169 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful!!! This pie filling will stand up to any I have ever tasted! Very easy to follow directions. I used bananas that were pretty ripe, so I only used two of them. The filling is very creamy, great homemade taste. I made whipped cream using heavy cream. It was fantastic!! This goes into my keepers file! Thanks NurseDi!!!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 12, 2002

The second top rated banana cream pie recipe is almost exactly the same but the amount of milk in the other recipe calls for 3 cups of milk were this recipe calls for 2. I have made both recipe and find that using 2 cups of milk instead of 3 taste and firms up better.This recipe is basic yet so delicate. If you don't cook the cream long enough its a soupy mess but if you cook it too long the cream is to stiff. This is were one has to use your cooking intuition but for those that are not there yet I found that cooking the mixture over medium heat stirring constantly for 9-10 minutes then proceeding with step 3 made a perfect filling. I hope this helps. Oh and of course whole milk works best (its a cream pie). Thanks for posting!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan October 02, 2009

Can I make my review for more than 5 stars? Yummy. This was an amazing pie and I don't usually eat nor make banana cream pie. I always go for the chocolate ones first. :-) But the suggestion from Peggy Lynn (very heavily, I might add) was made for me to try it and boy am I glad that I did. The only changes that I made and it is only because of personal preference was to use half and half instead of milk, use a deep dish pie crust, double the recipe and make it in layers. Banana layer, cream layer, banana layer and finally cream layer. Then of course the whipped cream. (Can't forget the whipped cream) Oh my goodness. How rich and creamy this was. My husband couldn't wait to try it and it was still warm in the center but he didn't care and I must say that it didn't matter to me either. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe. It is one that I will make many many times. :-)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MssAditood March 30, 2004

I have been using this same recipe since I started making banana cream pie forever ago! I always top mine with sweetened whipped cream. It is also delicious to use a baked graham cracker crust instead of the pie crust. So nice to see people love this as much as my family does. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livie August 27, 2010

I've made this pie a couple of times now. It goes together nicely, however I found the mixture a little too thick to just pour over the bananas. I didn't want gaps between the bananas so I mixed them in to custard and then poured mixture into pie crust. Nice Pie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W August 02, 2006

This is my husband's favorite pie and since it was Father's Day, I made it for him. He was very surprised and delighted. The cream filling was as good as any I have tried. I even whipped real cream for the topping. The directions were easy to follow and I wouldn't change anything. This one goes down in our top 10 favorites.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annalisa June 15, 2003

Tastes great, thickened up better than other recipes I've tried.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joe.couture July 04, 2010

This pie is excellent! So creamy and delicious. It just takes minutes to make. Thanks for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn July 03, 2010

Wow! This was wonderful! I haven't made a cream pie in years, but when I found out Banana cream was my uncle's favorite and they were coming to town for Thanksgiving, I decided that i'd be making one for dessert. A couple weeks or so before the holiday I, my husband and our son went out for breakfast. We ended up bringing home a Marie Callendar's Banana Cream pie to test out and compare to this recipe. Well, forget it! This recipe blew it right out of the water! Not only was it easy (with the exception of an hour of constant stirring; i just pulled up a chair), but you just can't beat the fresh, homemade taste. Everyone raved about it! Thank you for this bananariffic keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** December 14, 2002

YUMMMMMMMY. This is so fantastic. Nothing better than made from scatch banana cream pie. The pudding mix versions can't hold a candle to this. So very creamy and luscious. I topped with real whipped cream. Heavenly. Thanks for a real treat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower July 11, 2002
Granny's Banana Cream Pie