Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Ground Beef Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Ground Beef Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2011

      Easy, yummy meal! I omitted the mushrooms- family doesn't like them. Also was out of celery so I added chopped bell pepper. Will make sure I have celery next time- I know that will be great in it. I made gravy, but we liked it without the gravy- good thing I had also made some rice! Served with rice/gravy, cabbage and glazed carrots. Great easy meal. Thanks Kimberley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This was very easy to make and very filling. I made as written except I seasoned the meat with some seasoning salt. Not a drop left by me guys. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Excellent dish, so easy to make. I used the 1 1/4 cup milk, as advised by the last review, and it came out well. I also used a tablespoon of seasonall in the meat, for extra flavor. The family loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      4 1/2 stars - DH & I really enjoyed this dish and it is great comfort food. (The kids liked it, but not as much as we did.) I added some fresh garlic, season salt and oregano as the meat cooked. I found the batter for the biscuit mix to be really runny and wasn't too sure about it but I proceeded with the recipe as written. In future, I will reduce the milk to 1 1/4 Cups though as the batter didn't seem to set quite right in the middle even though the outside was definitely done (see photos). The middle stayed a bit too wet even after I popped it back in the oven for another 10 minutes. (I assume that you meant to use a "bisquik" type product .) Really yummy though, so definitely a repeat recipe. I tried a piece of this after it was refrigerated for a few hours and it was delicious cold too. I stuck a piece in my husband's lunch for tomorrow, so he'll be happy. Thx so much for sharing your Grandma's recipe Kimberley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This is GREAT my DH and Kids loved this . I took your suggestion and poured gravy on top and made it with my own spices WOW great stuff a deffinate must try for anyone the cheese cooks right into the biscut and is so yummy yummy mmmmmm Goood Thank you Kimberley for this great souper easy receipe WOW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Very good! I followed the recipe for the most part but made a few changes... Didn't have any biscuit mix so I used cornbread...followed the directions on the box and cooked for the time given, so same basic idea. Ended up cooking for about 20-25 minutes with the cornbread. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the meat and veggies once it was cooked...which gave it some more flavor and a bit of gravy already mixed in. I layered the cheese on top of the meat but I think next time I would mix it in as it kind of clumped up and I seemed to get big bites of nothing but cheese, which isn't a bad thing in my book, but having the flavors a little more mixed would be nice. Overall very good recipe which I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      A really yummy recipe. Even my children liked it which is really saying something because they are so picky. I didn't have mushrooms on hand, so I threw in a few chopped tomato pieces. My only problem was that there was a little too much biscuit mix for my pan to hold. Perhaps I had more than one pound of ground beef. At any rate, it did not affect the yumminess of the recipe. This is definitely something I will make again. Thanks for sharing it, Kimberly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Good stuff, Grandma's got it Goin' On! I made this for supper last night - added diced garlic, about 1 tsp seasoning salt, and snuck in some finely chopped home-grown bellpepper and eggplant to add the extra nutrition. I did extra celery too, and put all the veggies in with the meat initially, to cook down so that my veggie-resistant husband didn't take exception to too much "crunch" (grin). Since I used a heavy cast-iron deep skillet to cook the meat/veggies, I just went ahead and added the egg and Bisquick mixture to the top, and stuck the skillet in the oven rather than dirty up a pie pan; worked great! The meal was tasty, savory, warm, and easy! Gotta love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Ground Beef Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 459.8
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    51%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 183.4 mg
    61%
    Sodium 408.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 30.1 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes