Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Granny Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2014

      Yummyyyyyyy! This was the best cake ever. Very moist and sweet. I did follow the directions, but I didn't add all the syrup and it was still very moist. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      OH my sweet goodness....how moist and wonderful....only thing we added was vanilla bean ice cream one night, and whipped cream the next. Strictly testing of course! Right! My first bite brought immediately to mind, Pineapple Upside Down Cake. And how much easier. This is a "pick-at-it-cake", I pick at it everytime I go by it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      YUMMY! This recipe is wonderful. I did cut the sugar in the icing back to 1/2 cup but made as directed otherwise. This cake is so moist. Took it to work to share so I wouldn't eat it all. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I plan on making it again this weekend for a church dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Very nice recipe. It actually reminded me a lot of Tres Leches, with the consistency of it and a bit of the taste. It went over very well at a BBQ. Thanks for a nice recipe that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This cake is amazing. So moist and delicious, and it is really a breeze to make. Did I mention it tastes really, really good too! I have to limit myself on it, cause I could eat the whole thing. Wonderful recipe Bobtail, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Like the others, this came out amazing! Hubby didn't know what to think at first, until he took a bite of it and said it was the best cake ever! The only thing that confused me about the recipe was if I was to use 1 cup of pineapple WITH the juice or without the juice. My batter mixture seemed a bit dry to I put most of the pineapple juice in it, and it turned out wonderful. My suggestion is to add most of the pineapple juice as well as the pineapple. I followed this recipe as it was and it turned out fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe as it is easy and quite delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      This cake was so good! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This was very good, very easy, very moist and very sweet. I think a couple of the reviews recommend cutting the brown sugar sprinkled over with the nuts and I will do that next time. The sauce that is poured over the top is perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Absolutely to die for! I love moist cakes and this was perfect. Very sweet.....if you want to cut back on the sweetness I'd omit the brown sugar sprinkled on top, but I loved it as it. My sweet tooth thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      Melt in your mouth wonderful! Hubby just raved too. WILL MAKE AGAIN! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      OMG! This is the naughtiest cake I ever tasted! It's more of a "pudding" than a cake as so sticky, moist & sweet!<br/>What a treat but you can feel the calories just piling on each mouthful you eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Sinfully good. This was easy to make and beyond delicious. I don't have much of,a sweet tooth but this cake is one I can't stay away from. It was easy to make too! Next time I may halve the recipe as it makes a big cake for just two people.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2014

      This cake is DELICIOUS! I made it exactly as written except that I made it at a Dutch Oven Gathering baking it in a Dutch Oven over coals. The bottom got a little bit burnt but the sauce made up for the shortcomings!. Definitely put that sauce on top! I got compliments galore on this cake. Don't cut back on anything! Oh, and do not drain the pineapple juice. I don't know that you need the brown sugar sprinkled on the top but the nuts are a definite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      AMAZING! So easy to make and absolutely addictive. Especially good warmed with ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      I thought that this was good I used 1 can of pineapple chunks 1/2 the juice- ( next time i will use 2 cans of pineapple chunks and 1 can of juice) and I added about 2 Tbsp of Milk to the batter since it was dry, and I didn't have any nuts but I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on top of the unbaked cake and only used half of the milk glaze on top of the hot cooked cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      Mixed reviews on this. My husband and I both said this is too wet for us. It does taste like Tres Leche. We are not found of that either. Some family members liked it. I did it as a poke cake so all the liquid would seep in. I wouldn't make it again because of the amount of sugar and butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      This is what my family calls a Fruit Cocktail cake as we use a can of (of course) fruit cocktail rather than just the pineapple. Has always been a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.8
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    30%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 57.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 483.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 57.2 g
    228%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes