19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bless yer Grandpa's memory! This is just a savory delight! I gilded the lily by sauteing the onion and garlic with very lean chopped bacon (about 6 oz.), using Bell's Seasoning for the thyme and sage, adding a half cup of white wine, and tossing in a diced apple (apples, onions, garlic, and potatoes all home-grown)...
This is an outrageously good recipe - thank you, thank you, thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Ma October 06, 2012

My husband loves kielbasa-I on the other hand do not care much for it...I tried this recipe for him and not only did he rave about it so did I. It was very easy to prepare and I love that I could put it together and throw it in the oven and go for swim and so on while our dinner was cooking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisaash2012 July 06, 2012

I've used this recipe several times and love it. I don't add the potatoes though since I make this with potato pancackes. This is now my go to kielbasa recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieA1231 March 20, 2012

This is an excellent dish. My family devoured it. I added a couple of carrots cut about 1/2 inch to 1 inch thick and they added nice color and flavor. I used 1/2 tsp. dried sage leaves instead of ground sage and that turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulainalbuquerque March 18, 2012

Making it for a party today. Wonderful taste. I remember my Grandmother adding a chopped apple so I added that to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lkkalj_9206409 February 04, 2012

Best sauerkraut recipe ever!! I used sweet onions and Bavarian sauerkraut with White Lady potatoes. I also put half a jar of real bacon bits, from the salad toppings section of the grocery. You don't have to wonder what to do with the leftovers, there won't be any.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arbajeda October 11, 2011

This recipe is amazing! I didn't have sage so I used marjoram. Even the next day it was wonderful! I wish I could give it 10 stars, I will be keeping this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lafaust January 14, 2010

This is an awesome recipe!!! I'm making it again today and my husband and kids cant wait for dinner!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tryan920 July 03, 2009

I made this last night and followed the recipe but used a crock pot rather than the oven. It was delicious! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellen.brace June 06, 2009

This washould incredible. Even my boyfriend, who was not thrilled when hearing about what was for dinner, got seconds and is taking the rest for lunch tomorrow. I used red potatoes (what I had on hand) and turned the ovenight up to 325 to cut down on cooking time (took about 1 hrs 45 min). Keeping this recipe around!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sahawkin11 January 06, 2015
Grandpa's Sauerkraut and Kielbasa