Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandpa's Hungarian Kolacky Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandpa's Hungarian Kolacky

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2005

      My great-grandmother is Slovakian and used the exact same receipe. The only thing I have to add is that the Prune Solo filling is a must try! It can be hard to find in the market, so everytime I see a can, I buy it. Also, a quick tip to get the fruit filling easily onto the cookie -- use a frosting decorator (bismarck tip). My mom and I tried this last Christmas and it cut the prep time in half... plus we didn't get sticky fingers from the filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Hi Jenna Marie, I have been looking and looking for this recipe for quite sometime. I was so happy to find this one as your grandpa being right from Hungary had the exact recipe I had been wanting!! My husband and I made this recipe back in the 60's and from time to time however, we lost it and hadn't made it in all those years. You just don't know how happy you have made the both of us especially since we made up and batch yesterday and made them today!! Yummy!Yummy!! Just like it was 1960 again and we were just starting out together again!!! :) Thank You so very much for make us such a happy twosome for the upcoming holidays!!!!! Through You, your Grandpa is still touching others in a special way! Have a Blessed Thanksgiving and a Merry Christmas!! Dolores

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Thank you Jenna Marie!! I remember making these cookies in the '60's-'80's! My mother (an avid cookbook reader and great cook herself) gave the ethnic church cookbook to my brother years ago. I am having them all, over to my house this year for Christmas. And I have been DESPERATELY trying to find the recipe. I feel like I hit the lottery! We made these cookies every Christmas when I was growing up. The only difference is that we would roll the dough to silver dollar sized and put the filling inside the center and then roll it closed like you are rolling a sausage. I never saw them made "flat." And you do have to be careful that you don't lump all the filling in the middle before you roll it closed. My mother also would take the dough from the first step and roll the dough into 4(?)sausage- like 1-foot "logs" before she put them in the refrigerator. This way, after they set overnight, you just slice off 3/4" pieces so that you have uniformity, and some sort of portion control. These are the most AMAZING cookies I have every tried (and it brings back wonderful childhood memories), they are always gone in a FLASH at our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Wonderful Kolacky recipe! Thanks so much for posting. I doubled the recipe and filled half with cherry filling and half with almond filling. I made 27 varieties of cookies and candies for Xmas and this was the hands down favorite! I used a 2-inch cutter and got about 65-70 cookies out of each batch. I used a baby spoon for filling and then pinched two sides together to meet in the middle instead of leaving them flat...this is the way my grandmother and mother always made them. I needed just about an 8 ounce jar of filling for each batch, but I'm sure this is because I don't use as much. If I use a teaspoonful, it oozes out all over. I did try a couple flat, as your recipe suggests with the full teaspoon of filling and they were delicious and rich...for serving immediately this is wonderful but for using on cookie trays I don't think they would work...the "pinched" ones are easier to stack :). Thanks again for posting...this will be my Kolacky recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I grew up eating these cookies every year, as my grandmother would make them. When I got older she taught me how to make them but I've lost her recipe. She used prune and apricot filling and she also would add finely chopped walnuts to the filling. She used a shot glass to cut out the circles and she rolled the dough in powdered sugar as well. She passed away this July and I have been looking forward to making them for my family this Christmas in her honor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

    • on January 13, 2010

      My husband has childhood memories of Kolackys so I was excited to try this recipe. He said they were nothing like grandma made so I'm still searching. Perhaps there is a difference between Polish/Czech Kolacky and Hungarian Kolackys? Since I had nothing to compare it to, I judged it on its own merits and I thought the cookies were very bland and not worth the effort to make them. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      These cookies tasted just like the ones my grandma used to make. I used SOLO brand Apricot and Raspberry fillings which worked GREAT and did not run. I also used powered sugar to roll out the dough as suggested by other posters. I baked the cookies on parchment paper, which worked well (although the SOLO filling didn't spill out of the cookies at all!). Overall, I was VERY pleased with this recipe, and I will be using it again in the future, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These came out well, and it was my first time making them. I was a little more impatient than everyone else, it seems, because I didn't want to refrigerate for 24 hours! I froze them for about 2 hours, then nuked each ball in the mic' for 30 seconds on power level 3. I used neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese. I used apricot preserves as well as blackberry preserves. I also used a baby spoon as someone else had suggested, and the powdered sugar for rolling them out as someone else suggested also. The blackberry preserves made a mess on my baking sheet while they were baking. The Apricot almost didn't spill over at all because it was a thicker preserve (I used dickinson's brand for both preserves). It is likely I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Wonderful! Almost more like a pastry than a cookie. I used strawberry and poppy seed filling. I didn't care much for the poppy seed filling- but that was just my personal taste. I will be making these again- with many different types of filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Yummy! After I rolled the dough, I cut it into 2" strips, put filling down the center, pinched the top, and cut into 1" pieces. They needed a few extra minutes while baking. Everyone loved them! I used one entire can of SOLO filling (apricot). Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      reaaally good, these kolacky! I made half batch after freezing the dough for 1 day and used apricot preserves and also blackcurrent+apple jam. AWESOME! cept i had to experiment with the amount cause they were all oozing out in the oven all over the tray. VERY LITTLE Ammount needed!! ;-) then i made the second batch 2, 3 days after (having left the other 2 balls of dough in the fridge). the dough was actually nicer to work with, and i was able to roll them up to look like those..butterhorn things. again, very little jam needed. for sure will be making these again! By the way, these kolacky got DEVOURED ;D thanks for sharing the recipe! easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      My exact recipe and I have a hint of my own to add to help others. I roll my chilled dough balls out on powdered sugar rather than flour as the flour can make the pastry too dry, less flaky. I roll out dough balls in a circle (work quickly), cut up into 10 pie shaped wedges, cover with the filling and roll like a crescent. Then I bake them and sift powdered sugar over the tops. Easily our Christmas favorite, we love the solo almond filling, and raspberry filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      This is the EXACT recipe my Polish paternal grandmother used as well! (Ironically my maternal grandfater was Hungarian....) I made a bunch of these for a wedding, with a slight variation: I used cookie cutters in the shape of a heart. Then, instead of filling and rolling, I copied ANOTHER type of cookie Grandma made, and made an indentation in the center and put some jam in it--yum yum! They were light, flaky, and a HUGE hit! My recipes are MIA right now, so thank you for posting this so I can get the proportions right! ~Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Thank you so much! I remember when I was younger my mom and I spent hours one day rolling out dough and filling squares we had cut out with filling, then rolling them up and baking them. It was so labor intensive she never wanted to do it again, but I fell in love with these cookies! Apricot filling is my favorite! I never thought to look for this recipe again until now, so I'm so grateful you posted your Grandpa's cookie recipe. They are SOOOOO GOOOD! I made them and left for work and when I got back my housemates had eaten almost all of them! =) I made a few mistakes as this was the first time I made them in years, but even with the mistakes they were a big hit! Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandpa's Hungarian Kolacky

    Serving Size: 1 (668 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 48.9
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    70%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 28.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites