Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Secret Wiener Schnitzel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Secret Wiener Schnitzel Recipe

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2001

      This is also very very good with pork medallions. Thats the way my family has always done it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      I never thought of adding lemon juice to my schnitzel recipes, but I tried this and it was really good. The only change I made to the recipe was to add lots of Hungarian paprika to the breadcrumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      This was quite tasty; however, I would recommend adding some salt to the breadcrumbs or salt and pepper the cutlets prior to breading them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      My Grandmother used to make schnitzel with pork or veal. But she dredged it in flour before dipping the meat in the egg and breadcrumbs. When schnitzel is cooked you should be able to insert a knife between the veal and breading.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      This was delicious! I had pork cutlets on hand so used them. It turned out thin & tender enough I didn't need a knife. The lemon was a very nice surprise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      No changes needed. It was indeed the best I've had

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      This was really good! I used chicken breast and gluten free panko bread crumbs. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      I like the addition of lemon juice. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Really easy, really good. We give this five stars for everyting. I served this with flavored noodles and a veggie. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      I could probably have pounded my chicken a bit thinner and didn't have quite enough parsley but my DF said it was very authentic! Delicious! Ausgezeichnet! Thanks for a great recipe! And it was so simple too! I just threw a few pieces of bread and the parsley in the food processor and it was magnificent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      wonderful recipe. we made this tonight just as described except for we used pre-made breadcrumbs. The parsley and lemon really kick the flavor up! We will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This recipe was really easy, the only change i made was adding about a 1/4 cup of shredded parmesan cheese to the bread crumb mixture. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      very good. I ran out of breadcrumbs- so I used Panko instead. Also added garlic powder to the crumbs. My entire family loved it. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Good and easy too. I made this using pork loin chops and dredged in wheat flour seasoned with paprika before dredging in the breadcrumbs. Served it with steamed green beans. I think next time I'll whip up some mashed potatoes and gravy to go with it too. DH is out of town right now, but I think he'll like this even more than I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I make this very close to what you have except with a pork loin cut thin. I pound it and add the lemon juice and let it set for about two hours. I make a grat mushroom gravy to go with it, mashed potatoes and red cabbage with apples. It is great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Made this for our supper last night and was very pleased with the results. If the meat is pounded quite thin and the oil is quite hot then it browns quickly without overcooking the turkey meat. The lemon gave it a lovely flavour. I also added the zest of the lemon to the crumbs and some paprika as Mirj suggested. Lovely dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I made this with turkey tenderloins and it was absolutely fantastic. I think the trick here is to get the meat thin enough, then all the flavours penetrate quickly. This is truly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      I made this tonight for my family and another family, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs it was really good. Only kind of bland. Next time I will season the chicken a couple hours before cooking. Thanks Axel Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      Love the lemon & Parsley I used a tenderized chicken cutlet. I cut back on the oil in the skillet and double dipped & breaded the schnitzel pressing in the bread crumbs to make sure they adhered Served with buttered noodles, steamed baby carrot & fresh steamed green beans. great meal. This is a simple straight forward recipes that gives you a very good schnitzel thanks Axel for sharing grannie's secret

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      This was excellent.. I shared with my family, their first time having it and they loved it. Thanks for sharing the "secret" recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Secret Wiener Schnitzel Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.3
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    16%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 114.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 141.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes