Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Raisin Filled Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Raisin Filled Cookies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2002

      This is the raisin filled cookie recipe I have been searching for! I've tried others and came away very disapointed. I think I know what the difference is! This filling is cooked with flour giving you a true "filling". The others just has raisins in the middle. This is an exceptional recipe. My hubby thanks you podapo!! I will make these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      Your grandma is a cookie making genius, yes they take time but worth every second, and if she strings and hangs you i have to say that i am sorry but it is worth it in the end lol... these are really wonderfull cookies, thanks so much for sharing! Donna:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      I acutally had to throw the first batch of cookies dough down the garbage disposal because it was too soft. I then ran back to the grocery and bought the ingredients again. My cookies just did not turn out.. I loved the filling though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Raisin filling is great. I use a sour cream dough recipe and it is best to make the filling and dough one day and then make the cookies the next. Keep dough covered with Saran Wrap and in the fridge until that next day. Add enough flour to make workable..period...could be alot..<br/><br/>Flour your rolling surface and the top of the dough as you begin to roll. The other reviewer was right...these require some baking experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Maybe grandma could make this recipe but I can't.
      After messing for several hours adding more and more flour, it is still too sticky to work with.

      I finally gave up.
      The raw dough tastes good,though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      I thought these were perfect! As for sticky dough, maybe, but everyone measures flour differently. I just kept adding flour until it was workable. Mine only increased in size by about 10%. The result was delicious. My husband doesn't like raisin filled cookies but he liked these. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I'm sorry but I spent all day messing with this dough. I have no idea how others got it to work. The raisins seemed to taste fine, but they oozed through the dough that never seemed to fully bake (left in twice as long). I couldn't work with it without it sticking to my hands like a sludge, let alone use a cookie cutter. I think the flavor would have been decent if it was workable. Like another person here, I had to throw a bunch of dough out (following 8 hours refrigeration).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Delicious cookies! After reading other reviews, I decided to chill the dough for 2 hours before assembling the cookies. I had absolutely no problem at all with the dough. It was very easy to work with. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is one I will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Great recipe! The dough is very soft. Two tips- 1) keep the dough in the refrigerator when you are not working with it; 2) use A LOT of flour when you roll it out. Make sure to layer cookies between wax paper or syran wrap, as they get very moist when stored in an air tight container and will stick together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this. My Grandmother passed away recently and I was not able to go to her funeral. so instead I decided I would try to find a recipe to the cookies she used to always make and try to make them. Her recipe has always been a well guarded secret and so I tried this recipe and it is exactly like the way my Grandma used to make them. So thank you for helping me find my own way to honor my grandmas memory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      While this tastes fabulous, I had a bit of trouble with the dough. No matter how much flour I added, it remained too soft. I gave up trying to make it firmer and just baked it according to the directions. The cookies spread to more than twice their unbaked size, which makes them monstrously huge. And I couldn't get a tablespoonful of the filling on the uncooked dough, I averaged about half a tablespoon. Still, even though the recipe didn't turn out how I imagined they should, they tasted good and my husband LOVED them. Maybe next time, I'll forgo some of the butter (like a quarter to half a cup) and see if that makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This is a wonderful cookie. The taste is just like when I was a little girl. I did not have to toss out my dough like one baker said. I did have to work with the batter to get to the right consistency. I believe like all good Grandmas that they knew just how much of an ingredient to add. My experience was that more flour was needed for workable dough. I made these for a benefit for our local art gallery. There was not one left. I had people come up to me and ask if there were anymore. This cookie really is worth the extra effort! I think next time I will add at least 1/2 to 1 extra cup of flour while mixing. Thank you podapo for sharing. I also added two teaspoons of lemon juice to the filling. This is also a cookie for someone who has been baking for a while or is up for a challenge. I do not know how much extra flour is needed as I worked with my cookie dough as I went. I also had wrapped the cookie dough in plastic wrap and placed it in the refrigerator for about an hour. In several batches as this make a lot of dough. Hope this helps the next baker. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      this recipe was just what my mother and grandmother use to make and both are gone now and I am so happy to have the recipe back. Thank you so much. This is a great recipe. You won't want to stop eatting. EZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. Thanks for submitting it.. was a hit with all my family..including married daughter and hubby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Raisin Filled Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (3615 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.2
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    24%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 41.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 334.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 36.3 g
    145%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites