13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FANTASTIC!! Did this bring back childhood memories. We always had this on spice cake, so I used it to frost Unknownchef86's Applesauce or Pumpkin Cake, and the flavors were heavenly together. As I was reading other reviewers, I think I must now try this on chocolate cake! This is a VERY sweet frosting, like most frostings it is nearly all sugar, so that is to be expected. Thank you Tarynne for bringing back the memories!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. May 30, 2007

Wonderful! <br/><br/>Just like my great-grandma's recipe, except hers included 2 tsps vanilla stirred in after brown sugar and butter have boiled. <br/><br/>She always used this frosting on her raisin cake. <br/><br/>This recipe makes enough to cover a 9x13 cake easily.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaGSM March 29, 2013

My grandmother loved this so much, the woman had quite a sweet tooth! I love to put it on chocolate cupcakes. I have found that it is something that a lot of people have not had. It's nice to do something unexpected when you bring food to group gatherings. Bring back an old classic. It will be well received.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph October 10, 2007

This is a very sweet frosting and I loved it. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 18, 2006

I had asked my mother today about a frosting that we used to have on cakes when I was a little girl. I've not had this in forever and now can think of nothing else. This is the recipe my mother gave me today - Thank you so much for posting this - wonderful on Preacher's Chocolate Cake!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ September 04, 2006

Tarynne, This is Awesome! I love the taste and it was so easy to come together in a flash. I have a cake I needed to frost and I couldn't have picked a better frosting :) Thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe. Its in our family too now. My cake I made is a "Marble Swirl Pound Cake"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. February 12, 2005

Penuche candy is my favorite. Saw your recipe while searching for frosting recipes. Had to try it. Frosted a carrot cake with it. OOhhh so good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ October 04, 2002

I love old recipes! Thank you for posting this - it's in my collection, now. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong May 18, 2002

Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very sugary and gritty from the brown sugar. Cooled very firm, more like fudge. Something with the recipe needs to be spelled out or adjusted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraberry March 16, 2010

Delicious!! I made it to go on a chocolate cake and everyone loved it:) This was exactly what I was looking for:) Alot like caramel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieL. July 07, 2009
Grandma's Penuche Frosting