, but Yummy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      Well it seems that my cooking partner in crime posted her review before I could post mine. Yes I told her that she MUST make this pie!It deserves more than five stars for sure. My DH was very happy with this pie. Happy Hubby means no griping!:):):)All kidding aside this is a wonderful pie which is restaurant quality all the way. Thank you so much! PeggyLynn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      I have never eaten banana cream pie before, let alone made it but I found this really easy and delicious. I made it with a friend who I am teaching to cook and he also found it really easy. I loved the taste and texture of the 'cream' layer. I used a graham cracker pie crust which added some additional flavour. Thanks for another winner NurseDi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      This is wonderful stuff. Wow, I can't believe I made this pie and it turned out so well. My family is pretty amazed, too. Believe me folks, if I can make this pie, anybody can. Banana cream pie has been a favorite since I was a tot. I usually buy one from a local diner when I get a craving. Now I can make them myself and the taste is even better. The cream filling was luscious and dreamy. Not all that hard to make, just have to stir a lot. I used real whipped cream and it was heaven. Thank-you for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      Awesome recipe, definitely better with homemade whipped cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Banana Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.8
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    39%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 104.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 331.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 32.3 g
    129%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes