Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmas Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2009

      This is the first time I've ever made homemade sauce for sloppy joes. I will never buy a sauce for packet again. I might try to pressure can this for an easy dinner. I served this over hashbrown patties. With corn on the cob from our garden. Awesome dinner, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Wow! These were great! I'm not a big fan of sloppy joes. I'm on a diet and figured I could make these for the kids and it wouldn't tempt me. I wanted to try just a small taste to see if they were good or not. Needless to say, I couldn't stop there. I had to have one. They have a little bit of kick and they were perfect! This will be saved in my favorites and made many times to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Just made this for dinner. My grand daughter loves sloppy joes. I used very lean ground turkey and it was awesome. I will keep this and continue to make these for my grandchildren and myself too. By-the-way, my grand daughter loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Awesome. Normally, I'm not a fan of the brown sugar/vinegar/ketchup/mustard idea with meat, but for whatever reason I keep making these!!! I added a couple of glugs of Diana's Original barbecue sauce and subsituted some of the tomato sauce with pizza sauce. Served on a bun with a slice of processed cheese ~ will add a couple thin rings of raw green pepper next time, I think. YUMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Good and easy to whip up in a flash from pantry ingredients. Thoroughly drained the fat, and ended up doubling the tomato sauce so there was enough liquid to simmer. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      WOW! Awesome, no more Manwich's here anymore! We just happened to have all the ingredients in the house and whipped it up. Definately making it again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      the BEST sloppy joes EVER!!! So yummy. Not too sweet...i have been craving them since I made them! This will be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Nice easy very good tasting sloppy joes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I made this recipe tonight in preparation for a family gathering for Father's Day. I was floored at how quick and easy it was to make these. Most of all I was blown away by the flavor... DELICIOUS!!! I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Very good! Made it for my in-laws last night and they enjoyed it very much. It was a little soupy at the end of the cooking time, so I took the lid off and let it thicken up a bit. MIL asked for the recipe. I have made it (by accident) without the ketchup and it was good that way too. Miss Diggy, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I fixed this as written, then while it was cooking I tasted it. It needed something, I added garlic. Still it needed something, I sauted some celery and added it. Just never found what it needed to send it over the top. It was good and made a nice Friday night dinner. Thanks for posting Miss Diggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

    • on February 16, 2009

      I just had to add my 5 star rating for this yummy recipe. I made it as per recipe directions and it was excellent. I'm glad that the recipe makes plenty as everyone had to have seconds. Both my daughters took the recipe with them as they announced this was going to be their signature sloppy joe dish from now on. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I made this as a change from my usual sloppy joe mix. I did need to add more chili powder & some onion powder (I left out the onions).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Oh boy.. what a yummy messy sammich.... I used dehydrated onions because I didnt have any fresh and worked great! I made everything else to the recipe.. My family ate it like candy... I served tator tots on the side. This will be my number one sloppy Joe recipe..Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Delicious! Everybody loved them including my mom and they were just like what she used to make without the green bell pepper (thank goodness). They were super easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      These were hands down the best sloppy joes I have ever had. No more manwich for us :) Thanks for this one, we will be using it from now on. The only change I made was to add 1/2 green pepper chopped fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This was a GREAT Sloppy Joe! I have searched and searched for the best one out there. We really don't like the ones that are too sweet or too much like BBQ. This was the perfect balance. It only needed a little bit of salt and I added lots of black pepper for zip. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This was a great recipe for Sloppy Joes. Super easy and much tastier than the can. This is a keeper for my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      We really liked these. My husband usually doesn't like sloppy joes and thought these were great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.4
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    45%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 794.0 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites