Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmas Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2012

      Love this! My kids were actually whining and crying BEFORE tasting it, you know the usual, " I don;t like it, it's disgusting" etc. Then they finally tried it and had seconds!!! they are 4 and 6 years old and I am so happy to have something else they will not only eat but love! I di add just a little extra sugar and out in a little less chili powder, but other than that perfect for us!!! Can't wait to make again and share with friends and family! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I usually use another recipe to make my sloppy joes, but wanted to try a different one just to make sure there wasn't a better recipe out there. Although these were good, I still prefer my other recipe and will stick with that one. I made as directed, but added a little bell pepper for personal preference. Thanks, Miss Diggy, for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Very good sloppy joe recipe. I added jalapenos because my family likes things spicey. They all enjoyed it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      WOW! I always make my Mom's sloppy Joes but didn't have what I needed to make it so I searched on here....Thanks for making something that was soooo similar and delicious!!! I used dry mustard instead and it seemed to work great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      soooooooooooooo good and sooooooooooooooooo easy!!! I accidently made this with 2 Tablespoons of chili powder instead of 2 teaspoons... lmao my husband liked it!!! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      There are tons of ways to make sloppy joes but this is not one of the better ones. It comes out too greasy and if you want really good flavor, you have to add lots of your own tweaking. Would benefit from carrot, celery, green or red pepper. But then you'd have a different recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      Everyone thought this was really good. I served it on whole wheat hamburger buns with Cooks All-American Potato Salad on the side. I used 3 T of Worcestershire sauce and used dry mustard because I wasn't sure whether the recipe meant dry or prepared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Easy and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Made this for a friends family when her mother passed away. Very easy to make had everything already on hand. Tasted it along the way and thought it was really good. My oldest kept taste testing also and liked it very much. My friend said it was good and her family enjoyed it (her son ate four sandwiches.) Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      very easy and quick to make and delicious. i'm keeping this one on hand for my go to. the only thing i did was add some green peppers and paprika to it.. i was surprised how quick this was to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Really liked this recipe. I made it a day ahead because a lot of times sauce is better the next day. I did end up using some paprika and cajun spice just before serving because I thought it could use some heat. It was just right for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Very easy and very good! Cut the recipe in half to feed myself and my 3 small boys. No leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      We liked it, but after all the great reviews, were a little disappointed. It seemed like it was missing something. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      We liked it a lot, did the exact recipe; easy to make, easy to cook, easy to serve. Who could ask for anything more?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Great sloppy joe recipe. Made exactly as recipe stated and it was delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!!! The only difference in what I made and the actual recipe was that I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I threw a tsp ie so of white sugar and a little bit of molasses in it. Very easy recipe to make, just mix up all the sauce ingredients while the meat and onion are browning, then dump, stir and simmer. I served it on toasted onion rolls and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing an excellent recipe, I will never buy Manwich again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Perfect sloppy joes. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I made 6x the recipe for a party and it made a ton, ton, ton! Not that anyone complained, everyone wanted leftovers to take home... wow, was it good. I had 2 people who don't even like sloppy joes go back for seconds! Thanks, this will be a new family staple and once the hamburger is browned, it's a breeze to whip up and warm in a Nesco or slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Made this last night to eat tonight. I wanted the flavors to meld overnight. Tasted great when I tested it. Pretty much followed the recipe except I added celery, carrots and shallots to the onions and cooked until soft. Also used about half the amount of catsup to cut down on the sweetness and freshly grated some nutmeg into the mix for some savory. Turned out really delicious and the right amount of sweetness for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.4
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    45%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 794.0 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes