18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY! This recipe is wonderful. I did cut the sugar in the icing back to 1/2 cup but made as directed otherwise. This cake is so moist. Took it to work to share so I wouldn't eat it all. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I plan on making it again this weekend for a church dinner.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods October 20, 2008

Yummyyyyyyy! This was the best cake ever. Very moist and sweet. I did follow the directions, but I didn't add all the syrup and it was still very moist. This is a keeper.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Karen #3 January 08, 2014

OH my sweet goodness....how moist and wonderful....only thing we added was vanilla bean ice cream one night, and whipped cream the next. Strictly testing of course! Right! My first bite brought immediately to mind, Pineapple Upside Down Cake. And how much easier. This is a "pick-at-it-cake", I pick at it everytime I go by it.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 February 26, 2009

Very nice recipe. It actually reminded me a lot of Tres Leches, with the consistency of it and a bit of the taste. It went over very well at a BBQ. Thanks for a nice recipe that I will make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SargesMom October 01, 2008

This cake is amazing. So moist and delicious, and it is really a breeze to make. Did I mention it tastes really, really good too! I have to limit myself on it, cause I could eat the whole thing. Wonderful recipe Bobtail, thank you for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula August 30, 2008

Like the others, this came out amazing! Hubby didn't know what to think at first, until he took a bite of it and said it was the best cake ever! The only thing that confused me about the recipe was if I was to use 1 cup of pineapple WITH the juice or without the juice. My batter mixture seemed a bit dry to I put most of the pineapple juice in it, and it turned out wonderful. My suggestion is to add most of the pineapple juice as well as the pineapple. I followed this recipe as it was and it turned out fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe as it is easy and quite delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quasarsttarr March 07, 2014

This cake was so good! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfect.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manyminimes June 27, 2013

This was very good, very easy, very moist and very sweet. I think a couple of the reviews recommend cutting the brown sugar sprinkled over with the nuts and I will do that next time. The sauce that is poured over the top is perfect. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cdubs September 11, 2011

Absolutely to die for! I love moist cakes and this was perfect. Very sweet.....if you want to cut back on the sweetness I'd omit the brown sugar sprinkled on top, but I loved it as it. My sweet tooth thanks you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat September 06, 2008

Melt in your mouth wonderful! Hubby just raved too. WILL MAKE AGAIN! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne March 31, 2014
Granny Cake