36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

MMMM awesomee!!! I used two cups sugar and it was plenty :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 May 01, 2010

This was a good pound cake but not remarkable. I'm glad I reduced the sugar from 3 cups to 2 1/2 otherwise, it would have been too sweet. The texture of the cake was lovely, very moist but it could have been a bit richer and more flavorful. It took longer than the 1 hour 20 minutes. I used a 10" pan and it rose right to the top but never surpassed it to my great relief. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I may tweak it in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal February 13, 2010

Buttery and moist. I only used 2 1/2 cup of sugar and it was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB April 25, 2009

This makes the absolute perfect pound cake. It's the exact recipe that my mother in law has been using for 40 years or more! I collect bundt pans and this is the perfect recipe for the intricate patterned bundt pans that I have.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 10, 2008

This is a super moist and delicious cake. I baked it in the evening to bring to the beach in the morning. We all sat and enjoyed our coffee and pound cake for breakfast ~ it was so nice! I wouldn't change a thing, we loved it plain. Thank you for sharing this recipe Kay :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic August 13, 2007

This was very easy to make and delicious too! I liked that it wasn't overly sweet and the texture was great. Next time, I'll add some extract as other posters have suggested as the flavor could use just a little extra something. Will definitely make again. Thank you for great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melandsid May 24, 2007

Excellant cake, texture was nice and soft, taste great... I used 1 1/2 cups splenda for baking, next time i'll use 2 cups. Took reviewers advice, added the buttenut extract with the vanilla. Great addition. This is a 5 star recipe.... thanks for posting!!!!!!!! No i'm not bonkers yet... the butternut addition of one tsp. came from PAULA DEENS recipe sight use just 1 1/2 tsps of vanilla extract.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl May 13, 2007

Made this yesterday and the taste was wonderful, however mine fell right in the middle of my bundt pan. Who knows why, followed the directions as written and ingredients as well. When I inverted it onto the wire rack it looked fine. Got lots of complements. Thanks, I'll try again and see what happens.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn May 06, 2007

This was absolutely delicious and I will make this often. I used egg beaters, light sour cream and almond flavoring and it came out great, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec April 09, 2007

I made this cake and it was a huge hit!!! Thank you very much for this great recipe, will use again! Is there any variation to make this cake, like to make it with coconut or chocolate chips or a glaze on top? Thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yicell October 17, 2012
Grandmother Paul's Sour Cream Pound Cake