Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Sourdough Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Sourdough Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2014

      Amazing and simple recipe, why fix something when it's not broken? I always have sourdough starter bubbling on top of my fridge. So I just had to make these... plus I don't eat pork but I love some biscuits and gravy but know I'll have to make it myself to be sure there's no pork in it, so today was the day! <br/>Tip: After years of cutting cold butter into various recipes for apple pie crust and such, I learned that taking the butter out of the fridge and just using a cheese grater that you can clean easily is the best way to incorporate cold butter into any dough recipe. No "cutting" required. In my 20's it was ok, but now I get sore after that kind of a workout! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Thank you for this excellent recipe! My first batch just came out of the oven and I can't believe how tasty these biscuits are. Another sourdough success story! Instead of all purpose flour, I used white whole wheat flour, but the biscuits still came out light and tender with a nice crispy crust. I let the dough sit for about 30 minutes to allow the sourdough to do its magic before I kneaded it. Give your grandma a kiss for me! :-) Cathy B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      I am eating them straight out of the oven and the texture is delicate and soft. The sourdough flavor is subtle. I followed the recipe to a T and they came out so well I would serve them to guests. I let the last few set for 30 minutes and the sourdough flavor is much stronger. Do this only if you love sourdough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      This recipe is the very best biscuit recipe I have made in my entire life, and I have made more biscuits than you could imagine. I've made them several times to see if it was a fluke that they came out so brilliantly flaky and it wasn't! So I sent the recipe to my mom who also tried them out. Hers came out as beautifully as mine did. I made them exactly as the recipe stated, did not deviate one bit. All I can say is a huge thank you for sharing the biscuit recipe I have been searching for my entire adult life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic, delicious, I don't need another biscuit recipe ever again. Dangerous, though, these never survive through until leftovers, they're gobbled up in no time. I love your grandma!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour, reduced the butter a touch and allowed the biscuits to rest about 15 to 20 minutes before putting in the oven. This recipe made exactly 8 biscuits. Delicious and lightly brown.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      I added some sun-dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, and basil. yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      My family and I didn't like these at all. There is a lot more baking powder in this recipe than in other biscuit recipes I've tried, and I think that may have been why these had such a bitter flavor. I've used my sourdough starter in many other recipes with great success, so I don't believe there's anything wrong with it.<br/><br/>The texture was good, I will say that about these biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      Great biscuits, we love sourdough and this one made for some light, high rising biscuits. That said I did do one thing different, wanted these for breakfast (DH loves biscuits n gravy) but also wanted to give my starter a chance to work - so made them up the day before and then left them in the fridge overnight, this way the butter didn't melt yet the starter had a chance to develop. I was a little nervous but it worked like a charm. This morning just took it out of the fridge, cut out the dough & baked. Perfect; will be using this one again and again. Thanks to you for posting, and thanks to your Grandma for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I have made these a few times now. They are perfect when I have sourdough to use up. The stuff that should be discarded, but I feed it and use it to make these. I have been making them drop biscuit style. A couple times I added shredded cheddar to the dough before dropping them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      I would like to thank the gal that so generously shared her grandma's recipe with us. These biscuits are absolutely the BEST sourdough biscuits I've ever had! THANK YOU!!!!!! <br/>They mix up in just a matter of minutes and are beautiful When they come out of the oven. <br/>Side note: They just passed the "Husband Test", flying colors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      A fantastic recipe for a very flavorful and fluffy biscuit that is easy to make if your in a hurry though I would highly suggest for the maximum sourdough flavor letting it rest for 30 minutes before kneading as others have suggested.<br/><br/>Love them slathered in open kettle fire cooked apple butter or smothered in sausage gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This is recipe has become my go to biscuit recipe. I baked mine in a cast iron Dutch oven on our patio in a wood fire in our chimina. I was looking for a sourdough biscuit recipe to use in a Dutch oven when I am camping. The wood fire gives something to the flavor of the biscuit. This recipe is a real smile generator.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I made these last night to have with my "carbo loading" dinner (running 15 miles today), alongside my super veggie-full spaghetti. They turned out perfect. I got 6 biscuits and the last 3 minutes I topped each with some asiago cheese. Turned out FANTASTIC!

      Will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I used to hate having to throw away a cup of starter every time I "fed" it - now I don't have to! This recipe puts that excess starter to good use, and it produces some of the lightest, fluffiest biscuits I've ever made! Thank you for sharing Grandma's recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Hooray for Grandma, this is a fast and delicious recipe. I tend to make 7 instead of 8 so that they are a little bigger. Warm from the oven with real butter, hard to stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Tasty, delicious, delightful. Reminded me of a cross between a biscuit and a dinner roll. Lovely with a drizzle of honey or alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Oh, my gosh... so easy and quick. I only had 1/4 cup of margarine, so I added a dash of oil as well and these turned out absolutely fine. Better than fine; they were stupendous, nice and hot on the side of a pot of winter pressure-cooker stew. My starter was pretty wet, but if I was using my usual firm starter, it would probably have been too dry, which may explain why some others have said it was dry; sourdough starters can vary considerably in hydration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Is your Grandma Paula Deen? Even with 100% whole wheat flour they were tender and flaky!!! These are the first ww biscuits I've EVER made that my family raved about. I used my food processor to mix the dry ingredients together, then I added the butter and pulsed till it was the size of small peas. It was a snap to make these in the fp. Did I mention this made FLAKY whole wheat biscuits? Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I have to add a bit more flour, about 1/4 of a cup - I think my starter may be more liquid, plus we're at 3500 elevation. Otherwise my biscuits turn out a little flat... but the slight changes fixed that. We love these! They are our new Sunday Morning Biscuits! Thank Grandma for us!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Sourdough Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    38%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 286.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites