Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2009

      This was very good and easy to make. I switched things around a little and replaced broccoli with orange colored 'cheddar cheese' cauliflower. Used whole milk, little bit of half and half and some buttermilk. Omitted the ham and cornstarch. The vegetables were sauteed on the stove top then transferred to a crock pot along with the broth and cooked on HIGH for 3 hours then LOW for another 4-5 hours. I did not add the dairy until the last 10 minutes of cooking to avoid curdling. Pureed the soup and it was thick enough that I decided not to use the cornstarch. The soup leftovers will thicken up by today. Topped with green onions, fresh parsley, freshly cracked black pepper. In the fall, I plan to try this soup recipe again using canned clams. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I made this today, and I cut the recipe in half since there were only two of us eating today. Very good!! Husband loved it! I did make a few changes..used half n half and heavy cream, equal parts..and skipped the ham. Will definitely make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      This is my new favorite recipe! I LOVE this soup! I think next time I'll use less cream (what are you supposed to do with the other half a quart of cream by the way??) and sub milk instead. But this was YUMM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Tried this soup as both cream of potato and cream of broccoli - it was a hit both times. My grandmother (who is very particular about her cream of potato soup) couldn't stop raving about it! We will be making this a lot in the future. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This soup was delicious. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, and flour instead of cornstarch. Looking forward to making it again as clam chowder, great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      My wife, myself, and our four kids all loved this recipe. Dirt easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      My family loves this soup,they request it at least once a week.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Excellent soup, one of the best I ever had. Takes some time to make it but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      By far the best i have ever made od eaten 10 stars!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was a marvelous soup(chowder). A rare snowy day in Atlanta and a wonderfully rare potato soup...even my "must have meat" son ate three bowls. Maybe make it again this weekend as a clam chowder

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Wow! We made this soup for Chrismas last year and it was wonderful! We are planning on making it ahead this year and putting it in our ice cold garage to keep until Christmas [a COLD garage *if you can keep the critters out* is a wonderful place for an extra refridgerator in the winter]. A few exceptions with my notes . . . Use half and half for the cream and go light on the cornstarch, otherwise - OH YEAH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      The soup was very good. To speed up the cooking process I precooked the carrots, celery and onion in a little water in the microwave, drained them and added them to the soup rather than sauteeing them. I also used fat free creamer instead of the heavy whipping cream. Next time I will also add some pepper and garlic powder. All in all very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I loved this soup. I made it exactly as the recipe was written except I added 1/2 Velveeta Cheese to it. My husband hates broccoli but really enjoyed this version. Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Altho, mine curdled:( Next time, I'd like to try Velveeta and canned milk. I pureed the veggies, w/the exception of the broccoli, & added potatoes, for the sake of texture *LOVELY* The smokey flava was definately present. O! I didn't use heavy cream either, I went w/Fat Free Creamer, 'cuz that's what's on hand in this cookie's kitchen! Thanks all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is a wonderful potato soup! The flavor is exceptional! I only made a few changes. I did make a few changes; omitted the bacon grease in the soup, added extra potatoes and used fat free half and half instead of cream and pureed in my food processor. I served the ham, bacon and cheddar cheese on the side. Other than that I followed the recipe to a t. Yummmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This has to be one of the best potato soups I've ever tasted. I was so creamy, and the proportions of the heavy cream and chicken broth are just perfect -- not overly rich. The family just raved about this recipe, Jim, and I'll certainly make it again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      WOW!! Best potato soup ever! I started making this thinking I had ham and bacon and part way in realized I had neither. I was excellent anyway, I don't think I would even bother next time. When I saw a quart of heavy cream I thought it was excessive and in the directions they add "enough cream" for me that was about a cup of 10% cream. I will never look for another potato soup recipe again this one is the #!@* !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This is the best potato soup I have ever eaten! If I could give your recipe more stars, I surely would. Thank you so much for sharing. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Amazingly good! This soup has a lot of flavor, very much comfort food. I needed to puree the soup to make it easier to swallow, so I left out the cornstarch and it blended up to a great thick consistency. I'm sure it would be wonderful left chunky too. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This was SOO yummy and filling! Even my kids loved it (although loaded with crackers) It made tons more than my family of 4 could eat. I did add garlic, but I add that to anything I can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Cream of Potato Soup or Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (532 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 775.3
     
    Calories from Fat 525
    67%
    Total Fat 58.3 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 33.6 g
    168%
    Cholesterol 187.9 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1035.0 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites