Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmas Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2006

      This was wonderful! We added a teaspoon or so of garlic ( just a preference ) and we used Splenda brown sugar mix instead of traditional brown sugar. My son who wont touch an onion with a 10 foot pole inhaled it. Thanks for posting!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      These were the best sloppy joes I ever had. I put a slice of Mozzerella cheese on the bread, and then put the sloppy joe mixture on top. Also sprinkled with a bit of parmesean cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      I let my 10 yo daughter grade this and she says 5 stars for sure. The combination of flavors taste authentic to the sloppy joes I've known from the can/jar/packet. I guess that's a good thing...lol. I think next time I might add a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken up the sauce just a little. I served these with some homemade rolls and carrot sticks. An easy weekend dinner for sure! Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      I made this for a co worker. I made one small change, I added maybe one teaspoon of cinnamon, but other then that I followed it as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      My husband and I loved these! They were very easy to put together and tasted so much better than the stuff in a can. This one's a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      This is an excellent sloppy joe recipe! As someone else noted, it's not sweet, which is why I tried this recipe. I absolutely loathe the sweet and meat taste combination, and this certainly didn't have that. I plan to add this to my weekend lunch rotation, because it's quick, easy and delicious. As a side note, I had some left over, so for lunch I put it in tortillas with some shredded cheddar cheese, lettuce and sour cream. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      I halved the recipe because I had some leftover ground beef. My BF loved it! Thanks for the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Very yummy. The recipe does not specify which size of tomato sauce can to use. I used an 8 oz. can for half a recipe, and it turned out just the right consistency. I used Balsamic vinegar, and added chopped celery. Will make again ....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      This is one awesome recipe. Hubby & I loved it, kids loved it, definitely a "keeper" in our household! Subbed some Splenda for the brown sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks Diggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Perfect flavor! These sloppy joes weren't too sweet and had the nice zip that I like. I upped the vinegar and Worcestershire a bit and used the mustard option. Easy, quick and yummy. We added some raw veggies as a side and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      This is a great recipe. I have never been fond of sloppy joes out of a can and decided to try a recipe. My whole family enjoys this recipe. I used onion powder instead of onions and it turns out great! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      Wow! Diggy, you're sooo lucky to have such a talented grandma. What a wonderful recipe!Thanks so much for sharing this very versatile and tasty dish.It was fast and easy to make.We had it for dinner last night and really enjoyed it. I love comfort food and am looking forward to having the rest for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

    • on October 24, 2004

      this is one of the best recipes on this site. Delicious, make it exact to directions, came out great, had a friend over she loved it, a keeper and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      Wonderful! We all loved this, and plenty left over. I added some homegrown peppers, but changed nothing else. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      Great sloppy joe recipe, I usually just mix up something off the top of my head for sloppy joes so its nice to have a standard recipe to use.One thing I like to add is lots of finely chopped celery and green pepper. Thanks for a great basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Ooh! My grandmother never made anything like this! She taught me how to make jam, but that's about it. My mom wasn't much of a cook, either. This is great! Wonderful recipie. Next time I'll try the peppers and cheese, too. With cooler weather coming I forsee this a lot in the future. So much more interesting than plain burgers. And Sloppy Joes was always a mystery to me...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      This was Excellent! I followed your recipe exactly except for the mustard because I didn't have any at the time, but next time I will use it, because I like a little mustard in it. I served it on homemade hamburgar buns. Thanks to you Diggy for posting this and thanks to your grandma for a great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2002

      YUM!! We made these last night and they turned out terrific. I had a second helping and my husband had thirds. I ommitted the mustard, since I didn't have any on hand (and I don't really have a taste for mustard) and it was great. We added some spice to it by adding some of my husbands home grown peppers. Very good. (and very easy too! Thanks DIGGY ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      We also put some cheddar cheese on the sandwich, and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.4
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    45%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 794.0 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites