101 Reviews

I am writing this review as I eat these amazing sloppy joes! I just couldn't wait! I opted out of adding onion per my husbands request (he is not a huge fan of onion, although I sneak them in when I can) ;-) I also did not add musturd. All three of my girls and hubby loved them. Huge hit, will be making again... thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alyssa Rae December 04, 2013

Was looking for a homemade sloppy joe recipe as Im trying to phase out pre-packaged, processed foods. Chose this one because it didn't have me simmering for an hour (I had to cook in 30 minutes or less that night), and sounded delicious. Will not be looking for at any other sloppy joe recipes because I have found the keeper!! So, so, sooo good, Miss Diggy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessiethebestie August 19, 2013

Everyone loved it!!! Great for a homemade family meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie Staiert May 12, 2013

I've tried some other sloppy joe recipes, but none were just right. This is and the family loves it. I do add the optional mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickscott April 26, 2013

This was really good...my boyfriend loved them! I had to cut the ingredients in half but they came out great!!!! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryBeth25 December 04, 2012

I found this recipe on pinterest 08/01/12, let me just say I will never again buy canned or packets of sloppy Joe. I was amazed with the outcome, of course due to family size I doubled all ingredients except for ground meat and chili. Recipe is VERY tasty and will recommend recipe to family and friends. Thank You so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vKelley82 August 02, 2012

I hate canned and jarred Sloppy Joe sauces! Not just because of the preservatives, but because we like the fresh taste of "made from scratch". Fabulous! I had some left over chopped onions, added some chopped green bell pepper and 3 tablespoons of tomato paste (we like it thick). Great recipe! I will definately be making this again. Thanks Diggy! There is nothing like Grandma to give you those warm comforting memories!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeliciousDishes April 10, 2012

I forgot to review this,tried it in 2009 and my whole family loved it,its my go to sloppy joe recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tisa p. April 05, 2012

This is absolutely delicious! I did use my husbands salsa instead of tomato sauce to eliminate the need for onions. Other than that I followed directions completely and loved it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlchair March 27, 2012

I tried it and these were great. I halfed the recipe and omitted the mustard. I used onion powder instead of real onion and Ragu Spaghetti sauce with mushrooms for the tomato sauce. Delish! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT February 28, 2012
Grandmas Sloppy Joes