14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the raisin filled cookie recipe I have been searching for! I've tried others and came away very disapointed. I think I know what the difference is! This filling is cooked with flour giving you a true "filling". The others just has raisins in the middle. This is an exceptional recipe. My hubby thanks you podapo!! I will make these often!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz November 03, 2002

Your grandma is a cookie making genius, yes they take time but worth every second, and if she strings and hangs you i have to say that i am sorry but it is worth it in the end lol... these are really wonderfull cookies, thanks so much for sharing! Donna:)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna October 06, 2002

I acutally had to throw the first batch of cookies dough down the garbage disposal because it was too soft. I then ran back to the grocery and bought the ingredients again. My cookies just did not turn out.. I loved the filling though

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybug II December 08, 2002

Raisin filling is great. I use a sour cream dough recipe and it is best to make the filling and dough one day and then make the cookies the next. Keep dough covered with Saran Wrap and in the fridge until that next day. Add enough flour to make workable..period...could be alot..<br/><br/>Flour your rolling surface and the top of the dough as you begin to roll. The other reviewer was right...these require some baking experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krugster December 24, 2013

Maybe grandma could make this recipe but I can't.
After messing for several hours adding more and more flour, it is still too sticky to work with.

I finally gave up.
The raw dough tastes good,though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
inexperiencedbuttrying December 22, 2012

I thought these were perfect! As for sticky dough, maybe, but everyone measures flour differently. I just kept adding flour until it was workable. Mine only increased in size by about 10%. The result was delicious. My husband doesn't like raisin filled cookies but he liked these. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Semi-pro March 11, 2011

I'm sorry but I spent all day messing with this dough. I have no idea how others got it to work. The raisins seemed to taste fine, but they oozed through the dough that never seemed to fully bake (left in twice as long). I couldn't work with it without it sticking to my hands like a sludge, let alone use a cookie cutter. I think the flavor would have been decent if it was workable. Like another person here, I had to throw a bunch of dough out (following 8 hours refrigeration).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Louise December 23, 2008

Delicious cookies! After reading other reviews, I decided to chill the dough for 2 hours before assembling the cookies. I had absolutely no problem at all with the dough. It was very easy to work with. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is one I will use often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2sleepyj October 06, 2008

Great recipe! The dough is very soft. Two tips- 1) keep the dough in the refrigerator when you are not working with it; 2) use A LOT of flour when you roll it out. Make sure to layer cookies between wax paper or syran wrap, as they get very moist when stored in an air tight container and will stick together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carriejohnsonmz September 08, 2008

Thank you so much for posting this. My Grandmother passed away recently and I was not able to go to her funeral. so instead I decided I would try to find a recipe to the cookies she used to always make and try to make them. Her recipe has always been a well guarded secret and so I tried this recipe and it is exactly like the way my Grandma used to make them. So thank you for helping me find my own way to honor my grandmas memory.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megaroo_21 June 01, 2008
Grandma's Raisin Filled Cookies