Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Sour Cream Raisin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Sour Cream Raisin Pie

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2002

      Mysterygirl, what a treat to find this recipe! My grandmother also use to make this for us many years ago and I haven't tasted it for a long time. The smell and taste of your pie is like sitting in my grandmother's kitchen again.I made one for my sister as well, and all she could say was MMMMMMMMMMMM! This recipe gets an honoured place in my recipe files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      Oh-My-God this is sooooooo good (and really easy!)!! I just got finished making mine, it's the first time i've ever had raisin pie b4, and let me tell u i was in heaven! I only had about 3/4 c. of sour cream so i used lemon yogurt 2 fill 2 the 1 c., i think it actually came out better this way because there was a little hit of lemon in it. I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      You can improve this recipe by adding 2 Tablespoons of cider vinegar, 1 teasp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. cloves. The vinegar and spices are what make the pie fragrant and delicious. And it travels well for holiday dinners.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Lovely, old-fashioned goodness! My friend said it was just like he remembered from long ago and loved it. Topped it with lightly browned meringue as suggested as an option. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      This is more of a pudding type pieand does not seem to set up well although I did follow the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      My first taste of Sour Cream Raisin Pie was in a little country style restaurant I used to work at while I was in high school. Marilyn (the owner) would make 4 pies once a year around thanksgiving. I would always be the first to buy two of the pies. ;) I never asked her for the recipe becuase I wasn't much of a cook at the time. Now I wish I would have asked her, but the other day I came accross this recipe and figured I would try it mainly because it was "Grandma's Sour Cream Raisin Pie" and a lot of the other recipes I saw seemed a bit extensive and didn't sound a lot like the pie Marilyn made for her restaurant. So I tried this recipe, and what do you know! It tastes EXACTLY like the pie she made. I just added a little dab of whip cream to the top, and my Boyfriend, who said the pie's name sounded disgusting, thought it was DELICOUS. So 5 STARS go to this recipe. I'm VERY glad I came accross it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly until my DH saw it cooking on the stove. He asked me to add more raisins, I added about a cup more. When we each had a piece we said it's too sweet and very rich tasting, we couldn't eat the whole piece. Maybe it was the extra raisins I added. Maybe it was the sugar as well as the raisins. Raisins are sweet to begin with. Thanks for posting the recipe MG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This is DH favorite pie. I made this for him last night for a surprise and he loved it. I put the meringue on top and it was a delicious pie. I will definately make this again as I'm sure it will be requested...lol. Thank you so much for this nice surprise recipe.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This pie turned out nice and creamy and sweet, with tons of nice plump raisins throughout and the wonderful flavor of nutmeg. This was the first time I've ever made this kind of pie. I wasn't sure how thick it was supposed to get. So I cooked it until it didn't seem to be getting any thicker. It wasn't smooth like I expected it to be but in the end after being in the refrigerator it turned out cheesecake like. The directions also didn't specify to cook it on the stovetop in a pot but I figured that's what I was supposed to do since it says to pour it into a pre-baked shell. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust and it didn't fill it...so it wasn't very pretty...so I didn't take photos. Thanks for the recipe! Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      if youve never heard of this you should really give it a try good stuff .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Thank you for this recipe! Sour Cream Raisin Pie is my dad's favorite. He hasn't had it for years. I made it for him for Father's Day. He loved it, everyone loved it. And, boy, was that easy to make. I wish I would have looked for this recipe sooner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      Wonderful recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! The nutmeg gave it an amazing taste!! So creamy and rich tasting. I will be making this pie quite often. Thanks for posting such an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      Sorry everyone... I let my 11 year old read me this recipe.. I thought you baked the crust THEN added the filling and baked again, as you can tell I don't bake alot...you make the filling and ADD to the prebaked crust! but I must say the way I did it turned out wonderful too, so the REAL way must be great! try this pie, you will be glad you did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Sour Cream Raisin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.7
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    38%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 132.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 29.3 g
    117%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites