158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great sugar cookies, soooo easy you can whip them up with the kids quickly. I read the reviews and added more sugar and flattened with a glass dipped in sugar. Double the recipe = they go quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchen_4500452 October 17, 2010

This recipe will remind you how good sugar cookies can be. My family, including all three picky kids, loved these cookies! Took other reviewers tips and used 1 cup of sugar and 1T vanilla. Loved that the recipe uses oil rather than butter. Cookies stayed soft and stored really well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 02, 2010

I thought these where really really good. I did add one tsp of vanilla, and I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of veg oil (personal preference). My sister was making them and wanted them to be hearts, so I rolled them into a snake like shape, then formed into hearts. Since I didn't have the stuff for frosting, I sprinkled them with sugar instead before baking. I lowered the temp to 350 and baked them for 10 mins. They turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberPav September 20, 2010

These are the BEST! Great taste, super soft, but I did add a little extra sugar (about 1/4 C.) and a little exta flour at the end to make the sticky batter easier to work with. This will be the only Sugar Cookie recipe that I ever use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mainmom September 19, 2010

Just made a batch of these and they are awesome. It's the same recipe that my Grandma uses! We made them with all the kids at our last family get together. They don't last long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicasheree September 08, 2010

I, too used 1 c. sugar and 1 T. vanilla but I thought these cookies had a "funny" taste. They would be great for a quick last minute batch of cookies, but otherwise I would not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karajeboo730 July 22, 2010

SOOO GOOD! These are my new favorites. Made recipe exactly as written and ended up with 32 great cookies. Couldn't press down the cookies with a cup--even when I moistened the cup the dough stuck to it. I ended up just pressing them down with my fingers. These freeze really well too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~MollyM July 04, 2010

I'm not usually a fan of sugar cookies, but these were AMAZING! I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe that didn't call for pure butter (since I didn't have any on hand) & these exceeded my expectations. I made them for a daycare party to decorate, but I discovered they didn't even need the icing! I'm making them again less than 2 days later for a 4th of July Party & not icing them this time. Thx for my new Go-To Sugar cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefcrystal July 04, 2010

These are great AND so easy. I also increased sugar to 1 cup and vanilla to 1 TBSP. In my oven 8 minutes was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
824196 June 11, 2010

I've never made cookies before and didn't have vegetable oil so I substituted pure olive oil, the cookies still came out great, but I think using the wrong oil dried them out a little bit. Still very good and easy to make, will make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave Oh May 18, 2010
Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies