Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Egg Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      Wonderful egg custard pie! I was surprised that I didn't like this pie that much initially given the reviews and since I love egg custard. I tried it the night I made it after it was chilled in the refrigerator. The flavor was good, but the custard was too light, more flan-like. After it was refrigerated overnight, however, the custard became firmer and was wonderful. I will be replacing my regular egg custard pie recipe with this one. Recommend making a day ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This made a perfect pie !! The whole pie was gone in one sitting. I think I'll have to make another !! The trick to making a good custard ...DON'T over bake, take the pie out while it still jiggles in the middle. Residual heat will continue to cook the pie as it sits. I dusted my pie with some fresh grated nutmeg and cinnamon. A fantastic pie !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      My mother is 91 and facing end of life issues. When her doctor asked her if there was anything she wanted she said "custard pie." I made this recipe and she thought it was wonderful! (She can only ear pureed foods.) Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      This was simply delicious! Turned out PERFECT! I first doubled the recipe. Omitted the egg whites and instead just added two more whole eggs so that it was 8 whole eggs (no whites), I also didnt have any whole milk but I did have 2% so I tried it with that and everything was just delicious! Most important is waiting overnight to eat it. I had a piece when it cooled down and then a piece the next morning and there is NO comparison! I have a 2 year old son who is VERY picky and he tried to eat half the pie... He REALLY loves it.... Thank goodness I doubled that recipe and made two pies! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe! I will be keeping this one forever!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      Super yummy, super easy! Thanks for sharing, I'll make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I rate this a 5 stars on the ease and appearance of this custard. I just wanted the custard and not the crust for a pie part so I followed the recipe w/o a crust and put it in a casserole dish inside a roaster pan filled with warm water. It took about 35 minutes and was set up perfect. I didn't have whole milk so used a combination of half and half and 2% milk and that worked fine. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This recipe is a keeper. I find it a little sweeter than store bought brand. Remember to use deep dish pie crust or else you will have extra custard left. I bake mine for an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      My husband loves custard pie & this one is just like the one I had lost in moving, And I have tried a lot of recipes.Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      very pretty pie! Easy to do, but I did have to bake mine 50 minutes...it's not my oven since it's new and I have a temp. device inside. Just watch the time of your pie. Thanks for a nice pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Other than being a complete disaster, this pie was wonderful! Haha... didn't realize my pie crust was cracked, and it spilled all over the crust and oven. Had to cool the oven, clean it, and then reheat and bake. The crust started burning way too early because of the custard all over it. Also, I didn't have a deep dish crust, so just used a regular 9 -inch with some extra custard left over (baked in ramekins). Even with all the disastrous proceedings, I resolved to finish baking it and tasted it. YUMMY!!! I ended up eating almost the whole pie myself over the next couple of days. I will definitely make this easy pie again, lessons learned put into practice of course. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      You've made my DH a very happy man. Egg Custart tart is his favourite dessert and now that he knows I can make something this good I may never rest again! Thank you (I think)!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I was craving a custard tart, which are mini versions of this fantastic pie and are popular in the UK. So, I found this one and it was fantastic. The pastry was perfect even though it was a little over cooked on the edges as I forgot to cover them. I tried a 'slither' small slice when it 1st came out of the oven which was delicious. But I enjoyed it more at a girly picnic in Delores park - Taking advantage of our unisual 70 degree temperatures we are having right now. It paired beautifully with a lillt Asti Spumante after a light chicken salad lunch. Hubby loved it too- wating 2 slices and without coaxing commented on the gorgeous pastry. Thanks for the recipe ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was excellent! I fixed this for something different and everyone liked it and the whole pie was gone by the end of the evening ! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Excellent pie! I followed the directions exactly. Well, I substituted 1/4 cup Splenda for a like amount of sugar. The pie set up nicely. I especially like the tip about the egg white. Before I have not liked to make this pie too much because of the soggy crust. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I was in 7th heaven when I came across this recipe!! I was sooooo hungry for egg custard pie. Oh Grandma this is all the way to heaven and back. I made another one the next day. Used #28943 for pie crust, which brought the pie up to levels unknown. The only thing I changed on the second time around is cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Will update as soon as it comes out of the oven. Thaqnk you for consumating my hunger on egg custard pie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This is soooo yummy! I also used the extra yolk. I used a 9" frozen deep dish pie shell and it was still a little too much filling. I cut down the temp. to 385 and cooked for an extra 12 mins. I can barely keep my hands off it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      This was awesome. However, I used 4 eggs and the extra egg yolk, but my son wanted to know what bakery I bought the pie at. Talk about a compliment. Set up just fine no watery texture at all. thanks for the recipe it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Followed recipe, but pie wouldn't set up in the middle. But the flavor of the custard was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This is so good! I spaced out the scalded milk and just mixed everything together then sprinkled with nutmeg before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      REVISED Nov 10 07 This didn't work out great for me and I was informed by cookiedog that it was probably because I used skim milk. I cooked probably 45 minutes or more and it still wasn't done. I took it out thinking maybe I wasn't testing it right or something, but it still tasted too moist to be done. My DH liked the flavor though, although I think he would have preferred it without the pie crust - just custard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    40%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 77.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 256.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    91%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites