Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2009

      These cookies are so awesome Raven. Chewy, crispy and chocked full of goodness. I almost (glad I didn't) added raisins thinking an oatmeal cookie just had to have raisins. Perfect w/o. I love your added suggestion of using parchment. I really think that's the reason these cookies turned out as fabulous as they did. Normally I don't have sticking problems with cookies, but these came off so perfectly that I'm going to use it more often for baking. I also added cinnamon to the mix as I LOVE cinnamon. Made as a recipenap for Veg-n-Swap!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2015

      Great tasting cookie, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      These were completely awesome!! I used Splenda Blend and Splenda Brown Sugar but the rest kept as written. They were crunchy and chewy at the same time. Never knew oatmeal cookies could be great without raisins. I love these they have definitely became my new favorite recipe. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Just made these - they were awesome. I had to use butter flavored crisco as I was almost out of butter, but were still good. I did add some pecans and white chips. Can't wait to try with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Fantastic cookies! And so easy to make. The parchment paper is brilliant. I didn't change a thing other than using dark brown suger in place of light brown (what I had on hand) when I made these. I love them just the way they are. Made for Fall '09 PAC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      These cookies are the BEST oatmeal cookies!! Crispy, delicious, and gosh do they smell so good!!! Real old fashioned flavour! I added 1/2 cup shredded coconut and 1/2 cup raisins, too. The recipe references adding salt, but I din't see it in the ingredients, so I added 1/8 tsp. I also added the vanilla with the eggs. Cooking for 15 mins worked perfect for me, and the recipe made 30 cookies. Sorry there's no pic, but I pretty much made them and ran out the door with them, and the group I took them to demolished every last one, even the crumbs! Thank you, Ravenseys for my new go-to oatmeal cookie! Made for Veg*n Swap 12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Oh how I love oatmeal cookies, such a tastey treat! Now, I didn't have the Old Fashioned Rolled oats, I had Steel Cut oats which I used instead.. wow, now that makes for a crunchy grainy cookie!! Oh and I added a heaping tsp of cinnamon, you can't have oatmeal cookies without cinnamon! Anyway, will try with rolled oats next time to see which one I prefer, but either way, damn fine recipe! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Yes! Eureka! I found the oatmeal cookies that I used to buy in the grocery when I was a kid. I think it's Olsen's. It's sweet, thin, crispy and really good! I used a blend of sugars in here substituting some quantities with sugar substitute so I don't have to feel guilty about eating this. Thanks once again for sharing your Grandma's delicious oatmeal cookies and translating it for us! Made for Veggie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This is a very nice cookie. I did expect them to be a bit thinner but it may be because I baked them on an insulated pan. I had been looking for my Mom's crispy oatmeal cookie recipe and I know this is close. I think hers may have more brown sugar but very much the same flavour. I baked some as the recipe states and the rest I added 1/3 cup each of semi-sweet chips, milk choc. chips and white choc. chips, Mmmm. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Wonderful cookies for those of us who enjoy the thinner more crispy type. My MIL is 95 and in a nursing home. I take them in for her and now get messages "I have only 2 left - more please" I have made them as written and they are fabulous. I have also split batches and added chocolate chips to some and toffee bits in others. Can't keep them in the house! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful old fashioned recipe Ravenseyes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      These are tasty, remarkably uniform and attractive large cookies, suitable for a buffet spread. We followed ingredients per recipe, except that we accidentally made one batch without brown sugar; that made them thicker and softer but still delicious. Thank you for translating and updating these wonderful old recipes! We made these for ZWT4 for the Cookin' Cats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      These cookies are great, we all loved them. Nice, crispy and crunchy. This is a keeper. Thank you. Made for ZWT4-- Zingo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      These were great, and tasted just like nana cookies. In New Zealand we make Anzac biscuits (cookies), a lot of these ingredients are the same but you melt the butter. This is going to be used when I have a bit more time to cream the butter. I also love the fact it uses old fashioned oats. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      amazing! i did make a few slight changes... i added some dates in half the batch. i also used country crock spread and some applesauce instead of the butter. and i didnt put in as much sugar..... but they were still good!! made for zwt 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      These were WONDERFUL!! My kids, who know good cookies :), were even impressed!! Yum, these were so delicious I could eat the whole plate of them! A real keeper. The only change I made was to add little more brown sugar, in place of some of the regular sugar called for. Made for ZWT4 Zingo for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies team!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Great cookie but I am annoyed with myself that I ran out of oats and had to use about a cup of muesli so my cookie was not as authentic as it should have been - yummy just the same!!! Made for ZWT family picks.[I am taking some of these to Singapore in my case to share with DD who is meeting me there ]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I just had a happy cooking accident! I didn't check my oatmeal box before starting and it wasn't until I got to the end of the recipe that I discovered that I only had 1 1/4 cup oatmeal. I went ahead and made the cookies and they turned out even thin and crispier and were still incredibly yummy! They remind of the cookies that they use in the "It's It" ice cream sandwich so we are going to enjoy some of these with some vanilla ice cream. Great flavor in these cookies. I will make again with the correct amount of oatmeal. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      These remind me of the cookies MY grandmother made! I used rolled oats. Even though I have very well seasoned pans, the paper made it easy to transfer the cookies to the cookie rack till they started to harden (good tip). Thanks for the recipe! Made for ZWT4 - Chic Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      These were just as described nice and crispy oatmeal cookies!!! We love them!! Thanks Ravenseyes for posting. Made for ZWT4 zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      What can I say but YUMM! They are a great thin oatmeal cookie. Easy to make in no time at all. So glad I chose this recipe for zingo challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.8
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    43%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 25.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 42.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes