154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Just made these tonight and I will definitely be making them again. The batter was slightly elastic which surprised me a bit but they turned out great! I was kind of nervous putting them on the tray because I've never had cookie batter look like that before (I've never used oil as a base for cookies either). Easiest cookies I've ever made and pressing them with the glass turned out really well. <br/>I did substitute 2 tsp lemon juice for the vanilla called for (I live overseas and can only find the artificial vanilla flavoring, which I hate) and added a bit of cinnamon to the mix, and it was delicious. Personally loved the taste of the lemon in the cookie but would like to try with the vanilla when I get back to the States. My boyfriend doesn't really care for cakes and cookies and he loved these as well. They're not overly sweet, which I really liked about them. Great with tea or as a base for a frosting. Came out exactly as described, thick, soft, and fluffy. Couldn't believe it as I have an unfortunate tendency to overcook baked goods- my cookies are always hard but these stayed so soft. Will definitely be making these more regularly as they are so easy and tasty. <br/>My batch made 18 3-4" round cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misty113 May 01, 2013

I made this with my niece earlier today and the results came out fantastically. She loved how soft they were and I especially liked how it wasn't too overwhelmingly sweet yet it had the right sweetness to it. The only thing we didn't add was the sugar topping. I'm not a fan of sugar toppings so I excluded that. The results were nevertheless, WONDERFUL! I will definitely bookmark this recipe and make them in free time!!! It really is soft and crunchy at the base. These cookies are the ones you would want on your counter so you can just pop em in your mouth and you're craving some sweets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelatte April 01, 2013

These are perfect without any modifications. We used slightly less vanilla extract, and didn't press them down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILYCeline February 28, 2013

Very good cookies. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes January 14, 2013

This was a good soft/tender cookie & not too sweet...I used 1/4 cup butter & the rest oil to make the 2/3 called for.I found the batter to be too soft to use....almost like a cake batter.I put the batter in the fridge wondering if it would stiffen up-it did not.I had to add 1/4 more flour to get it so it would come out of the cookie scoop in a soft blob.I can only imagine what they would have come out like if I had used the full oil amount-it would have needed a lot more flour.This is the reason for the minus of a star.
The second lose of a star was due to flavor-or the lack there of.I found if to be a bit bland but not enough to keep me from making them again.I might try them with butter crisco,maybe a bit more salt & changing up the flavorings used in them.I like the fact that they aren't too sweet as I can't stand them sickeningly sweet once the frosting is put on.A keeper for me that I will make again to suit my tastes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe January 06, 2013

Just finished baking this for my Holiday tray and frosted with Sugar Cookie Icing and they turned out great. Wish I'd had some colorful food dye or at least sprinkles but had to stick with white. But they are soft, and taste great without being too sweet. Everyone loves them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 22, 2012

Simply put not the best sugar cookie I've ever had. "Not sweet" seems to mean to me that it needs more sugar. With 1 cup sugar and 1 tsp almond extract these were edible. These were MUCH better http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chewy-sugar-cookies/?scale=15&ismetric=0

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idrinknyquil November 18, 2012

This is a super easy, very tasty sugar cookie with (IMHO) just the right texture for a frosted sugar cookie! I made these with about 4 tsp of vanilla and like the amount of sweetness the 3/4 cup of sugar gives the cookie, especially with frosting. I will say that I was surprised that the cookie dough was much more of a batter consistancy and there was no way I could have flattened them with a glass, though it wasn't needed. The cookies spread when put on the cookie sheet and did not spread while baking. I will definitely keep this recipe for our next batch of sugar cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie November 12, 2012

I used your recipe for the "crust" of our fruit pizza. It was perfect. I will use this from now on. DD wants to make the cookies for her play cast party. We loved the texture of this reicpe. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 01, 2012

This was a terrible recipe. The dough was oily, the cookies were crumbly and they were far too sweet. I don't understand why...all the other reviews are so good :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nic19 September 18, 2012
Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies