58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was SOO yummy and filling! Even my kids loved it (although loaded with crackers) It made tons more than my family of 4 could eat. I did add garlic, but I add that to anything I can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trudence January 23, 2009

JTD January 08, 2009

Fabulous! So simple and taste like you cooked all day. Great basic recipe for nearly any cream soup and easy to make variations. THANK YOU JIM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doeafemaledear November 24, 2008

OMG! If I could give you 10 stars, I would! Just like Mom's! I added two bay leaves to the Chicken broth and potatoes while cooking (my mom always did that) and didn't add the ham or cornstarch. After all the veggies were cooked and cream was added, I used the immersion blender and it made a thick smooth potato soup! Yumm-O! I am definately going to use this as a base to New England Clam Chowder this weekend! Just add more bacon and clams! Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 November 21, 2008

Delicious!! Super good! My family loved it. I would make this all the time now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephferman November 04, 2008

This was super good. I omitted the ham and heavy cream because I didn't have any. And added regular skim milk, with a little bit of sour cream. It turned out yummy. And I used half of a regular white onion, because that is what I had in the fridge, along with some green onions and chives. Next time, I will put all the ingredients on my grocery list, so that I can try the original recipe. Thank you for sharing Grandmas recipe. My family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisambaker October 28, 2008

I made this recipe for my brothers for are lunch,I luv to cook and decided to start early I'm at the age 12 and I make this recipe easy. But I do recommended adding the ham because it makes a very nice difference in how it taste and I think it taste much better with the ham,also I prefer to have the cheese on top instead or mixing it in with the soup :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saphiragrrl September 19, 2008

As my name may tell you I'm a teacher. I used this recipe to end a unit on potatoes. Believe it or not we grew potatoes in our classroom, first in a mason jar then transplanted the plant to a large planter and just 4 months later (my 1st grader could wait no longer) we had potatoes. All be it 8 itty bitty ones but they were there and the children truly enjoyed the process. We made potato soup and 15 of the 17 students in my class LOVED it. Staff members raved over it as well. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pretty Teacher June 03, 2008

Wow. It's so easy and SO good. Nothing like a nice hearty soup to cut the winter chill. Thanks for the recipe, it is so versatile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VIVNS March 07, 2008

I made this as a Cream of BROCCOLI Soup and it tastes WONDERFUL! If you are looking for a creamy soup - this is the one to make. Thanks so much for this recipe, I really enjoy it and my family does too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelleBelleSL February 27, 2008
Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup