Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmother Paul's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmother Paul's Sour Cream Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      MMMM awesomee!!! I used two cups sugar and it was plenty :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This was a good pound cake but not remarkable. I'm glad I reduced the sugar from 3 cups to 2 1/2 otherwise, it would have been too sweet. The texture of the cake was lovely, very moist but it could have been a bit richer and more flavorful. It took longer than the 1 hour 20 minutes. I used a 10" pan and it rose right to the top but never surpassed it to my great relief. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I may tweak it in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Buttery and moist. I only used 2 1/2 cup of sugar and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This makes the absolute perfect pound cake. It's the exact recipe that my mother in law has been using for 40 years or more! I collect bundt pans and this is the perfect recipe for the intricate patterned bundt pans that I have.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This is a super moist and delicious cake. I baked it in the evening to bring to the beach in the morning. We all sat and enjoyed our coffee and pound cake for breakfast ~ it was so nice! I wouldn't change a thing, we loved it plain. Thank you for sharing this recipe Kay :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      This was very easy to make and delicious too! I liked that it wasn't overly sweet and the texture was great. Next time, I'll add some extract as other posters have suggested as the flavor could use just a little extra something. Will definitely make again. Thank you for great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Excellant cake, texture was nice and soft, taste great... I used 1 1/2 cups splenda for baking, next time i'll use 2 cups. Took reviewers advice, added the buttenut extract with the vanilla. Great addition. This is a 5 star recipe.... thanks for posting!!!!!!!! No i'm not bonkers yet... the butternut addition of one tsp. came from PAULA DEENS recipe sight use just 1 1/2 tsps of vanilla extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Made this yesterday and the taste was wonderful, however mine fell right in the middle of my bundt pan. Who knows why, followed the directions as written and ingredients as well. When I inverted it onto the wire rack it looked fine. Got lots of complements. Thanks, I'll try again and see what happens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious and I will make this often. I used egg beaters, light sour cream and almond flavoring and it came out great, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      I made this cake and it was a huge hit!!! Thank you very much for this great recipe, will use again! Is there any variation to make this cake, like to make it with coconut or chocolate chips or a glaze on top? Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      This is very good but not as good as Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This cake is the best pound cake I have ever had. It has great texture and delicious taste. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Made it for a get together at my home. Eveyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I've made this recipe 4 times in the past month. Everyone has given it rave reviews - I add 3/4 cup frozen blueberries to the top before baking and swirl them in the batter with a butter knife - 5 stars to Grandma Paul!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Great poundcake. Loved the texture. I increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This is an amazing recipe! I have a beautiful, tasty, moist cake in front of me! Thanks so much Kay, I'll definitelly be making this often. I reduced the sugar to 2 cups, and found it perfect to my taste, I also added a little maple extract (plus 1 tsp vanilla), yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      I made this cake for a benefit we're attending tonight. I had extra that made 6 cup cakes. After reading some reviews I used 1 tbspn of vanilla but I agree with some other reviewers, cake is good but needs something! Flavor is sort of bland. Not sure what it needs. Maybe additional vanilla or almond extract?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Mmmmm, heavenly dense pound cake! I had some sour cream to use up and really wanted a pound cake so this was the recipe I chose. Super yummy, moist and dense, just like it should be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Very easy and delicious! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmother Paul's Sour Cream Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 774.9
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    37%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 19.1 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 215.4 mg
    71%
    Sodium 359.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.9 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 76.2 g
    304%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites