Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    146 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 146

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2011

      I also used 1 cup of sugar but kept the flour at 2 cups. Instead of oil I used 1/3 cup of butter, and 1/3 cup of shortening. Very good cookies, will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Love this recipe! My 12 year old daughter makes them several times a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I also used 1 cup sugar & about 2 1/3 cup flour. The batter seemed' greasy' but they baked up beautifully. Perfectly shaped and geat texture. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because I could taste the oil. I am a butter person so next time I will try to substitute butter. Dh is the Sugar cookie lover and he thought they were great. I will make again. Just a matter of personal 'taste'. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Soo good! I was looking for a cookie recipe with the limited ingredients I had to bake with. This was such a winner. I added the 1 c of sugar that was suggested. I also threw in 1 Tbsp. orange zest and juiced 1 orange. Made the cookies taste like little orange cakes. : )

      Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      These were ok. I made them exactly as written and I did like the soft texture and the not-too-sweetness of these cookies. However, I agree with another reviewer who said they had a bit of a funny after taste. I might try butter instead of oil next time or add a bit more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      love

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

    • on October 22, 2010

      i used powdered egg substitute (i just can't bring myself to use a real egg after finding one with an embryo in it). the dough was a little crumbly, and so were the cookies, but they were verrrry delicious. i think if i try this recipe again, i will add a little liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Great sugar cookies, soooo easy you can whip them up with the kids quickly. I read the reviews and added more sugar and flattened with a glass dipped in sugar. Double the recipe = they go quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This recipe will remind you how good sugar cookies can be. My family, including all three picky kids, loved these cookies! Took other reviewers tips and used 1 cup of sugar and 1T vanilla. Loved that the recipe uses oil rather than butter. Cookies stayed soft and stored really well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      I thought these where really really good. I did add one tsp of vanilla, and I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of veg oil (personal preference). My sister was making them and wanted them to be hearts, so I rolled them into a snake like shape, then formed into hearts. Since I didn't have the stuff for frosting, I sprinkled them with sugar instead before baking. I lowered the temp to 350 and baked them for 10 mins. They turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      These are the BEST! Great taste, super soft, but I did add a little extra sugar (about 1/4 C.) and a little exta flour at the end to make the sticky batter easier to work with. This will be the only Sugar Cookie recipe that I ever use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Just made a batch of these and they are awesome. It's the same recipe that my Grandma uses! We made them with all the kids at our last family get together. They don't last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      I, too used 1 c. sugar and 1 T. vanilla but I thought these cookies had a "funny" taste. They would be great for a quick last minute batch of cookies, but otherwise I would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      SOOO GOOD! These are my new favorites. Made recipe exactly as written and ended up with 32 great cookies. Couldn't press down the cookies with a cup--even when I moistened the cup the dough stuck to it. I ended up just pressing them down with my fingers. These freeze really well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I'm not usually a fan of sugar cookies, but these were AMAZING! I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe that didn't call for pure butter (since I didn't have any on hand) & these exceeded my expectations. I made them for a daycare party to decorate, but I discovered they didn't even need the icing! I'm making them again less than 2 days later for a 4th of July Party & not icing them this time. Thx for my new Go-To Sugar cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      These are great AND so easy. I also increased sugar to 1 cup and vanilla to 1 TBSP. In my oven 8 minutes was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I've never made cookies before and didn't have vegetable oil so I substituted pure olive oil, the cookies still came out great, but I think using the wrong oil dried them out a little bit. Still very good and easy to make, will make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      A nice tasting cookie with just the right amount of sweetness, but you really have to watch that they don't brown too quickly on their bottoms!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      These cookies turned out really good. I used 1/3 oil , 1 TBS vanilla, 1cup sugar and added 1/3 soft butter. I topped with strawberry frosting. SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (665 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    48%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 84.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites