Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandmas Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2010

      I used this recipe to build a vegetarian sloppy joe with mashed kidney beans and it was AMAZING! I used about half the brown sugar and ketchup called for here, no mustard, and probably a bit less chili powder as well, with red wine vinegar. To. Die. For. Perfect comfort food. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      How easy and quick this came together. I used 1.25 pounds of ground chuck and 2 pounds ground turkey combined well then doubled the other ingredients and fed lots of hungry kids and some surprised adults. This is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. I made a couple of changes - Added a Red Pepper, More Onion, A clove of Garlic, Some Garlic Powder and more Chilli Powder. It turned out perfectly over some hamburger rolls. Definitely a keeper! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Very nice. Doubled everything except the hamburger and it was enough to feed my crowd and then some. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      This was yummy! I bought manwich at the store and guess it didn't make it home so when I went to add it, it wasn't there!! Looked this up and had everything on hand... it was GREAT! and easy!<br/>Might not be buying the Manwich...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I needed a recipe that used what I had on hand. Made it with 1 can tomato sauce and 1 small can tomato paste. Used Balsalmic vinegar and followed the resat of the recipe. I did use some water to thin it and worked well. Gave it 5 stars as DH ate it 3 days in a row at his request. He does not like leftovers and I can get him to eat them maybe once after with a day between. We both loved. Such great taste. I'll be using this recipe forever. Think I'll pass it on to my daughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      Great sloppy joes! I half it and skip the vinegar and it's great! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Quick easy dinner for us. We added green peppers. Made for Name that Ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      Great easy dinner. Made this for two but added salami as I only had 1/2 lb. burger. Served over thin buns with roasted potato slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I am writing this review as I eat these amazing sloppy joes! I just couldn't wait! I opted out of adding onion per my husbands request (he is not a huge fan of onion, although I sneak them in when I can) ;-) I also did not add musturd. All three of my girls and hubby loved them. Huge hit, will be making again... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Was looking for a homemade sloppy joe recipe as Im trying to phase out pre-packaged, processed foods. Chose this one because it didn't have me simmering for an hour (I had to cook in 30 minutes or less that night), and sounded delicious. Will not be looking for at any other sloppy joe recipes because I have found the keeper!! So, so, sooo good, Miss Diggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Everyone loved it!!! Great for a homemade family meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I've tried some other sloppy joe recipes, but none were just right. This is and the family loves it. I do add the optional mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      This was really good...my boyfriend loved them! I had to cut the ingredients in half but they came out great!!!! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I found this recipe on pinterest 08/01/12, let me just say I will never again buy canned or packets of sloppy Joe. I was amazed with the outcome, of course due to family size I doubled all ingredients except for ground meat and chili. Recipe is VERY tasty and will recommend recipe to family and friends. Thank You so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      I hate canned and jarred Sloppy Joe sauces! Not just because of the preservatives, but because we like the fresh taste of "made from scratch". Fabulous! I had some left over chopped onions, added some chopped green bell pepper and 3 tablespoons of tomato paste (we like it thick). Great recipe! I will definately be making this again. Thanks Diggy! There is nothing like Grandma to give you those warm comforting memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      I forgot to review this,tried it in 2009 and my whole family loved it,its my go to sloppy joe recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      This is absolutely delicious! I did use my husbands salsa instead of tomato sauce to eliminate the need for onions. Other than that I followed directions completely and loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      I tried it and these were great. I halfed the recipe and omitted the mustard. I used onion powder instead of real onion and Ragu Spaghetti sauce with mushrooms for the tomato sauce. Delish! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      very delicious. this is my new sloppy joe recipe. I used one can of tomato sauce, some water and 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.I also added 1/4 cup green bell pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandmas Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.4
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    45%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 794.0 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes