Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    153 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 153

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2001

      This was the easiest sugar cookie recipe I've ever made. My family loved them, and some friends raved about how soft they were and asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      These are great! I changed the sugar amount to 1 cup and the vanilla amount to 1 TB. They came out perfect. I'll be making these a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      These cookies were great! We substituted softened butter for the oil, but the cookies were still unquestionably delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      These turned out very nice.!!! I added i cup of sugar and more vanilla like Johanna2 suggested. I rolled them into balls and pressed them down for a more finished look. I also added aprox. 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract and green food coloring (to wet mixture) and sprinkles, and whala! Christmas cookies!!! Very festive looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I started to freak out reading all the comments, because people were modifying so much, and random comments said the baking powder taste was horrible, and some said the cookies were oily! In the end I gave up and decided to make it just like the recipe said. I did mix in a little cinnamon with the sugar that I used to flatten out the cookies. And they were GREAT! I have no idea what every is talking about, but they tasted good right out of the oven, and a day later. ...I would tell you if they were good two days after I made them but none of them lasted that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      This is by far the worst cookie recipe I ever made. It tastes horrible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      These are the best sugar cookies i have ever eaten. I did add a bit more sugar until i found the batter sweet to my liking. One of my favorite cookies and my boyfriend ate ten at a time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      Very yummy and easy to make. It did not even last two days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      These were very good. I liked the soft and chewy texture. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Good cookies. I made a sheet and cut them up while still warm .. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Amazing! I literally just made the dough and baked these in 15 minutes! and they taste great!
      not to sweet for being sugar cookies, so thats a huge plus! and they obviously werent buttery because i used olive oil!
      would def recommend this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      these cookies in my opinion are not the best i have ever had . :( i am very sorry ... they were okay but not my favorite

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      These cookies are excellent! I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar for a little extra flavor and they turned out delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      Easy to make the batter, took about 3 minutes. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 oil in mine. Turned out really well, and just sweet enough for me and my family. I divided the batter into thirds and added a different food coloring to each one, which made them fun for my little one. Will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

    • on October 21, 2014

      This. Was. AMAZING!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      The cookies tasted good. Its hard to believe they don't have any butter in them. They are soft & cakey. Would make this recipe again. They are not overly sweet either. I made the recipe as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      These cookies were awful, I tried making them twice and both times they turned out terrible. At first I thought it was me, so i tried again, but after the second try I gave up. The cookies have a great texture but an awful taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      These are the most disgusting "cookies" ever!!! Made a nice buttercream to go on top and not even the flavor of that cut the nasty cookie taste. Noticing all the positive reviews everyone changed the recipe in some way. Might as well just create a whole new one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      This was the easiest recipe I've ever seen! My kids are all very picky eaters and they couldn't keep their hands off the batter or cookies! This is a very soft and delicious cookie and it's so easy to make, we are going to let the grandkids make them this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (665 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.8
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    48%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 84.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes