154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Me and my nieces really enjoyed these. They weren't too sweet.. just right! Soft and yummy. Although they are best to be eaten within 2 hours, because they get hard quickly and aren't as good. I also didn't get to put vanilla in mine as I was out due to the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Missouri Newby Chef January 05, 2010

Perfect! I also increased the sugar to 1 cup and the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. Some I topped with lemon buttercream frosting and some I left plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Rae Vinson January 03, 2010

Nice final baked texture, light and tasty. Not a recipe for cutting cookies, maybe if you put the dough in the refrigerator but it is pretty gooey without. Thanks for the glass, water and sugar treatment. Quick put together, love that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjeter11 December 25, 2009

This is a great cookie if you are looking for a quick and easy recipe. The dough is a little sticky - but that is because of the oil and that is what makes it such a soft cookie. It did taste kind of like flour - but it was definitely easy and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane11808 December 24, 2009

Definitely a 5 star recipe...I also increased the sugar to 1 cup and the vanilla to 1 TBS. I really feel guilty that this is my second year to make them and I'm just now getting around to rating the recipe! Such a simple recipe for someone like me who is not a baker and to have such great results...Thanks so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick B(2) December 22, 2009

these cookies r great! not too sweet, the sugar on top is just right. and they were nice and soft the next day. definitely a keeper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartfood2 December 15, 2009

These cookies were great! I upped the recipe to 3 dozen and didnt dieviate. These were fluffy and soft. Not chewy like most soft cookies. Also I liked that they werent super sweet. And the sugar on top was enough to keep my kids coming back to steal treats all day long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angel mama of 4 December 08, 2009

I was very worried how these would turn out after making the dough but they were wonderful. Soft and yummy! thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) December 07, 2009

Yummy!! This is a great recipe for soft sugar cookies. I frosted mine and decorated them and they were beautiful. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele O'Sullivan November 17, 2009

We loved them. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brke November 08, 2009
Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies