Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmother's Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmother's Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2013

      Great Cornbread! I made adjustments based on the pkg size of the boxed mix I used as we often cannot get an exact ingredient (& size) here in Iceland. I used Morrison's 6 oz Texas Style Yellow Cornbread Mix (vs an 8 oz Jiffy Mix). Since the dry mix was 25% smaller, I just used 25% less of the add-in ingredients, did not worry about reducing 2 eggs & used brown sugar as a pers pref. I cut a sml piece for myself as a taste test & froze the rest for a family visit from the U.S. next month. Thx for sharing this yummy recipe w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I've been looking for a dairy-free cornbread recipe for a while - this suits the bill perfectly. Delicious, light, & fluffy - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

    • on December 02, 2008

      Surprisingly YUMMY! Light/fluffy, and a little sweeter than regular plain-old-cornbread. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Good cornbread. I will continue to make your recipe for cornbread and you are right it does hold up with the beans. Delicious.......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is a nice recipe for something embellished and tasty. The ease of using the Jiffy box and just adding a few ingredients that you already have around the house adding that little something extra. I doubled the recipe and baked it in my 9x9 silicone pan. It was ready to take out in just under minutes and was gobbled up by my family of 4. Thank you, this was just what I was looking for this evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      WOW! Made this last night and it is so good. Thanks alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Yum-this was so good and so easy! You would never believe it is a jiffy mix. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      This cornbread is the greatest. I used McIlhenny Spicy mayonnaise and it was fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Wow! What a transformation from Jiffy box to a yummy and moist cornbread. It is a keeper and will be made often! Thanks for the recommendation Parsley72 and Thanks Ellie’s Mom for sharing your recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This cornbread is moist and delicious with just a hint of sweetness.... and simple to make! Great on the side with chili or soup. Thanx for sharing this recipe. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmother's Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.4
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    55%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 76.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 582.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes