Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-57 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2006

      Delicious! Very hearty! This will definitely be added to the list of family favorites. It's nice and thick and creamy. I've always loved potato soup, but this beats out the runny milk version I grew up on. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      my husband has been asking me to make potato soup for some time now but i just didn't know a good recipe well i made this one and my husband loved it said that it was great for my first time making it thank you so much for this Mrs.B#2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      very delicious! I followed the recipe, made it for the first time and the verdict? .. my hubby says IT'S A KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Excellent recipe! I'm making it again tonight for dinner. Easy to do when I get home from work and still have leftovers for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      This is sooo good i did the broccoli instead of potatoes but im sure ill try it with both has definately become a family favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      very good...my boyfriend has eatten a lot of it just since dinner tonight...great consistency, great taste. I didn't use fresh broccli..b/c i had frozen...turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This soup was really good on a cold winter day! I added one can of Cream of Mushroom w/ roasted garlic + one can of water. Instead of the heavy cream I added only one cup of 2% milk and it was thick enough. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      Was great I added corn for a corn and potatoe chowder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      We are doing low carb, so I left out all of the potato and made the broccoli soup using this recipe. It was great. I used my hand blender to puree the broccoli and sprinkled cheese and bacon on top of each bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I make this at my deli and it sells out every time! To make it a bit lighter we use milk and omit the ham and cheese during cooking and top it with a dallop of light sour cream, shredded cheddar and a few chives. So Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      I used two cubes of chicken bullion with water and instead of cream I used 1 can evaporated milk and left out the cheese. This was delicious. My husband doesn't like potato soup, but it is one of my favorite foods so I have been looking for a recipe that he could handle too. Not only did he like this, but he volunteered to take the leftovers to work the next day for lunch. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      One try and we were hooked! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      We made this every week for a month after trying it! Great hearty winter soup. We tried variations each time. We used milk instead of cream and added corn, it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      I was going to post MY recipe on this site, when I came across this one. It's very close to mine. Only difference is that I use a pound of bacon and a pound of sausage, not as much chicken broth, more milk, more butter, and I only add about 1/4 cup of grease from the bacon and sausage pan (what I call the "leavin's"-all the crumbs and whatnot that are left after pouring out most of the grease). I haven't tried it with carrots, but I'll bet that's good, too. I don't add the cheese like this recipe. I use shredded cheddar and top the soup with it after ladeling into serving dishes. Salt and pepper to taste. This stuff may be high in cholesteral...but no one cares once they taste it! haha! I get loads of requests to make this. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      My husband and I ate the whole batch of soup in one night!!! It is sooooo good!!! This is a definate keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      This soup is to die for!!! Followed recipe. Great for a main dish. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      This soup was delicious. I followed the directions until step 12. I didn't feel it needed thickening. I left out the ham because I don't care for ham in any soup. The bacon gave it a great flavor. This soup will definitely be added to my cookbook for those cold winter nights that are looming ahead of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 775.3
     
    Calories from Fat 525
    67%
    Total Fat 58.3 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 33.6 g
    168%
    Cholesterol 187.9 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1035.0 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites