Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Kolacky Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Kolacky Cookies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2009

      OK, a long time cook/baker here but I'll admit this recipe baffled me! So few ingredients in the dough...but trust I did the reviews. Well, let me say these are so very light & tender. They are FANDAMNTASTIC! I followed the recipe halving it as there is just me & used Solo Prune filling only problem is I now need to make another batch! These will be a regular around here I can promise you that. Let's see, apricot, prune ,poppyseed.......& the beat goes on. TYSVM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I made these yesterday for my cookie tins to give out. Very easy recipe to follow. The only problem I had was I made the dough a day ahead of time and it took forever to warm up enough out of the refrigerator to be able to roll it (totally my not thinking through how hard the butter would make the dough!). After rolling the dough, the cutting, filling, etc. all went smoothly. I used apricot filling and almond filling. They are now in the freezer waiting to be given out for Christmas. I did taste test each flavor and boy are they good. Not too sweet; just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      The only problem I had with this recipe is that I didn't DOUBLE them! Holy cow, these flew off the plate, and they were suppose to be frozen for Christmas. My son who shuns any cookie that isn't choc. chip, loved these, the cherry ones. I used cherry and apricot filling. I followed recipe to a T. I only chilled for about an hour, but I did not have a bit of problem with dough, it was very easy to work with. I love the light texture, my Polish mom used to make these but she used a nut filling. I don't know where her recipe went, but these were excellent, and will be a part of my Christmas cookie tray from now on. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Very easy to make and it is great that the dough can be made the day before. Another great help is that they can be frozen after baked! I took them to church today for refreshment time and they were a big hit. Thanks so much for posting, Mareesme!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      GREAT! My old recipe for kolachy was about 1/2 cream cheese. I'm a vegan now and needed something more easily adapted. Used Earth Balance vegan butter and tofutti sour cream. These worked out beautifuly! The dough is SUPER easy to work with (which is a sure tell sign that I'll make these again) I did add a little salt and about 1/4 cup powdered sugar to the dough to give it a little more depth. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      My mom makes these at christmas time but she puts a nut filling in some of them and fruit in the others...I love them they are awsome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Kolacky cookies have been in our family for years we are polish & german and love to have this not so sweet treat at Christmas....Hope everyone enjoys them as much as we do! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I used this recipe for my child's heritage day and everyone loved them.They freeze beautifully too.I had trouble finding solo filling, mainly only the chunky berry type pie fillings-so I tried using apricot and strawberry jelly.They work, but these fillings get a little runny and drip over the edges when baking.The solo is thicker and would be my preference though.Thanks for sharing with all of us who don't have a Polish grandma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      i havent tried this recipe yet, but i made this cookie last year for a social studies class(Poland project) and it was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Kolacky Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (830 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 805.6
     
    Calories from Fat 544
    67%
    Total Fat 60.5 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 37.7 g
    188%
    Cholesterol 158.3 mg
    52%
    Sodium 506.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    solo brand filling

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites