Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    153 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 153

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2010

      I, too used 1 c. sugar and 1 T. vanilla but I thought these cookies had a "funny" taste. They would be great for a quick last minute batch of cookies, but otherwise I would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      SOOO GOOD! These are my new favorites. Made recipe exactly as written and ended up with 32 great cookies. Couldn't press down the cookies with a cup--even when I moistened the cup the dough stuck to it. I ended up just pressing them down with my fingers. These freeze really well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I'm not usually a fan of sugar cookies, but these were AMAZING! I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe that didn't call for pure butter (since I didn't have any on hand) & these exceeded my expectations. I made them for a daycare party to decorate, but I discovered they didn't even need the icing! I'm making them again less than 2 days later for a 4th of July Party & not icing them this time. Thx for my new Go-To Sugar cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      These are great AND so easy. I also increased sugar to 1 cup and vanilla to 1 TBSP. In my oven 8 minutes was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I've never made cookies before and didn't have vegetable oil so I substituted pure olive oil, the cookies still came out great, but I think using the wrong oil dried them out a little bit. Still very good and easy to make, will make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      A nice tasting cookie with just the right amount of sweetness, but you really have to watch that they don't brown too quickly on their bottoms!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      These cookies turned out really good. I used 1/3 oil , 1 TBS vanilla, 1cup sugar and added 1/3 soft butter. I topped with strawberry frosting. SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

    • on February 15, 2010

      I followed some of the advice and increased the sugar to one cup, and the vanilla to 1 tbsp. Also, I put sprinkles on top before I put them in the oven instead of pressing them down with a sugar coated glass. Very good! They have been a hit with everyone who has tried them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Me and my nieces really enjoyed these. They weren't too sweet.. just right! Soft and yummy. Although they are best to be eaten within 2 hours, because they get hard quickly and aren't as good. I also didn't get to put vanilla in mine as I was out due to the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Perfect! I also increased the sugar to 1 cup and the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. Some I topped with lemon buttercream frosting and some I left plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Nice final baked texture, light and tasty. Not a recipe for cutting cookies, maybe if you put the dough in the refrigerator but it is pretty gooey without. Thanks for the glass, water and sugar treatment. Quick put together, love that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This is a great cookie if you are looking for a quick and easy recipe. The dough is a little sticky - but that is because of the oil and that is what makes it such a soft cookie. It did taste kind of like flour - but it was definitely easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Definitely a 5 star recipe...I also increased the sugar to 1 cup and the vanilla to 1 TBS. I really feel guilty that this is my second year to make them and I'm just now getting around to rating the recipe! Such a simple recipe for someone like me who is not a baker and to have such great results...Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      these cookies r great! not too sweet, the sugar on top is just right. and they were nice and soft the next day. definitely a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      These cookies were great! I upped the recipe to 3 dozen and didnt dieviate. These were fluffy and soft. Not chewy like most soft cookies. Also I liked that they werent super sweet. And the sugar on top was enough to keep my kids coming back to steal treats all day long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I was very worried how these would turn out after making the dough but they were wonderful. Soft and yummy! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Yummy!! This is a great recipe for soft sugar cookies. I frosted mine and decorated them and they were beautiful. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      We loved them. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      These were good, exactly what I expected really. Not too sweet. I added some lemon zest and juice for a little flavor and frosted them. They are really soft!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (665 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    48%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 84.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes