Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandpa's Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandpa's Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2012

      Bless yer Grandpa's memory! This is just a savory delight! I gilded the lily by sauteing the onion and garlic with very lean chopped bacon (about 6 oz.), using Bell's Seasoning for the thyme and sage, adding a half cup of white wine, and tossing in a diced apple (apples, onions, garlic, and potatoes all home-grown)...
      This is an outrageously good recipe - thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      My husband loves kielbasa-I on the other hand do not care much for it...I tried this recipe for him and not only did he rave about it so did I. It was very easy to prepare and I love that I could put it together and throw it in the oven and go for swim and so on while our dinner was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I've used this recipe several times and love it. I don't add the potatoes though since I make this with potato pancackes. This is now my go to kielbasa recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This is an excellent dish. My family devoured it. I added a couple of carrots cut about 1/2 inch to 1 inch thick and they added nice color and flavor. I used 1/2 tsp. dried sage leaves instead of ground sage and that turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Making it for a party today. Wonderful taste. I remember my Grandmother adding a chopped apple so I added that to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      Best sauerkraut recipe ever!! I used sweet onions and Bavarian sauerkraut with White Lady potatoes. I also put half a jar of real bacon bits, from the salad toppings section of the grocery. You don't have to wonder what to do with the leftovers, there won't be any.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This recipe is amazing! I didn't have sage so I used marjoram. Even the next day it was wonderful! I wish I could give it 10 stars, I will be keeping this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This is an awesome recipe!!! I'm making it again today and my husband and kids cant wait for dinner!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      I made this last night and followed the recipe but used a crock pot rather than the oven. It was delicious! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I really wanted to like this recipe. It has an odd taste to me and I think it is the sage and thyme. If i made this again , I would leave those two herbs out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      This dish was WONDERFUL. Gotta love those one pot, fix it and forget it meals.Followed the recipe exactly except for the potatoes. All I had were small russets so I just halved them and they held up just fine. Since we are all kielbasa and kraut lovers, this will definitely be amoung the monthly rotations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Very good. The only thing I would do differently, as lkkalj suggested, is to add some chopped apple or apple juice. Other than that, I would definitely follow the recipe. This was an easy, delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Yum. This is really simple and so tasty. I made 2 single servings - one for me with the sauerkraut and one for my grandson without the sauerkraut. Both were delish. Thanks for sharing this nice keeper. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Very tasty, No potatoes here, used some turkey bacon, and turkey kielbasa and threw in an apple, Whole new level in taste. Yup, its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      One of the many dishes offered at our family gathering so when you come, don't forget to wear your 'buffet' pants...or your mu mu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      As soon as I saw the pic I wanted to follow this recipe. Presentation is big part of luring fun cooks to try this recipe. My mouth watered as I added the final ingredients. I added a tad bit of olive oil on top of dish so kielbasa could brown nicely. I only had russet potatoes, so I added them later so they stayed nice and firm. I noticed that the butter and simmering of onions, help cut the sourness from sauerkraut. I give this an excellent review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I made this last night for supper and it was a BIG HIT! I did change it a mite, tho. I fried one piece of bacon and added it; I used a little of the bacon grease to brown my turkey sausage in before adding it. I omitted potatoes because I did't have anything but red ones, so I made a kinda German potato salad to go with it. I also made corn muffins. I did cook it the allotted amt. of time and had what was left for lunch today. Even better the second day. Thanks again for a keeper. It was a great change for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      This is a good old fashione Sauerkraut & smoked sausage recipe. I was concerned about the 3 hours at 225F but I did it -no problem- it mellowed all the flavors. I used a cajun spicy sausage.Loved the recipe thanks Twitterpatted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandpa's Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

    Serving Size: 1 (448 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.7
     
    Calories from Fat 387
    62%
    Total Fat 43.0 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 139.4 mg
    46%
    Sodium 2345.9 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes