173 Reviews

Oh my gosh! These are great! I even screwed up and left out the salt and baking powder, but realized after the first batch was done, so added them to the rest of the dough, and they still turned out great! This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
old gray mare September 21, 2015

I really wanted to love these cookies... They were good but they weren't quite what I was looking for. I'm looking for something that bakes up a bit crispier, I think. This recipe does yield a soft cookie, that my kids enjoyed. The flavor was good. Could have been a tad bit sweeter. If I remake, maybe I'll add 1 cup of sugar as suggested in the comments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Racquel C. August 31, 2015

Horrible I spit them all over the kitchen and I bake cookies a lot what a waste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail M. August 29, 2015

I followed the recipe to a tee and I know the recipe says, "not sweet" ,but they weren't kidding! The first batch was awful and all I could taste was salt! I tried to fix it by adding a 1/3 cup of extra sugar and a couple more drops of vanilla and it made them a lot better-still not the yummiest sugar cookie ever I have to admit:(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdonaghey16 August 11, 2015

Very good, though they turned out more biscuit like than I expected. Try putting in a couple cookies for testing before you cook them all, since in my oven at only five minutes, the bottoms were burnt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scientifictrauma August 05, 2015

Worst recipe I have ever found online. The dough was like soup and I even tried adding more sugar but it didn't really help. For most people who were able to make this recipe a success they had to add more which defeats the purpose of following a simple recipe. Now off to try and find a new recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura K. April 21, 2015

I am going to give it a 3. Following the recipe, exactly, the dough was like pudding. I added another cup of flour and was then able to scoop and put them on the cookie sheet and baked them as directed, I did not put sugar on top as there is enough sugar in the dough. I like the taste, not too sweet and nicely chewy. Next time I make them I will use almond instead of vanilla and finely crushed nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Levy R. April 11, 2015

These were awful. I can't believe they got 5 stars. I put frosting on top to make them edible

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 10, 2015

Delicious cookies, but not the best ive ever tasted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gfvjhcfgn March 18, 2015

I've been hunting for a soft sugar cookie recipe, and this is it! I made half a recipe to test it, scooped them with a 1 TB. scooper, and got 2 dozen cookies. I pressed them lightly with my fingers because I wanted them to stay thick and soft. I used part coconut oil and part canola oil, and used 1/2 cup sugar for the half-recipe. I also increased the vanilla as recommended in some reviews. Some I topped with plain sugar and some with cinnamon sugar, and both were good. They have a mild not-too-sweet flavor, and would be good with a lemon or vanilla glaze. In my oven they were done in 7 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyfood February 22, 2015
Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies