8 Reviews

Easy, yummy meal! I omitted the mushrooms- family doesn't like them. Also was out of celery so I added chopped bell pepper. Will make sure I have celery next time- I know that will be great in it. I made gravy, but we liked it without the gravy- good thing I had also made some rice! Served with rice/gravy, cabbage and glazed carrots. Great easy meal. Thanks Kimberley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzTheQ September 18, 2011

This was very easy to make and very filling. I made as written except I seasoned the meat with some seasoning salt. Not a drop left by me guys. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 July 25, 2010

Excellent dish, so easy to make. I used the 1 1/4 cup milk, as advised by the last review, and it came out well. I also used a tablespoon of seasonall in the meat, for extra flavor. The family loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timcox33 July 19, 2010

4 1/2 stars - DH & I really enjoyed this dish and it is great comfort food. (The kids liked it, but not as much as we did.) I added some fresh garlic, season salt and oregano as the meat cooked. I found the batter for the biscuit mix to be really runny and wasn't too sure about it but I proceeded with the recipe as written. In future, I will reduce the milk to 1 1/4 Cups though as the batter didn't seem to set quite right in the middle even though the outside was definitely done (see photos). The middle stayed a bit too wet even after I popped it back in the oven for another 10 minutes. (I assume that you meant to use a "bisquik" type product .) Really yummy though, so definitely a repeat recipe. I tried a piece of this after it was refrigerated for a few hours and it was delicious cold too. I stuck a piece in my husband's lunch for tomorrow, so he'll be happy. Thx so much for sharing your Grandma's recipe Kimberley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 21, 2010

This is GREAT my DH and Kids loved this . I took your suggestion and poured gravy on top and made it with my own spices WOW great stuff a deffinate must try for anyone the cheese cooks right into the biscut and is so yummy yummy mmmmmm Goood Thank you Kimberley for this great souper easy receipe WOW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 9 January 15, 2010

Very good! I followed the recipe for the most part but made a few changes... Didn't have any biscuit mix so I used cornbread...followed the directions on the box and cooked for the time given, so same basic idea. Ended up cooking for about 20-25 minutes with the cornbread. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the meat and veggies once it was cooked...which gave it some more flavor and a bit of gravy already mixed in. I layered the cheese on top of the meat but I think next time I would mix it in as it kind of clumped up and I seemed to get big bites of nothing but cheese, which isn't a bad thing in my book, but having the flavors a little more mixed would be nice. Overall very good recipe which I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrillINman December 09, 2009

A really yummy recipe. Even my children liked it which is really saying something because they are so picky. I didn't have mushrooms on hand, so I threw in a few chopped tomato pieces. My only problem was that there was a little too much biscuit mix for my pan to hold. Perhaps I had more than one pound of ground beef. At any rate, it did not affect the yumminess of the recipe. This is definitely something I will make again. Thanks for sharing it, Kimberly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen_johnson December 07, 2009

Good stuff, Grandma's got it Goin' On! I made this for supper last night - added diced garlic, about 1 tsp seasoning salt, and snuck in some finely chopped home-grown bellpepper and eggplant to add the extra nutrition. I did extra celery too, and put all the veggies in with the meat initially, to cook down so that my veggie-resistant husband didn't take exception to too much "crunch" (grin). Since I used a heavy cast-iron deep skillet to cook the meat/veggies, I just went ahead and added the egg and Bisquick mixture to the top, and stuck the skillet in the oven rather than dirty up a pie pan; worked great! The meal was tasty, savory, warm, and easy! Gotta love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana December 03, 2009
Grandma's Ground Beef Pie