176 Reviews

I also used 1 cup of sugar but kept the flour at 2 cups. Instead of oil I used 1/3 cup of butter, and 1/3 cup of shortening. Very good cookies, will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rejuvenationsathome_9324855 October 18, 2011

Love this recipe! My 12 year old daughter makes them several times a month.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelianMickie June 18, 2011

I also used 1 cup sugar & about 2 1/3 cup flour. The batter seemed' greasy' but they baked up beautifully. Perfectly shaped and geat texture. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because I could taste the oil. I am a butter person so next time I will try to substitute butter. Dh is the Sugar cookie lover and he thought they were great. I will make again. Just a matter of personal 'taste'. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Janie May 03, 2011

Soo good! I was looking for a cookie recipe with the limited ingredients I had to bake with. This was such a winner. I added the 1 c of sugar that was suggested. I also threw in 1 Tbsp. orange zest and juiced 1 orange. Made the cookies taste like little orange cakes. : )

Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgal8844 April 19, 2011

These were ok. I made them exactly as written and I did like the soft texture and the not-too-sweetness of these cookies. However, I agree with another reviewer who said they had a bit of a funny after taste. I might try butter instead of oil next time or add a bit more sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS March 03, 2011

love

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama November 14, 2010

vsp November 06, 2010

i used powdered egg substitute (i just can't bring myself to use a real egg after finding one with an embryo in it). the dough was a little crumbly, and so were the cookies, but they were verrrry delicious. i think if i try this recipe again, i will add a little liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Kidd October 22, 2010

Great sugar cookies, soooo easy you can whip them up with the kids quickly. I read the reviews and added more sugar and flattened with a glass dipped in sugar. Double the recipe = they go quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchen_4500452 October 17, 2010

This recipe will remind you how good sugar cookies can be. My family, including all three picky kids, loved these cookies! Took other reviewers tips and used 1 cup of sugar and 1T vanilla. Loved that the recipe uses oil rather than butter. Cookies stayed soft and stored really well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 02, 2010
Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies